Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

OCZ Agility SSD price on newegg shell shocker

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-04-10, 03:25 AM Thread Starter   #1
Doco
Member



Join Date: Feb 2010

 
OCZ Agility SSD price on newegg shell shocker


I just have to ask is it worth the price to buy it right now? It's almost 50% off and $139.00 at the moment for the shell shocker deal and $119.00 after rebate.

I feel like it's a steal to get it at this kind of price for this type of 60GB SSD, but I'd like some second opinions.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227461

__________________
Mushkin 60GB Callisto Deluxe SSD
Prolimatech Megahalem (x1 GELID Wing 12)
Corsair XMS3 4GB DDR3-1600 @ 1483MHz
GA-EP45T-UD3LR
C2D E8400 @ 4GHz OC
SeaSonic 620W Modular PSU
EVGA GTX460 (768MB)

Last edited by Doco; 06-04-10 at 04:00 AM.
Doco is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-04-10, 10:39 AM   #2
ashenblood
New Member



Join Date: Jun 2010

 
great price! i'd get it
ashenblood is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-04-10, 11:58 AM   #3
ChanceCoats123
d20 in a jacket


 
ChanceCoats123's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Illinois

 
Solid deal. If I didn't just Ebay my vertex, I would get this. I'm really happy with the Vertex though. Amazing stuff.

__________________
Ed - "Aight it's pulling down... Thing is really tuned for LN2 though."
This is the team you are looking for...
I accept Bitcoins!
ChanceCoats123 is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-04-10, 05:54 PM Thread Starter   #4
Doco
Member



Join Date: Feb 2010

 
Order it two hours ago and here is to hoping it ships with 1.5 firmware

Thanks for the comments.

__________________
Mushkin 60GB Callisto Deluxe SSD
Prolimatech Megahalem (x1 GELID Wing 12)
Corsair XMS3 4GB DDR3-1600 @ 1483MHz
GA-EP45T-UD3LR
C2D E8400 @ 4GHz OC
SeaSonic 620W Modular PSU
EVGA GTX460 (768MB)
Doco is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-05-10, 12:32 AM   #5
doomtuba
Registered

 
doomtuba's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2010

 
Oh man, I'm so tempted to buy this, but I need to save my money
doomtuba is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-05-10, 11:01 AM   #6
Wolverine690
Member

 
Wolverine690's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Idaho

 
just wish they weren't so expensive for so little storage...lol If it was double that in size would love it...lol I've not used SSD but from what I've read & such I would totally love to switch, but the prices for the storage you get just isn't worth it to me at the moment...

__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor (OC @ 3.82GHz)
G.SKILL Ripjaws 8GB DDR3 1333 Memory
GIGABYTE GA-890XA-UD3 Motherboard
2xWD 750GB 7200RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s HD's in RAID 0
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 SC ACX
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional
SILVERSTONE 1000W ATX PSU
Thermaltake ArmorPlus VH6000BWS Case
Wolverine690 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-05-10, 12:38 PM   #7
ChanceCoats123
d20 in a jacket


 
ChanceCoats123's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Illinois

 
IMO, that isn't true. I thought I would need more, but I recently "ebayed" a 60gb vertex and this size is perfect for an OS. I have most of my programs (browser, archiving tools, image tools, music player, antivirus and a few other) installed and I am using a whopping 16Gb's. Hibernation is off and I am backing up to a separate drive.

To be honest, there is no need for a SSD larger than 60-100gb's. There are other fast ways to store data and files.

__________________
Ed - "Aight it's pulling down... Thing is really tuned for LN2 though."
This is the team you are looking for...
I accept Bitcoins!
ChanceCoats123 is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-05-10, 06:32 PM   #8
neonblingbling
Member

 
neonblingbling's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2004

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChanceCoats123 View Post
To be honest, there is no need for a SSD larger than 60-100gb's. There are other fast ways to store data and files.
...unless you're on a laptop.

__________________
[HEAT] - Sony SZ650 /// T7500 /// 3 GB ram /// 8400M GS /// OCZ Vertex 2 60GB ded :(
neonblingbling is offline Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-05-10, 07:53 PM   #9
ratbuddy
Member

 
ratbuddy's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hartford, CT

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChanceCoats123 View Post
To be honest, there is no need for a SSD larger than 60-100gb's. There are other fast ways to store data and files.
Well, to be honest, there is no need for computers at all

__________________
HTPC - 2500k - 212+ - GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 - 2x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 - Vertex 2 90GB, Spinpoint F3 1TB w/M4 64GB ISRT Cache - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone LC10B-E - Corsair RM550

-----
Main - X3 450 - ASRock A790GMH/128M 790GX - 2x2GB G.Skill 4-4-4-12 - 2xWD Green 1TB - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone TJ08 - Corsair CX400W

Nothin' up my sleeve..
ratbuddy is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-05-10, 10:15 PM   #10
ChanceCoats123
d20 in a jacket


 
ChanceCoats123's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Illinois

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by neonblingbling View Post
...unless you're on a laptop.
Aren't you on a laptop with a 60gb...? And you could just buy a mechanical drive if you need more than 100gb's of space on a laptop.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ratbuddy View Post
Well, to be honest, there is no need for computers at all
Very true. Humans and their crazy desire to be efficient.

__________________
Ed - "Aight it's pulling down... Thing is really tuned for LN2 though."
This is the team you are looking for...
I accept Bitcoins!
ChanceCoats123 is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-06-10, 12:34 AM   #11
wingman99
Member

 
wingman99's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChanceCoats123 View Post
IMO, that isn't true. I thought I would need more, but I recently "ebayed" a 60gb vertex and this size is perfect for an OS. I have most of my programs (browser, archiving tools, image tools, music player, antivirus and a few other) installed and I am using a whopping 16Gb's. Hibernation is off and I am backing up to a separate drive.

To be honest, there is no need for a SSD larger than 60-100gb's. There are other fast ways to store data and files.
Is that so your pc starts up faster, sound like a waste to me. because games take-up allot of space so does photoshop and allot of programs. that's what I call usable storage.

__________________
i5 2500K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68A-D3-B3
G.SKILL RipjawsX X.M.P. 1600MHz
EVGA SuperClocked GTX 570
wingman99 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-06-10, 01:26 AM   #12
neonblingbling
Member

 
neonblingbling's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2004

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChanceCoats123 View Post
Aren't you on a laptop with a 60gb...? And you could just buy a mechanical drive if you need more than 100gb's of space on a laptop.
...and if I didn't have a file server, I would be very unhappy. With all my programs and important (school) files, I have about 10GB free. There are very few pictures, music, and videos on my notebook. Sure I could carry around an external if I wanted to keep all my data with me, but it sort of defeats the purpose of having a portable pick-up-and-go notebook.

But yes, I suppose if I simply wanted more storage space (and did not know how to set up a file server), I would probably not want/know about SSDs anyway.

__________________
[HEAT] - Sony SZ650 /// T7500 /// 3 GB ram /// 8400M GS /// OCZ Vertex 2 60GB ded :(
neonblingbling is offline Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-06-10, 02:54 AM   #13
Garrett_hardy
Registered

 
Garrett_hardy's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Houston, Tx

 
There Lots of bad reviews about those drives dying after 2.5 months

__________________
My Beast:
Motherboard: ASUS CROSSHAIR IV Formula
CPU: AMD FX8350 (OC to 5.1 Ghz)
Case: Corsair 750D modded for watercooling loop and White CFL's
CPU Cooler: EK Water Block on 360 Rad
GPU: AMD R9 280x x 2 in Crossfire ( OC'd to Core Clock: 1150 - Mem Clock:1750) Watercooled with EK Waterblocks
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16Gb 1866MHZ 9-9-9-27
Hard drive: 128GB Kingston SSD, 500 GB Samsung 840 EVO SSD, WD 1 TB 7200 RPM
Garrett_hardy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-06-10, 07:36 AM   #14
ratbuddy
Member

 
ratbuddy's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hartford, CT

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garrett_hardy View Post
There Lots of bad reviews about those drives dying after 2.5 months
Where?

__________________
HTPC - 2500k - 212+ - GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 - 2x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 - Vertex 2 90GB, Spinpoint F3 1TB w/M4 64GB ISRT Cache - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone LC10B-E - Corsair RM550

-----
Main - X3 450 - ASRock A790GMH/128M 790GX - 2x2GB G.Skill 4-4-4-12 - 2xWD Green 1TB - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone TJ08 - Corsair CX400W

Nothin' up my sleeve..
ratbuddy is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-06-10, 08:01 AM   #15
ChanceCoats123
d20 in a jacket


 
ChanceCoats123's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Illinois

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
Is that so your pc starts up faster, sound like a waste to me. because games take-up allot of space so does photoshop and allot of programs. that's what I call usable storage.
I suppose you have a point. The one I see you're making is that no one should by a solid state drive. Since having your computer and applications load quickly is a downfall, I shouldn't have wasted my own money. My bad. And IIRC, I have 1.3Tb of space for anything else I want.

Quote:
Originally Posted by neonblingbling View Post
...and if I didn't have a file server, I would be very unhappy. With all my programs and important (school) files, I have about 10GB free. There are very few pictures, music, and videos on my notebook. Sure I could carry around an external if I wanted to keep all my data with me, but it sort of defeats the purpose of having a portable pick-up-and-go notebook.

But yes, I suppose if I simply wanted more storage space (and did not know how to set up a file server), I would probably not want/know about SSDs anyway.
Very true. I agree with you 100%. I don't own a laptop and probably won't until college (three years) so I can't comment much on this.

__________________
Ed - "Aight it's pulling down... Thing is really tuned for LN2 though."
This is the team you are looking for...
I accept Bitcoins!
ChanceCoats123 is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-06-10, 08:11 AM   #16
Badbonji

 
Badbonji's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Birmingham, UK

 
60GB on a laptop isn't enough for me, I use 100GB on games, 250GB on music and 50GB more with applications and OS... My laptop starts up pretty quickly anyway, within a minute at least which is faster than my desktop.

__________________
i7 3770K 4.5GHz 1.2V | Phanteks PH-TC14PE | 16GB TeamGroup Elite 1600MHz | GIGABYTE G1.Sniper M3 | EVGA GTX680 SC 1254/1500MHz | M4 256GB + 150GB Raptor | Corsair HX+ 850W | Antec 1200
i7 965 | 8GB OCZ Gold 1600MHz | GIGABYTE Extreme X58 | HD5450 | M4 64GB + 7TB | OCZ 500W
MacBook Pro 15" | i7 2.3GHz | 8GB 1600MHz
Badbonji is offline Benching Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-06-10, 10:27 AM   #17
ChanceCoats123
d20 in a jacket


 
ChanceCoats123's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Illinois

 
I should probably change my original statement. I meant to say that 60-100gb's of SSD space is more than plenty on a desktop since you can have multiple drives. In the case of laptop, you are confined to one drive unless you have an external drive to plug in and most people don't want to carry one around.

__________________
Ed - "Aight it's pulling down... Thing is really tuned for LN2 though."
This is the team you are looking for...
I accept Bitcoins!
ChanceCoats123 is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-06-10, 03:37 PM   #18
wingman99
Member

 
wingman99's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChanceCoats123 View Post
I should probably change my original statement. I meant to say that 60-100gb's of SSD space is more than plenty on a desktop since you can have multiple drives. In the case of laptop, you are confined to one drive unless you have an external drive to plug in and most people don't want to carry one around.
You should of said 60-100 GB is plenty for some people. People like me will wait till I can get all my applications i'm using on one drive, i'm not paying a hefty price for only half the speed.

To each his own, when something does not save me any real time and it's vary expensive I love not buying. I don't care if it takes 4 years for my first jump into SSD market, by then they will be incredible. It gives me something to look forward to.: burn:

__________________
i5 2500K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68A-D3-B3
G.SKILL RipjawsX X.M.P. 1600MHz
EVGA SuperClocked GTX 570
wingman99 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-06-10, 06:26 PM   #19
ChanceCoats123
d20 in a jacket


 
ChanceCoats123's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Illinois

 
That I can agree with. You like to have all your applications on one drive. I do also and I have all mine on the SSD. I just use less programs/ smaller ones. And I agree, we don't pay a huge price for the mechanical drives these day (speed wise), but having a drive large enough for programs and still fast enough to go from POST to desktop in 12 seconds is nice to have. I have the other drives for data storage. :smirk:

__________________
Ed - "Aight it's pulling down... Thing is really tuned for LN2 though."
This is the team you are looking for...
I accept Bitcoins!
ChanceCoats123 is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-06-10, 07:46 PM   #20
fabulouscoops
Member

 
fabulouscoops's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Jersey, USA

 
I pulled the trigger on this deal and got 2x60 GB drives. They should arrive tomorrow.

__________________
i5 2500K@4.5; Asus P8P67 deluxe; 8 GB G.Skill DDR3 1600; Mushkin 120 GB SSD; 2T WD caviar, 500 GB WD caviar; HD7950
E8500 @3.6 GHz; Asus P5Q Pro Turbo; 4 GB OCZ Reaper DDR2 1066;
i5 2550; P8P67 deluxe, 8 GB OCZ DDR2 800; 60 Agility SSD; 2x500 GB RAID 0; 250 GB Caviar; HD6950
E4400 @3 GHz, Abit AB9 pro, Gigabyte 7300 GT silent; 2GB Supertalent PC5400; 3x36 Raptors RAID 0:5
fabulouscoops is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?