• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Recommendations for laptops (using MacBook Pro as a benchmark)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

onenine90

Registered
Hi. Firstly, I can't really afford to spend atleast AU$2200 on a 15" MacBook Pro, haha.
I don't really want to spend much over AU$1,500-1,600. The laptop I had was a Dell Inspiron 6400. I NEVER want a Dell again. It's broken down after about 3.5 years, but I've had a lot of trouble with it over the years.
My requriements:
  • Screen: atleast 15"..
    I'm a design student. A part from the the fact that everybody's riding Apple at uni, the main reasons i use MacBook pro as a standard is because of their design/style, reliability AND the screen's colours are so rich.
  • Atleast 160GB HD
  • I've heard 4GB ram is the new norm and I guess appropriate since i use Adobe programs (often simultaenously). I can't recall what how many GHz my Dell had but again, whatever's the best I can get in that price range.

I hope that's fairly reasonable for the price range. Ive heard that Toshiba and HP are good, reliable brands but any suggestions which consider what i've mentioned would be greatly appreciated!

Welcome to the forums :)

I've recently bought a Lenovo W510 which I'm very happy with. It's got a quad core chip, 8 GB of RAM (options are 2 - 16 GB), a 500 GB HDD and a Quadro FX880M graphics chip. It cost me a good bit less than a lesser-specced Macbook Pro.

The only down side is that it looks smart, but it isn't shiny aluminium. It ought to have all the grunt you need though.

Alternatively, look into the HP Envy machines. They look as nice - if not nicer - than the MacBook Pro machines while still being a good bit cheaper. The Lenovo build quality ought to put both Apple and HP to shame though.