Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

2 new gpu water block, serial or parallel connection//

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-28-10, 03:09 PM Thread Starter   #1
4GHZ_or_bust
Now 6GHz or Bust!

 
4GHZ_or_bust's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Michigan

 
2 new gpu water block, serial or parallel connection//


Just got in 2 water blocks for my GTX 470 but I am not sure if serial or parallel connection is the best way. Do I use 2x sli fitting and make it parallel, or just 1 and make it serial/

__________________
space for rent
4GHZ_or_bust is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-28-10, 03:23 PM   #2
Conumdrum
Wants Old Title Back
Didn't Get It

 
Conumdrum's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Las Vegas

 
Mine is series, both cards are close to the same temp. Tests show little diff between series or parellel. Series is cheaper, only need one SLI water fitting.


__________________
I want my old title back.
Old beast is torn down.
Will update later.

900 watt (1500VA) UPS
27" ASUS VG 3D/Nvidia V2 3D glasses and 24" Acer H243H
Conumdrum is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-28-10, 04:38 PM   #3
thorilan
Member

 
thorilan's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Japan/Daytona Beach

 
for GPU ALWAYS go series. of all the systems i have built only one didnt follow that rule and it was a highly specialized system

__________________
697+ water coolled systems built , 0 leaks
thorilan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-28-10, 05:46 PM   #4
Spawn-Inc

 
Spawn-Inc's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thorilan View Post
for GPU ALWAYS go series. of all the systems i have built only one didnt follow that rule and it was a highly specialized system
i'm all for series all the time, but why would it be bad for two of the same gpu blocks since it would be easier to control resistances?

__________________
CPU: Q6600 G0 3.5GHz@1.4v (4.2GHz max) / 4790k 4.8ghz @1.265v
GPU: 9800GTX /GTX780 hydrocopper
Ram: Samsung 4GB /gskill 16gb DDR3 1600
Mobo: EVGA-NF68-A1 680i (P32) /AsRock Extreme6
PSU: Enermax Galaxy 850Watt /EVGA 850 G2
HDD: OCZ 120GB Vertex4, Samsung evo 840 250GB
LCD: Samsung 32" LN32A450, Samsung 226BW 22" wide
Sound: Logtiech Z 5500
CPU & GPU: 3x Swiftech MCR320, 2x MCP655, MCW60 R2, Dtek Fuzion V2, 18 high speed yates @ 5v
Spawn-Inc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-28-10, 06:23 PM   #5
Conumdrum
Wants Old Title Back
Didn't Get It

 
Conumdrum's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Las Vegas

 
Agreed Spawn.

Just ran Unigine Heaven for 35 min on my sig cards. In series. SLI.

Room temp 80F. Vegas baybeee!

45 card one/46 card two

The Koolance blocks have micro channels for the GPU area. NOT like a CPU though. A GPU has linear flow across the areas, not like you need on a CPU, where inpingment and turbulence is king.

I believe in a CPU/GPU/Mobo setup any help in flow rates is good, so maybe parellel will help a bit with flow rates. I don't have that problem.

Seen 2-3 run a test, made little diff, because GPU blocks don't use impingment.

__________________
I want my old title back.
Old beast is torn down.
Will update later.

900 watt (1500VA) UPS
27" ASUS VG 3D/Nvidia V2 3D glasses and 24" Acer H243H
Conumdrum is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-28-10, 07:37 PM Thread Starter   #6
4GHZ_or_bust
Now 6GHz or Bust!

 
4GHZ_or_bust's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Michigan

 
ok serial it is. I just got one question: how do the guys who has water blocks and sli/crossfire fitting handle putting 3 or even 4 cards in the system? It seems reinstalling 2 video cards with the fitting would be a challenge, especially with a touchy tool-less pci mounting on some cases like my k62. My case gives me a hard time mounting a dual slot video card, putting 2 cards with 4 slots total would require some luck.

__________________
space for rent
4GHZ_or_bust is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-28-10, 08:50 PM   #7
lwesley
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2010

 
Hey there,

Gabe from Swiftech did a flow test but came up with some interesting results on parallel vs serial in a CPU+GPU loop. Granted that he measured the difference on the *CPU* temp, it's still worth a read nonetheless.

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=253337

Wes

__________________
Core i7 920 @4.31ghz (HK3.0+MCR320Drive) [DT Air/CPU @ 13c idle, 45c IBT]
MSI GTX 295 Single PCB with EK 295 + MCR320 Drive + 1450rpmGT [DT Air/CPU @ 10c idle]
Asus R3E . Corsair TX850 . OCZ 12Gb 1333mhz RAM

lwesley is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-28-10, 10:57 PM   #8
Conumdrum
Wants Old Title Back
Didn't Get It

 
Conumdrum's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Las Vegas

 
Yea, he did pretty well. Basically trying to show flow rate isn't everything and a loop can handle lower flow rates, especially his block. It helps with his higher restriction Apogee XT block he sells.

But a good informative read nothingless.

__________________
I want my old title back.
Old beast is torn down.
Will update later.

900 watt (1500VA) UPS
27" ASUS VG 3D/Nvidia V2 3D glasses and 24" Acer H243H
Conumdrum is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-29-10, 02:17 AM   #9
MIAHALLEN
Senior Member

 
MIAHALLEN's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: PNW

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by gabe @ swiftech
Finally, note 3 is of particular interest within the framework of this study, because it shows that even at the GPU level, a parallel setup with modern blocks such as those presented here remains a superior solution to serial, as evidenced by a 0.6C advantage of parallel over serial.
I've always preferred the idea of a parallel configuration, and if I was going to build a loop with multiple cards, I would use parallel.....but it's still nice my preference confirmed with some imperical data.

Another consideration is asthetics, and I like the look of a parallel setup better as well....but each to his own

MIAHALLEN is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-29-10, 08:37 AM   #10
thorilan
Member

 
thorilan's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Japan/Daytona Beach

 
have you ever tried to parrallel gpu blocks in a normal case. it adds a lot of tubing and airflow resistance for the rest of the case. its a huge headache and since GPU temps arnt critical controlling individual flux is not important. also draw is rarely even in any parrallel loop no matter how hard we try.

__________________
697+ water coolled systems built , 0 leaks
thorilan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-29-10, 08:39 AM   #11
Hsnopi



Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Maryland

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4GHZ_or_bust View Post
ok serial it is. I just got one question: how do the guys who has water blocks and sli/crossfire fitting handle putting 3 or even 4 cards in the system? It seems reinstalling 2 video cards with the fitting would be a challenge, especially with a touchy tool-less pci mounting on some cases like my k62. My case gives me a hard time mounting a dual slot video card, putting 2 cards with 4 slots total would require some luck.
curious about that myself. I would imagine you connect the blocks to the cards, then connect the cards to each other. you would have to have them sitting on edge on a paper towel or something, then connect them. then very slowly move it to the mobo? I am not sure how much vertical give the cards have when in the slot but i would be leery of adjusting it like that once it is in there.

__________________
-ASUS Maximus II Formula LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel -SAPPHIRE 100251SR Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB 512-bit
-Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 Yorkfield 2.83GHz LGA 775,
-mushkin 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)
Feser triple Rad, Feser dual rad, 5 Noctua fans, 2xSwiftech MCP655, - MCRES-Micro res., MCW-NBMAX(northbridge),Danger Den MPC-CPU - 775 Quad Core Block,DD-4870-X2, DD Aqua Bay
The Build
Hsnopi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-29-10, 10:27 AM   #12
Conumdrum
Wants Old Title Back
Didn't Get It

 
Conumdrum's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Las Vegas

 
A 4x card setup? Well all the cards are connected with water tubes already. You can put a small allthread through all 4 cards, using the old screw holes from the stock cooling to hold them in a solid block till installed?

I only have two and the SLI connector is solid, so it stays together pretty well.

__________________
I want my old title back.
Old beast is torn down.
Will update later.

900 watt (1500VA) UPS
27" ASUS VG 3D/Nvidia V2 3D glasses and 24" Acer H243H
Conumdrum is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?