• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

About to place this order soon... please comment.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Johnson184

I had another thread here, but my build/goals has changed dramatically. I will have to place this order in the next day or so to maintain the pricing, but any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Intel 930 1366 $290
(I decided against going with the 960 ($470) in favor of the SSD. I figured it'd help with all the loading that goes on in games like WoW. With the H50 I'm hoping to overclock it to a safe level that still outperforms the 960.)

Asus Rampage III Gene $240
(Needed a quality 1366 mobo that had 6GB/s for the SSD and USB 3.0 for the future. I've never done overclocking before, but the ROG connect makes it look much easier to do than navigating a BIOS screen)

XFX 5870 $330
(I originally had my eyes set on a 5850 for $250, but I figured that would be the weakest link of my entire build)

6GB (3x2GB) Corsair Dominator $155
(I'm not too knowledgeable about ram, but it's advertised as being ideal for i7. Are these safe to overclock to 2000mhz? Would I see a noticeable improvement or is it not worth doing? Should I just upgrade to the Dominator GT? $245 I honestly don't even know if the GT's fan would fit next to the H50 on a Rampage board. At about $90 price difference, I could almost get 12GB of the regular Corsair Dominator... but that's overkill... right? )

Crucial C300 128GB 6GB/s SSD $300
(6GB/s sata connection should make start up, app loads, and gaming loads faster. I've seen youtube videos of WoW loading up much faster, but any idea if it'd make gameplay better at all?)

Cooler Master Silent M700 700watt modular $90