• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Career Change?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

dylskee

Hey guys, just to give you a little back drop on my situation and a little advice would be nice.

I'm going to be 40 years old next month :)rain:) and I'm currently looking to make a drastic change in my life and am in desperate need of a career change. I'm a father of three kids and just put my wife through nursing school. I've been working for the same company for the last 20 years and I'm making 70k+ a year as a CNC Machinist/Programmer/Supervisor/Engineer and all around employee for a local company that has seen it's ups and downs the last few years. I was on the verge of a layoff in the beginning of the year and it really got me nervous and thinking of a career change. We are getting busy again but this isn't long term for sure! This is all I've ever done and the only trade I really know but as you're all aware this country is becoming a service country and we are not manufacturing anything anymore! (That's a discussion for another time) Most of out shops have closed here in the North East and my options are very limited especially for the amount of money I make. And to be honest I really want a change and I'm completely sick of production machine shops and want to try something new.

Now, I wanted to do this when I was 30 years old and ten years went by in a flash so it's now or never as far as I'm concerned! Got a couple of questions and I hope you experts can shed some light on this for me. I have three options but keep in mind I have to continue to work my 12 hour days while I go to school.

Option 1: I can go Here http://www.porterchester.com/ which is 20 minutes from my house and it's at night and it will take me 18 months to do so.