• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

i7-930 OC: Where Do I Go From Here?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

OLDflyboy

Registered
As a complete newbie to both this forum and overclocking I will probably ask some less than bright questions. But I will search for the answers first....that's a promise.
So here goes:After reading lots of guides and lots of very informative threads, especially MIAHALLEN's tutorials I got up the courage and went into the BIOS of my month-old rig.

ASUS P6X58d MB, i7 [email protected], Akasa NERO V2 - Premium ,CPU cooling 6GB Corsair Dominator DDR3, Intel X25 160GB SSD, Sapphire 5870, Corsair 750W Power in a Coolermaster Stacker case, Win 7 Ultimate OS

Here are the new Bios Settings:
CPU- 22x159 = 3498 MHz
UNCORE - 3187 MHz
DDR3 - 1594 MHz
CPU Core - 1.3 v
QPI/DRAM - 1.35 v
IOH - Auto
DRAM Bus - 1.5 v

Idle temps for all cores: 41-43 C and running Prime with 8 workers for one hour resulted in 29 completed tests with no errors, no warnings. However, the cores temps were 83,88,86,85 C. Isn't this a bit high?
I also ran the OCCT test but it took only 1 min and 30 secs for temp to force a shutdown at 100C, just a few seconds after putting max load on the CPU.

Just getting to 3.5 GHz (almost) and greatly improving Flight Simulator X performance is a treat for me. But I surely would like to get closer to 3.8 or 3.9 GHz.

Are my present settings ok considering test results? My feeling is that I need some help adjusting them, especially in moving the speed up to 3.8 or 3.9 GHz
My thanks for any wisdom you wish to share with an OLD flyboy.

I was going to mention your cooler being the issue at first, but it seems to perform decent in the reviews. It might not be seated correctly... Its hard to tell with those coolers that do not require thermal paste.