Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Multi tasking cpu

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-26-10, 01:30 PM Thread Starter   #1
kenya
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2010

 
Multi tasking cpu


Trying to pick a good multi tasking cpu for my sister!

found a few phenomII black 555 x2 or phenom x3 8650 or some athlon?
what do you think?
kenya is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-26-10, 02:13 PM   #2
Firestrider
Member



Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Orlando, FL

 
What is the budget and what will the computer be used for mostly?

Out of those the Phenom II 555 is better.

__________________

Processor - Intel Core i7 860 Motherboard - Intel DP55WB Video - AMD Radeon HD 5750 Memory - 4x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 Storage - Intel X25-V, Samsung HD103SJ
Optical - Samsung SH-S203B Power - Corsair CX400 Speakers - Polk Monitor 40/60, BIC F12 Audio - ASUS Xonar DG, Denon AVR 391 Network - Intel 82578DC, Linksys WRT400N
Case - Corsair Carbide 300R Cooling - Corsair H100 Operating System - Windows 7 x64 Display - Dell E248WFP, Samsung LN46C630 Keyboard/Mouse - Dell Bluetooth Wireless
Misc - Apple TV 2, Apple iPad 2, Apple iPhone 4S
Firestrider is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-26-10, 02:29 PM Thread Starter   #3
kenya
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2010

 
I found a phenom2 x2 550 for $70 that is the top price i'd pay. She will use it for photoshop/act/illustrator etc.
kenya is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-26-10, 03:09 PM   #4
Parad0x420
Member

 
Parad0x420's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dark Side of the Moon

 
A 550 or 555 PII and a decent board running the sb710 or sb750 chipset should do nicely. And with that type of board, there is a chance you can unlock the CPU to either a tri or quadcore.

__________________
Phenom II X6 1075T Thuban @ 4125 15 x 275 1.439v LLC enabled
TRUE Black Rev. C - Shin-Etsu X23-7783D - CM R4 Reds push/pull
ASUS Crosshair IV Formula AM3 890FX NB@2750Mhz HT@2200Mhz
G.Skill Flare 4GB DDR3 @ 1833Mhz 7-8-7-24-1T 1.65v
ASUS 7970 3GB @ 1000/1450
OCZ Vertex 4 256GB SATAIII - Win 7 Ultimate x64
2x WD 640GB Caviar Blue / 2x WD 750GB Caviar Black
PCP&C 750W Silencer Black
Samsung Syncmaster 2493HM 24" @ 1920x1200
Corsair Obsidian 700D
DÍck Legend Toxic

3DMark06 - 23491 - Vantage - P18580
- Vantage X8757
Parad0x420 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-26-10, 03:10 PM   #5
Firestrider
Member



Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Orlando, FL

 
Since it will be used for a lot of photo editing, I recommend going with a cheap quad core, like this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-704-_-Product

__________________

Processor - Intel Core i7 860 Motherboard - Intel DP55WB Video - AMD Radeon HD 5750 Memory - 4x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 Storage - Intel X25-V, Samsung HD103SJ
Optical - Samsung SH-S203B Power - Corsair CX400 Speakers - Polk Monitor 40/60, BIC F12 Audio - ASUS Xonar DG, Denon AVR 391 Network - Intel 82578DC, Linksys WRT400N
Case - Corsair Carbide 300R Cooling - Corsair H100 Operating System - Windows 7 x64 Display - Dell E248WFP, Samsung LN46C630 Keyboard/Mouse - Dell Bluetooth Wireless
Misc - Apple TV 2, Apple iPad 2, Apple iPhone 4S
Firestrider is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-26-10, 06:40 PM   #6
QuietIce
Disabled



Join Date: May 2006
Location: Anywhere but there

 
For Photoshop the more cores the better, as far as I know. Buy the most cores you can on your budget. I would consider the Athlon II X3 over the older Phenom X3. The efficiency of the newer cores should give you slightly better performance over the 2 MB of L3 you'd have to give up ...
QuietIce is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-27-10, 02:40 PM Thread Starter   #7
kenya
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2010

 
Thx guys i have already decided i have to put in a little more $$$$ so i will go with this!

AMD Phenom II X4 940 Black Edition

or

AMD Athlon II X4 630

but i think the phenom 2 is better!
kenya is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-27-10, 06:27 PM   #8
QuietIce
Disabled



Join Date: May 2006
Location: Anywhere but there

 
The 940 BE is a good choice! It won't OC as high as the newer processors but it's virtually the same in every other way ...
QuietIce is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-27-10, 07:37 PM   #9
trents
Senior Member

 
trents's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Centralia, WA

 
I vote for the Athlon II X4 630 because its an AM3. Either will give you plenty of power for what you want to do but the 940 is half a step back in technology. Should you want to upgrade to an AM3 board in the future the 630 would permit that without having to buy another CPU. And, the 640 runs very cool and is easily overclockable.

__________________
Custom built desktop #1:
FX-6300 4.5 ghz/Noctua D14 CPU cooler/16 gb Team Elite 2400 mhz ram, 4x4gb/Asus M5A99X Evo motherboard/Coolermaster HAF 912 case/OCZ 750W PSU/AMD 6850 GPU/2xCorsair 120gb SDD RAID 0
Toshiba SatelliteL775 laptop/17.3" display, AMD 3400M APU, 8 gb of 1333

Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6
trents is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-17-10, 02:23 AM   #10
Awptex
Member

 
Awptex's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Canada, sk ,regina

 
1055t ftw

__________________
CPU: AMD Phenom II 965 @ 4017MHz | MB: Asus M4A88TD-V EVO USB3 |
GFX: EVGA GTX 470 SC | Ram: Corsair Dominator XMS3 4X1 1800Mhz 7-7-7-20 |
PSU: Cooler Master 1250W | Cooling: CNPS Performa |
Display1: Asus VE248 | Display2: Asus AL1916W |
SSD: 60GB OCZ Vertex 2 | HDD1: 500GB WD | HDD2: 500GB WD | Case: Antec Gaming Twelve Hundred |
Keyboard: Razer Blackwidow | Mouse: Razer DeathAdder |
Sound Card: X-FI Titanium Pro | Headset: Siberia V2 |
Operating System: Windows 7 64 Bit
Awptex is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-17-10, 02:25 AM   #11
TheQuadFather

 
TheQuadFather's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hampshire, England

 
+1 on the athlon quad core, the propus range are very good value for money chips!

__________________
This is not the signature you are looking for.

Please Fold For Team32!
TheQuadFather is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?