• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Proper Ground for Computer and speakers, is it really un-safe or is it all hype?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Wizzard005

Aloha all,

Before you jump all over me and tell me its unsafe, take a listen.....

Everything in my office is connected to 2 different 1500 WATT UPS (with proper ground)

In my office i have powered studio monitors (mackie) . These speakers have a standard PSU power cable 3 prong. When connected into my UPS, they buzz, very light buzz but you can hear it. When you switch the cords (with cut off ground) the buzz is gone, cant even tell if they are on.

Why is this unsafe or it is safe because Its not directly plunged into the AC outlet?

I am not an electrician, but using normal judgment I feel its safe because of if there was a power spike or my house got hit by lighting it would stop at the UPS....

The Computer is grounded, just un-grounded the Studio monitors....

Again, why is this unsafe or is it all hype?

I have everything i need to make the line clean, and it still buzzes.. for a year i though it was because of the computer (RCA) , however using a ungrounded power cord, problem gone..

I spent a ton of money on the monster power thing that didnt help at all.....

I know the problem is with the electric in the house, but really, how do you fix that ?

Most likely, the outlet you have the equipment plugged into is not a dedicated ground isolated outlet, and the noise your hearing is from other equipment plugged into the same circuit radiating through the ground line, or from having each equipment on different circuits (PC is on one circuit, your speakers are on a different circuit).