Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

Best buy sold out of geforce4s!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-08-02, 10:10 PM Thread Starter   #1
Overclocker550
Member

 
Overclocker550's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002

 
Best buy sold out of geforce4s!


I went to best buy tonight and am supprised they already got geforce4's and also sold out of their titanium 4600's the highest end for $399 a pop. they also had mx420 for $129 and had 4 left, I guess the mx werent so popular since they had only 166MHz memory speed!
Overclocker550 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-08-02, 10:15 PM   #2
Ritteri&Bubbles
Disabled



Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: New England

 
The Ti4600's have yet to officially ship yet, so how can they sell out something they never had??? The MX series is already everywhere but who cares. We got em, nothing special at all to me.
Ritteri&Bubbles is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-08-02, 10:27 PM Thread Starter   #3
Overclocker550
Member

 
Overclocker550's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002

 
you might be right, but I saw the price tag on the shelf read $399 and said geforce4 ti4600 and there were none left. also they are selling it on their website. weird. as for the mx, you say you got plenty, do you work in a store? are they selling like hotcakes? have you seen one in a computer? hows the speed and quality?
Overclocker550 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-09-02, 10:27 AM   #4
TranceBear
Big Daddy Bear Senior

 
TranceBear's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2001
Location: Denver, CO

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by Overclocker550
you might be right, but I saw the price tag on the shelf read $399 and said geforce4 ti4600 and there were none left. also they are selling it on their website. weird. as for the mx, you say you got plenty, do you work in a store? are they selling like hotcakes? have you seen one in a computer? hows the speed and quality?
It is called bait-N-switch. They lure you in with BS claims of having it in and then say it is sold out. NOBODY has the GF4 TI yet. If somebody says you can order it know, They will tell you it is on back order as soon as you order it. I have the MX in stock and it is a fine card for the price.

__________________
AMD 9950BE Phenom 3.5ghz 1.47v 250x14 CPU For Sale
Coolermaster V-8 41c Idle-51c Load
Asus M3A79-T Deluxe 790FX/SB750
G-Skill 2x2gb DDR2-800 5-5-5-15-24
2x74gb Raptors-2x750gb WD Raid-0
Antec 1200 Case/ Antec 1000 Watt P/S
What's Fragging? I Don't Play Games
It's About Bragging Right's, Right?
My Heatware 100% since 2002
TranceBear is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-09-02, 11:14 AM   #5
Starfoxer
World's Biggest E-Thug

 
Starfoxer's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: USA

10 Year Badge
 
how do the MX's match up against a Radeon 8500 retail?
Starfoxer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-09-02, 01:39 PM   #6
Akumu X
Member

 
Akumu X's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Near Pittsburgh

10 Year Badge
 
8500 crushes it...of course.
the MX line is well...an MX line. it's for the masses that gaming/video editting means nothing. or very very little.

__________________
"Without order nothing can exist - Without chaos nothing can evolve."
Akumu X is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-09-02, 01:46 PM   #7
Henry Rollins II
Member

 
Henry Rollins II's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: The North Pole

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Starfox
how do the MX's match up against a Radeon 8500 retail?
There is a test of all new GF4 cards at tomshardware. There you can watch how GF4 matches up with the radeon 8500.

regards,
Henry
Henry Rollins II is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-09-02, 03:42 PM   #8
Ice Breaker 489
Member



Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: North Hollywood, CA

 
actually bestbuy had the ti4600 cards for preorder...my friend preordered his a few days ago on their website.
Ice Breaker 489 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-09-02, 04:11 PM Thread Starter   #9
Overclocker550
Member

 
Overclocker550's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002

 
did he get it for $129
Overclocker550 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-09-02, 04:15 PM   #10
Ice Breaker 489
Member



Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: North Hollywood, CA

 
no he didnt get the mx, he just got the ti 4600 on pre-order for $399 off their site
Ice Breaker 489 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-09-02, 04:26 PM   #11
Cisco Kid
Senior Member



Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Port Moody BC "West Coast Canada"

10 Year Badge
 
Why are so many jumping onm the bandwagon when a G3 or 8500 will do what they need heck a Radeon 7500 or G2 Ti200 will do just as well......

waste of cash imho right off the bat, wait for things to settle down people then watch the prices fall and buy then, cause you will not benefit from all the features for a while...

Cisco Kid
Cisco Kid is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-09-02, 04:28 PM   #12
Ice Breaker 489
Member



Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: North Hollywood, CA

 
preach on man!

7500 for life!!!...or until maybe the new games that come out need a card like the 8500 to run them...until then!!!
Ice Breaker 489 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-09-02, 05:53 PM Thread Starter   #13
Overclocker550
Member

 
Overclocker550's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Ice Breaker 489
preach on man!

7500 for life!!!...or until maybe the new games that come out need a card like the 8500 to run them...until then!!!
the geforce4 will also run todays games, but faster!!!!!!!!
Overclocker550 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-09-02, 07:32 PM   #14
sneakyfart
Member

 
sneakyfart's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Merced Ca

 
the geforce4 will also run todays games, but faster!!!!!!!!






i think that pretty much sums it up...well said
sneakyfart is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-09-02, 07:36 PM   #15
funnyperson1
Senior Member

 
funnyperson1's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Northern VA

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by sneakyfart
the geforce4 will also run todays games, but faster!!!!!!!!






i think that pretty much sums it up...well said
no my friend it will not as always the bottleneck is the monitor....i dont know of one with a refresh rate of more than 120 at a res of 1600x1200....when i can get a monitor and a graphics card that can do that and run games smoothly, then ill be impressed......you could always disable VSYNC but that causes tearing (at least on my comp)....

forget monitors....the ultimate bottleneck...our body....your eye will not tell the difference between 80fps and 180....

__________________

"Strong with the fold this boy is, fold you must"-NASSoccer
its a shame you cant ban people for being ignorant fanboys....
My Heatware
[Gigabyte MA790X-UDP4][PHII 940BE][Thermalright Ultra90][2x2GB OCZ Reaper HPC][Palit HD4850][Enhance 5150GH][Windows 7,Ubuntu 12.04]
funnyperson1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-09-02, 08:10 PM Thread Starter   #16
Overclocker550
Member

 
Overclocker550's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002

 
"no my friend it will not as always the bottleneck is the monitor....i dont know of one with a refresh rate of more than 120 at a res of 1600x1200....when i can get a monitor and a graphics card that can do that and run games smoothly, then ill be impressed......you could always disable VSYNC but that causes tearing (at least on my comp)....

forget monitors....the ultimate bottleneck...our body....your eye will not tell the difference between 80fps and 180...."


then run your monitor at 60Hz. your eyes still cant see all of the 60fps, right? and describe what tearing looks like? and also imagine running a geforce3 at 2048x1536x32 with all options on max? youd get not many fps, LOL. a geforce4 will give you 50% more, might be enough to make it smooth
Overclocker550 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-09-02, 08:16 PM   #17
Ice Breaker 489
Member



Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: North Hollywood, CA

 
unneeded luxuries...
Ice Breaker 489 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-09-02, 08:21 PM   #18
Ice Breaker 489
Member



Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: North Hollywood, CA

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Overclocker550


the geforce4 will also run todays games, but faster!!!!!!!!
yes it will, and thats all fine and dandy but do you really need it that fast???

it will also make things in the game look prettier too right???
well while youre admiring the textures, lighting, details, etc your opponent will be mopping the floor with you in the servers you play games at.

don't get caught up in the looks, i mean its ok for a card to play your games well but there is such a thing as over kill...
Ice Breaker 489 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-09-02, 08:30 PM   #19
funnyperson1
Senior Member

 
funnyperson1's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Northern VA

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by Overclocker550
"no my friend it will not as always the bottleneck is the monitor....i dont know of one with a refresh rate of more than 120 at a res of 1600x1200....when i can get a monitor and a graphics card that can do that and run games smoothly, then ill be impressed......you could always disable VSYNC but that causes tearing (at least on my comp)....

forget monitors....the ultimate bottleneck...our body....your eye will not tell the difference between 80fps and 180...."


then run your monitor at 60Hz. your eyes still cant see all of the 60fps, right? and describe what tearing looks like? and also imagine running a geforce3 at 2048x1536x32 with all options on max? youd get not many fps, LOL. a geforce4 will give you 50% more, might be enough to make it smooth

well i dunno, i cant tell a difference past 1280x1024 i think even AA is really not worth it....of course thats just imho.......also tearing is hard to describe, looks like the screen is segmented like when i move little lines show up on the screen....quite annoying.......also once again how many monitors can use 2048 res? mine only goes up to 1280.....im not saying the G4 isn tgreat..its just too much money imho......and its features will not bein use for quite some time.....i also am not aware of any games that have res of higher than 1600x1200.......

__________________

"Strong with the fold this boy is, fold you must"-NASSoccer
its a shame you cant ban people for being ignorant fanboys....
My Heatware
[Gigabyte MA790X-UDP4][PHII 940BE][Thermalright Ultra90][2x2GB OCZ Reaper HPC][Palit HD4850][Enhance 5150GH][Windows 7,Ubuntu 12.04]
funnyperson1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-09-02, 09:04 PM   #20
Bull
Member



Join Date: Oct 2001

 
I say it's a waist of money right now. Wait til the Geforce 4 ti 4600 comes out then buy a Geforce 3 Ti500 for alot less. It will run anything out there right now. 400 bucks for a video card is way too much. If you need bragging rights and have the money to blow go for it. But I'm going to stick with my Geforce 3 Ti 200 for now.

And Nvidia is phasing out the geforce 3's so in a couple of months they should be pretty cheap.

My 2 cents.
Bull is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?