• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Question regarding capacitors?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

kaltag

So I'm trying to repair an LCD monitor with some blown caps but the problem is I can't find the exact ones in town and I'd like to do it without having to order parts. My question is if I have the right voltage does the farads matter as much? I understand too little could be a problem but is too much a problem? I'm not an electrical engineer but if I understand it right farads is similar to amps in that it can hold more charge but doesn't necessarily mean it's discharging that much. I could be completely wrong though. Any insight would be appreciated.

Edit: I am able to find the proper voltage ratings needed but the farads are a bit below or over the ones I'm replacing by about microfarads either way.

Most of the time, the blown caps are found in power supply circuits where the capacitance doesn't matter much, but ESR is important. Often times, the caps have twice or more the capacitance than is really needed in the circuit, simply because a physically larger capacitor has an inherently lower ESR, and the larger caps were cheaper than smaller ultra-low ESR types.

So it really depends what sort of capacitors you have available as replacements.

ESR matters in some applications, especially power filtering like Old Thrashbarg said. That's where you'll typically find blown electrolytics.

That said, your conception of farads isn't quite right. More can be VERY bad in lots of applications. Saying that the capacitance of a capacitor (the "farads") doesn't matter much if you're using something bigger is like saying resistance doesn't matter as long as you use a big enough one. Big problems. :)