• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

This is why I love the Antec 1200. (12 SATA Devices)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

AudiMan

10 hard drives
1 SSD
1 Optical Drive
1 Memory Card Reader

I love it!! I'm not very good at keeping cables tidy either, but this case really helps hide the 12 sata cables and power connectors!

Not to mention my Gigabyte GAX58A-UD3R that has 4 onboard SATA controllers, which have no issues at all with my RocketRaid 2640X4!

(Next step is the LSI 9260-4/8i)

IMG_0657.JPG

IMG_0658.JPG

IMG_0659.JPG

Last edited:
I would say fileserver, but the massive heatsink leads me to believe it isn't a low TDP processor. Probably it's his main rig doubling as a file server.

It does look like a fileserver... it doesn't have much by the way of IO coming into the back.

Maybe he just put a giant HS on it to make it quiet?

Bet that thing weighs a ton...

Yeah it's my main rig. i7 920 @ 4GHz.

It's my movie collection mostly 1080p, pics, MP3's, and general file storage, etc.
I also do a lot of encoding, etc, transferring files, extracting from one drive to another, blah blah.

6 X 1TB Seagate 7200.12's in RAID0. One 500MB partition for scratch drive. (ICH10R)

4 X 2TB WD Greens in RAID0, one 1TB partition for scratch drive, 7TB for backup.

I also have a few WDTV Live media players that I use to stream video from it.

I don't really need 10 hard drives, I just like the speed of multiple hard drives in RAID0. I know it's not the most secure way of doing things, but I do a lot of encoding, etc and I have an external backup in case one drive from each RAID0 array decides to fail at the same time.

But it's mostly for speed. I'm a nut, I know. Just hate the slowness of hard drives.

And yes,,, it weighs a ton!