Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

What Pump is Better

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-10-10, 11:33 AM Thread Starter   #1
predator500
Member

 
predator500's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Germantown,OH

 
What Pump is Better


MCP355 OR MCP655 I will be changing the top on the MCP355 to one with 1/2 barb here are the spec for what im using the pump for.
APOGEE-XT
MCW30 Universal Chipset Water-block
77 Bonny Rad
I have a D4 pump but it seems like it just isnt enough Please help
Also was thinking of the MCP350 and doing the volt modd
predator500 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-10, 12:05 PM   #2
m0r7if3r
Member
Water Cooling Sticky Reading Enforcement Official

 
m0r7if3r's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Marietta, GA

 
better is quite subjective, here are the specs on each, according to performance-pcs, the numbers you should be looking at are flow, head, and noise.

MCP655
Code:
Technical specifications:

Nominal voltage	12 V DC
Operating voltage range	8 to 24 VDC
Nominal power (@ 12 V)	24 W
Nominal current (@ 12 V)	2 amps
Motor type	Brushless, microprocessor controlled
Maximum head	10 ft (3.1 m)
Maximum discharge	~ 317 GPH (1200 LPH)
Connection size	" barbs
Maximum pressure	50 PSI (3.5 BAR)
Temperature range	32 F to 140F (0 C to 60 C)
Electrical connector	Molex 4 pin
Weight	1.4 LB (650 gr.)
Impeller Housing material	Noryl
MCP355
Code:
Technical specifications

Nominal voltage	12 V DC
Operating voltage range	8 to 13.2 VDC
Minimum starting Voltage	9 VDC
Nominal power (@ 12 V)	18 W
Nominal current (@ 12 V)	1.46 amps
Nominal head (@ 12 V)	20.2 ft (6.1 m)
Nominal discharge (@ 12 V)	~ 120 GPH (454 LPH)
Connection size	3/8" barbs (10mm)
Maximum pressure	22 PSI (1.5 BAR)
Temperature range	Up to 140F (60C)
Electrical connector	Molex 4 pin
Weight	7.3 oz (207 gr.)
Our noise measurement (non lab environment)	30 ~ 32 dBA in a quiet room @ 2'
Motor type	Electronically commutated, brushless DC, spherical motor
Pump MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)	50,000 Hours
RPM Sensor	3 pin connector
D4 - Couldn't find good specs, but someone probably can...

__________________
If years were seasons, this December would be the December of our December.
-Abed #sixseasonsandamovie

Heat
m0r7if3r is offline Author Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-10, 12:19 PM Thread Starter   #3
predator500
Member

 
predator500's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Germantown,OH

 
What pump would you recommend aslo if i get the MCP355 here is the top i was looking at for it Laing DDC-1T/1TPlus MCP-350/355 Acrylic Replacement Pump Top
predator500 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-10, 01:15 PM   #4
Shell
Member

 
Shell's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: CYYZ Pearson

 
I have a related question: What is the most reliable pump?

I don't need a lot of flow, and noise isn't an issue since you can make a noisy one quiet.

__________________
FX-6300@4.5GHz, 7770, 2x4GB DDR3-1600 CL8, PCP&C 400w, 2x1TB
i5-4690K@4.5GHz, 7850, 2x4GB DDR3-2400 CL10, Seasonic G-550, 2x1TB
Shell is online now   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-10, 01:43 PM   #5
m0r7if3r
Member
Water Cooling Sticky Reading Enforcement Official

 
m0r7if3r's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Marietta, GA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by predator500 View Post
What pump would you recommend aslo if i get the MCP355 here is the top i was looking at for it Laing DDC-1T/1TPlus MCP-350/355 Acrylic Replacement Pump Top
Depends, the 355 is better for higher restriction loops, and the 655 is better for lower restriction

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shell View Post
I have a related question: What is the most reliable pump?

I don't need a lot of flow, and noise isn't an issue since you can make a noisy one quiet.
sorry, can't help you, might wanna start your own thread and see if someone else can

__________________
If years were seasons, this December would be the December of our December.
-Abed #sixseasonsandamovie

Heat
m0r7if3r is offline Author Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-10, 03:53 PM   #6
muddocktor
Retired

 
muddocktor's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Iberia, LA

10 Year Badge
 
That D4 pump you already have is perfectly capable of running that loop efficiently. It's output is more than a MCP655-B; somewhere between the "4" and "5" setting on the MCP655 Vario. I am running a D4 on a cpu only loop with an GTZ wb with a Swiftech MCR220 Res rad. And I also have an MCW30, so I know it won't add much more restriction to the loop over what the XT gives you. What are you trying to cool with the loop? You could possibly need more radiator.
muddocktor is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-11-10, 10:32 AM Thread Starter   #7
predator500
Member

 
predator500's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Germantown,OH

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by muddocktor View Post
That D4 pump you already have is perfectly capable of running that loop efficiently. It's output is more than a MCP655-B; somewhere between the "4" and "5" setting on the MCP655 Vario. I am running a D4 on a cpu only loop with an GTZ wb with a Swiftech MCR220 Res rad. And I also have an MCW30, so I know it won't add much more restriction to the loop over what the XT gives you. What are you trying to cool with the loop? You could possibly need more radiator.
Im cooling Q9550 (OC'ED 4.33)
The reason im asking about the pump is the with the new water block (the XT )
the water is going in strong but it is not coming out strong almost like the is not enough head presure to push the water in and out of the block
predator500 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-11-10, 11:13 AM   #8
Spawn-Inc

 
Spawn-Inc's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada

 
either one will serve more then what your asking. go with which ever one you like and will fit your case better.

if you go with the 355 then get a EK Xtop - rev2 or the XSPC Res top. but only if you don't have a top currently. if you have one the small performance increase wouldn't be worth it IMO.

__________________
CPU: Q6600 G0 3.5GHz@1.4v (4.2GHz max) / 4790k 4.8ghz @1.265v
GPU: 9800GTX /GTX780 hydrocopper
Ram: Samsung 4GB /gskill 16gb DDR3 1600
Mobo: EVGA-NF68-A1 680i (P32) /AsRock Extreme6
PSU: Enermax Galaxy 850Watt /EVGA 850 G2
HDD: OCZ 120GB Vertex4, Samsung evo 840 250GB
LCD: Samsung 32" LN32A450, Samsung 226BW 22" wide
Sound: Logtiech Z 5500
CPU & GPU: 3x Swiftech MCR320, 2x MCP655, MCW60 R2, Dtek Fuzion V2, 18 high speed yates @ 5v
Spawn-Inc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-11-10, 12:28 PM Thread Starter   #9
predator500
Member

 
predator500's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Germantown,OH

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spawn-Inc View Post
either one will serve more then what your asking. go with which ever one you like and will fit your case better.

if you go with the 355 then get a EK Xtop - rev2 or the XSPC Res top. but only if you don't have a top currently. if you have one the small performance increase wouldn't be worth it IMO.
The case im using is a cool master Haf 932 and i have the XSPC top for the 350 i bought them both at micro center yesterday i also have the old D4 pump.The mcp350 pump i got has the Blue impler but a different PCB so i dont know if i can modd it with the solder mod
predator500 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-11-10, 01:27 PM Thread Starter   #10
predator500
Member

 
predator500's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Germantown,OH

 
i dont think i can mod this pump i got the pic from XS i have not found any info about this PCB
Attached Images
 
predator500 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-11-10, 02:05 PM   #11
Spawn-Inc

 
Spawn-Inc's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada

 
open yours and see if it looks like the one above, if it does then you can mod it.

the blue impeller is the one that can be modded.

http://martin.skinneelabs.com/Swifte...ve_Review.html

__________________
CPU: Q6600 G0 3.5GHz@1.4v (4.2GHz max) / 4790k 4.8ghz @1.265v
GPU: 9800GTX /GTX780 hydrocopper
Ram: Samsung 4GB /gskill 16gb DDR3 1600
Mobo: EVGA-NF68-A1 680i (P32) /AsRock Extreme6
PSU: Enermax Galaxy 850Watt /EVGA 850 G2
HDD: OCZ 120GB Vertex4, Samsung evo 840 250GB
LCD: Samsung 32" LN32A450, Samsung 226BW 22" wide
Sound: Logtiech Z 5500
CPU & GPU: 3x Swiftech MCR320, 2x MCP655, MCW60 R2, Dtek Fuzion V2, 18 high speed yates @ 5v
Spawn-Inc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-11-10, 06:33 PM Thread Starter   #12
predator500
Member

 
predator500's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Germantown,OH

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spawn-Inc View Post
open yours and see if it looks like the one above, if it does then you can mod it.

the blue impeller is the one that can be modded.

http://martin.skinneelabs.com/Swifte...ve_Review.html
mine has a blue impeller but the Pcb is just like the pic
predator500 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-11-10, 06:39 PM   #13
Spawn-Inc

 
Spawn-Inc's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by predator500 View Post
mine has a blue impeller but the Pcb is just like the pic
that's what you want. you solder the empty spot with the yellow wire to get a 18w version.

or you can solder in a switch so you can change your pump speed on the fly. (eg low speed for bleeding and high for everyday) or how ever you would want to run it.

__________________
CPU: Q6600 G0 3.5GHz@1.4v (4.2GHz max) / 4790k 4.8ghz @1.265v
GPU: 9800GTX /GTX780 hydrocopper
Ram: Samsung 4GB /gskill 16gb DDR3 1600
Mobo: EVGA-NF68-A1 680i (P32) /AsRock Extreme6
PSU: Enermax Galaxy 850Watt /EVGA 850 G2
HDD: OCZ 120GB Vertex4, Samsung evo 840 250GB
LCD: Samsung 32" LN32A450, Samsung 226BW 22" wide
Sound: Logtiech Z 5500
CPU & GPU: 3x Swiftech MCR320, 2x MCP655, MCW60 R2, Dtek Fuzion V2, 18 high speed yates @ 5v
Spawn-Inc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-11-10, 07:00 PM Thread Starter   #14
predator500
Member

 
predator500's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Germantown,OH

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spawn-Inc View Post
that's what you want. you solder the empty spot with the yellow wire to get a 18w version.

or you can solder in a switch so you can change your pump speed on the fly. (eg low speed for bleeding and high for everyday) or how ever you would want to run it.
Ok so if i want to put a Switch do i use like a toggle switch
predator500 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-11-10, 07:02 PM   #15
CharlieCS
Member

 
CharlieCS's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New York Forum Points:4576

 
That one doesn't look like it can be modded, blue impeller doesn't guarantee that it can be modded anymore.There are now several revisions, and Laing now uses programmed PWM controller, newer pumps cannot be modded.

__________________
Looking to buy AM3 Six Quad and Tri core chips. PM me.

http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=67820
CharlieCS is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-11-10, 07:07 PM Thread Starter   #16
predator500
Member

 
predator500's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Germantown,OH

 
It has DDC 3.1 on the PCB
predator500 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-11-10, 07:52 PM Thread Starter   #17
predator500
Member

 
predator500's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Germantown,OH

 
here is a pic of the pump with the top
Attached Images
 
predator500 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-11-10, 08:19 PM Thread Starter   #18
predator500
Member

 
predator500's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Germantown,OH

 
here are some more pic's of the loop
Attached Images
  
predator500 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-11-10, 08:29 PM   #19
m0r7if3r
Member
Water Cooling Sticky Reading Enforcement Official

 
m0r7if3r's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Marietta, GA

 
those have a lot of white space and are messing up the display, any way you could be convinced to get rid of all the whitespace?

__________________
If years were seasons, this December would be the December of our December.
-Abed #sixseasonsandamovie

Heat
m0r7if3r is offline Author Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-11-10, 08:40 PM   #20
Spawn-Inc

 
Spawn-Inc's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by m0r7if3r View Post
those have a lot of white space and are messing up the display, any way you could be convinced to get rid of all the whitespace?
+1!

edit them via paint to get rid of the white.



and yes a toggle on-off switch is what you want should you go that route.

__________________
CPU: Q6600 G0 3.5GHz@1.4v (4.2GHz max) / 4790k 4.8ghz @1.265v
GPU: 9800GTX /GTX780 hydrocopper
Ram: Samsung 4GB /gskill 16gb DDR3 1600
Mobo: EVGA-NF68-A1 680i (P32) /AsRock Extreme6
PSU: Enermax Galaxy 850Watt /EVGA 850 G2
HDD: OCZ 120GB Vertex4, Samsung evo 840 250GB
LCD: Samsung 32" LN32A450, Samsung 226BW 22" wide
Sound: Logtiech Z 5500
CPU & GPU: 3x Swiftech MCR320, 2x MCP655, MCW60 R2, Dtek Fuzion V2, 18 high speed yates @ 5v
Spawn-Inc is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?