Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Kingston HyperX memory timings

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-19-10, 04:52 PM Thread Starter   #1
telep_man
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2010

 
Kingston HyperX memory timings


Hey guys,

Can anyone help me set the timings for my memory? I have 4x1GB Kingston HyperX ddr2 1066MHz CL5. Works with no problem at the declared speed on 2.2V, but I was wondering if I could get better overall performance if I set the FSB freq from 266 to 333MHz and set the RAM freq to 666MHz with lower timings.

My system specs:
CPU: Intel E5200
MB: Asus P5QL-Pro
RAM: 4GB(4x1GB) Kingston HyperX DDR2 1066MHz CL5
...
telep_man is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-20-10, 12:26 PM   #2
King107s
Member

 
King107s's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Florida

 
You wont see much difference in performance either way but.... I don't think your E5200 can handle a 333 FSB anayway. Because that cpu is 200MHz x 12.5 = 2500MHz if you were to bump it to 333 your clock would be at 4163MHz!!

I think you should stick to a 266 FSB (CPU OC'd to 3.325GHz) with a 1:2 divider (RAM at 1064MHz) and stock timmings. Also 4 sticks of RAM can be somewhat unstable...

__________________
CPU Intel Core i7-2600K @ 4.9 GHz on H2O
MB ASRock Z77 Extreme9
RAM G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3 2133 9-11-10-28
VC Sapphire Dual-X OC 7970 3GB 1050/1500 (3DMark11 P10551)
SSD Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
HDD RAID0 2x1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200.12
PSU Corsair AX1200
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540 w/ Aerocool Shark Black ed. fans
Cooling EK Supreme HF Rev 2 block, Swiftech MCR320-XP eXtreme Performance Triple 120mm Slim Radiator, AFC1212D-PWM Fans, EK D5 X-RES Top 100 Res, Swiftech MCP655-B, Prolimatech PK-1 TIM, PrimoChill Liquid Utopia, 1/2" x 3/4"PrimoFlex PRO LRT Tubing UV Blue
King107s is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-20-10, 12:29 PM   #3
decoste007xt
Member

 
decoste007xt's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Canada

 
So long as their dual channeled and all the same brand it should be okay.

__________________
To the Max!!!

i7 920 4.23 ghz
EVGA FTW 3 SLI/Crossfire
x2 5770 Crossfire (900/1350)
3x2GB G.Skill Trident Ram 2020MHz 8-8-8-22
x2 500GB WD Blue HD
x1 60GB OCZ Vertex 2
Coolmaster V8 CPU Cooler
850W Silverstone Strider Modular PSU
Corsair D800 Case! (*DROOLS*)
decoste007xt is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-20-10, 12:30 PM   #4
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
He can lower the multiplier to keep overall clockspeeds in check...

But yeah, there isnt much point...

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-20-10, 04:30 PM Thread Starter   #5
telep_man
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2010

 
Thx ppl

Guess I'll focus on the cpu.
telep_man is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?