Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Cyborg R.A.T.7 mouse

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-04-10, 11:31 PM Thread Starter   #1
OnDborder
Senior Member

 
OnDborder's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2001
Location: HOT 'n Arizona

10 Year Badge
 
Cyborg R.A.T.7 mouse


My curiousity got the best of me. Went and picked one up.

Pro's: The thumb can be adjusted forwards/backwards and width angle.
The pinky finger skid plate.
The palm rest can be adjusted forward/backward.

Con: the "back" button on the thumb side is positioned too far back. I have to use my thumb knuckle for it.
Price.

Some reviews I've read said this is incompatible with a soft mouse pad. I haven't any problems with my Steelseries mousepad. Which is cloth/rubber.
With this mouse I can rest my palm on the mouse, thanks to the adjusts, and not have the heel of my hand resting on the pad forcing me to "claw" the mouse and using my fingers to aim the cursor.
It seems that I have a better kill/die ratio, but that's not saying much as much as I suxor in certain games..
Just got it yesterday so it will take a little getting used to.


http://www.cyborggaming.com/prod/rat7.htm

__________________
You're capable of such beautiful dreams, and such horrible nightmares.


Asrock z77xtr6/3770k..........MSI p67a-GD55/2600k
CORSAIR Vengeance 16gb.......4gigZ Corsair
r280x's crossfire ....................Sapph 7870 crossfired
X-Fi Elite Pro.........................H2O cooling
600gb Raptor/256ssd3..... .......40 Kingston ssd
Siverstone 1500wt'r.....................Corsair1000HX

MyHeat

Last edited by OnDborder; 09-04-10 at 11:40 PM.
OnDborder is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-05-10, 12:56 AM   #2
bda1967
Member

 
bda1967's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ohio

 
I've been Jonesing for one ever since I saw the review in a magazine but can't bring myself to spend that much for a mouse.

__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.3GHz - Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 - 8GB DDR3-1600 G. Skill PC3-12800
Diamond HD 7970 - OCZ Agility 3 240 GB SSD / (2) 500GB HDD's storage - HAF X - Hyper 212 Plus
Fatality Pro X-FI - Cooler Master 850 watt psu - Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Athlon II X4 635 Propus @ 3.6GHz - MA770T-UD3P - 4GB G. Skill DDR3-1600 PC3-12800
Sapphire HD 4870 - 320 GB HDD - Modified HP case - Nirvana NV120
BFG GS 550 watt psu - Windows 7 Ultimate 64
FX-4100 @ 4.2GHz - Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3 - 8GB Kingston DDR3 1600
XFX HD6870 - 320 GB HDD - Antec 900 - Hyper 212 Plus
Corsair CX500 - Windows 7 Pro 64
bda1967 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-19-11, 08:30 AM   #3
2k3autococker
New Member



Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hamilton/Brantford, Canada

 
I just picked up one yesterday, but for the life of me, I cannot get the thumb scroll to do anything? Any suggestions?
2k3autococker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-19-11, 08:53 AM   #4
Saaby900t

 
Saaby900t's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: IT'S COLD HERE

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2k3autococker View Post
I just picked up one yesterday, but for the life of me, I cannot get the thumb scroll to do anything? Any suggestions?
download the right drivers?

__________________
AMD Phenom II 965 OC 4.1GHz on H20
Thermaltake V4
OCZ agility 2, 1TB WD Green. 1 TB seagate Barracuda, 2 TB Seagate Barracuda 1TB Hitachi
HP 8x DVD-RW
ASUS M4A89GTD AM3
EVGA Superclocked 470GTX
Coolermaster 650GX
W/others(in my house) 31.8 GHz of processing powar
Saaby900t is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-19-11, 09:49 AM   #5
2k3autococker
New Member



Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hamilton/Brantford, Canada

 
I've installed the drivers and the profile programming stuff, removed everything and re-installed it, and it's still not working. As of now, everything in the profile editor is set to default.
2k3autococker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-19-11, 10:43 AM   #6
Saaby900t

 
Saaby900t's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: IT'S COLD HERE

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2k3autococker View Post
I've installed the drivers and the profile programming stuff, removed everything and re-installed it, and it's still not working. As of now, everything in the profile editor is set to default.
Did it work with your old mouse?

__________________
AMD Phenom II 965 OC 4.1GHz on H20
Thermaltake V4
OCZ agility 2, 1TB WD Green. 1 TB seagate Barracuda, 2 TB Seagate Barracuda 1TB Hitachi
HP 8x DVD-RW
ASUS M4A89GTD AM3
EVGA Superclocked 470GTX
Coolermaster 650GX
W/others(in my house) 31.8 GHz of processing powar
Saaby900t is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-19-11, 10:56 AM   #7
2k3autococker
New Member



Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hamilton/Brantford, Canada

 
Never had a thumb (horizontal) scroll on my old mouse
2k3autococker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-19-11, 11:55 AM   #8
Saaby900t

 
Saaby900t's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: IT'S COLD HERE

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2k3autococker View Post
Never had a thumb (horizontal) scroll on my old mouse
Mine doesn't work in windows UI but It works in Starcraft so ehh. I don't put to much thought into it.

__________________
AMD Phenom II 965 OC 4.1GHz on H20
Thermaltake V4
OCZ agility 2, 1TB WD Green. 1 TB seagate Barracuda, 2 TB Seagate Barracuda 1TB Hitachi
HP 8x DVD-RW
ASUS M4A89GTD AM3
EVGA Superclocked 470GTX
Coolermaster 650GX
W/others(in my house) 31.8 GHz of processing powar
Saaby900t is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-19-11, 12:12 PM   #9
2k3autococker
New Member



Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hamilton/Brantford, Canada

 
I emailed tech support anyways. I'll start going through all my games and seeing if any of them pick it up...

EDIT: Haven't gone through games yet, but I have been able to create a horizontal scrolling effect by mapping the left and right (arrow) keyboard buttons to the horizontal scroll wheel. Windows clearly doesn't like recognizing it on its own. Guess I'll have an extra mode for any games that natively support the horizontal scroll.

Last edited by 2k3autococker; 02-19-11 at 09:10 PM. Reason: Went out, had some time to clear my head...
2k3autococker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-20-11, 01:24 AM Thread Starter   #10
OnDborder
Senior Member

 
OnDborder's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2001
Location: HOT 'n Arizona

10 Year Badge
 
Welcome to the Forum! http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=491697 2k3autococker

Lol. I haven't even messed with the thumb scroll.
Personally, I haven't found a need for it. If I were to I would use it for some kind of weapon selection.

__________________
You're capable of such beautiful dreams, and such horrible nightmares.


Asrock z77xtr6/3770k..........MSI p67a-GD55/2600k
CORSAIR Vengeance 16gb.......4gigZ Corsair
r280x's crossfire ....................Sapph 7870 crossfired
X-Fi Elite Pro.........................H2O cooling
600gb Raptor/256ssd3..... .......40 Kingston ssd
Siverstone 1500wt'r.....................Corsair1000HX

MyHeat
OnDborder is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-26-11, 12:35 PM Thread Starter   #11
OnDborder
Senior Member

 
OnDborder's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2001
Location: HOT 'n Arizona

10 Year Badge
 
Still my number one mouse..
But changed my mouse pad to a Mionix ALIOTH 400 Mouse Pad quite awhile ago.
It's a real good combo.

__________________
You're capable of such beautiful dreams, and such horrible nightmares.


Asrock z77xtr6/3770k..........MSI p67a-GD55/2600k
CORSAIR Vengeance 16gb.......4gigZ Corsair
r280x's crossfire ....................Sapph 7870 crossfired
X-Fi Elite Pro.........................H2O cooling
600gb Raptor/256ssd3..... .......40 Kingston ssd
Siverstone 1500wt'r.....................Corsair1000HX

MyHeat
OnDborder is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-20-11, 06:57 PM   #12
slugzkea
Registered

 
slugzkea's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2008

 
Rat 7


Ah, the rat 7...

I bought the first batch of the rat 7. Man what a piece of junk. not only did it not work on any dark mousepad, or any mousepad for that matter, but the tracking was a complete mess. And the pinkie guard didn't even come with a teflon pad on it.

Madcatz is sending me the latest batch as we speak, so it'll be fun to compare. I hope all the issues are fixed in the latest batch.

As for the thumb scroll, there is no function for it "yet". There's a forum on this. Basically it doesnt' do anything. Why did they put it there? only god knows. But it does nothing.

__________________
| e8400@4.36Ghz |
| Scythe Orchi w/TriCool |
| ASUS RAMPAGE FORMULA |
| XFX 9800GX2@760/1080/1860 |
| CM Cosmos S RC-1100 w/6 TriCool's |
| PCP&C Silencer 750w |
| SB Audigy 4 SE |

3DMark06:20,151
slugzkea is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-21-11, 01:22 PM Thread Starter   #13
OnDborder
Senior Member

 
OnDborder's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2001
Location: HOT 'n Arizona

10 Year Badge
 
Sorry for your bad luck with the RAT.
They have different versions?
Maybe I have the upgraded version because I've had zero problems with tracking on the mouse pad I have that is "dark". http://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=...:0&tx=64&ty=76

__________________
You're capable of such beautiful dreams, and such horrible nightmares.


Asrock z77xtr6/3770k..........MSI p67a-GD55/2600k
CORSAIR Vengeance 16gb.......4gigZ Corsair
r280x's crossfire ....................Sapph 7870 crossfired
X-Fi Elite Pro.........................H2O cooling
600gb Raptor/256ssd3..... .......40 Kingston ssd
Siverstone 1500wt'r.....................Corsair1000HX

MyHeat
OnDborder is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-08-12, 10:24 PM   #14
doninss
New Member



Join Date: Jan 2012

 
not quite a year dead. <_<

i just picked up one of these (6400 dpi version). no trouble with surfaces yet (desk, white paper, painted metal, jeans).

Had trouble getting thumb-wheel to work in game (e.g. painkiller - alice: mad again). the only way i could get the thumb-wheel to work ingame was to use the "new advanced command" dialog, then tick the macro check-box when done. ("new macro" did not work.)

i could not get horizontal scrolling in win 7 apps (e.g. notepad) without resorting to autohotkey, but was able to get it to work with.

Code:
RControl & l::  ; Scroll left.
ControlGetFocus, fcontrol, A
Loop 4  ; <-- Increase this value to scroll faster.
    SendMessage, 0x114, 0, 0, %fcontrol%, A  ; 0x114 is WM_HSCROLL and the 0 after it is SB_LINELEFT.
return

RControl & r::  ; Scroll right.
ControlGetFocus, fcontrol, A
Loop 4  ; <-- Increase this value to scroll faster.
    SendMessage, 0x114, 1, 0, %fcontrol%, A  ; 0x114 is WM_HSCROLL and the 1 after it is SB_LINERIGHT.
return
this basically cut & paste from the autohotkey site. (changed key combo to one i would hardly ever use for something else.)

edited: "tick" used to be "ticking"
doninss is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-12, 02:18 PM Thread Starter   #15
OnDborder
Senior Member

 
OnDborder's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2001
Location: HOT 'n Arizona

10 Year Badge
 
Welcome to the Forum! http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=491697

Thanks for the info..
I can't wait for the mmo7 versions to get out.
I did have problems with the Mionix Propus 380 mousepad.
I'm currently using the Razer Scarab mousepad..

__________________
You're capable of such beautiful dreams, and such horrible nightmares.


Asrock z77xtr6/3770k..........MSI p67a-GD55/2600k
CORSAIR Vengeance 16gb.......4gigZ Corsair
r280x's crossfire ....................Sapph 7870 crossfired
X-Fi Elite Pro.........................H2O cooling
600gb Raptor/256ssd3..... .......40 Kingston ssd
Siverstone 1500wt'r.....................Corsair1000HX

MyHeat
OnDborder is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-12, 09:35 PM   #16
poppedkernel

 
poppedkernel's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: florida

 
I love my R.A.T 7, I have no problems with it being on a mouse pad, also now the only buttons i have to worry about on my keyboard are my directional keys.
poppedkernel is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-12, 09:46 PM   #17
pwnmachine
Member

 
pwnmachine's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada

 
Saitek is a Madcatz company?!??!

edit: Bought for 30mil back in 07', wow no wonder their products have been on a decline...

__________________
i5 2500k @ 4.8 gHz. 1.3v..................Q9650 @ 4.0 gHz.
Kingston Hyper 1600mHz 4gb..........XMS3 1600mHz 4gb
Asus P8P67 Pro B3...........................790i Ultra FTW
XFX 5970 BE + XFX 5850..................GTX 260 2xSLI
CM Hyper 212/Thermalright HR-03...Scythe Mugen II
CM Cosmos S Modified......................NZXT H2
Custom Maple Gaming Case
pwnmachine is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-05-12, 11:31 PM   #18
delevic
New Member



Join Date: Jan 2012

 
Hi,
Always after restarting the computer, the mouse is not working properly, rat 7 start to chips. I must plug and unplug mice , and than everything is ok. I reinstall drivers , but nothing. Any idea?

Regards
delevic is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-07-12, 08:05 AM   #19
Dlaw
Member



Join Date: Apr 2012

 
I got my RAT 7 last weekend (6400 dpi), no issues what so ever. I had a RAT 3 before that, and LOVED it, but: This has double the dpi than my 3200 RAT 3, plus the thumbwheel, precision aim, and full adjust-ability.

Yes, Cyborg/Saitek/Eclipse/Triton/Gameshark are all brands of MadCatz, Inc. Don't let it fool you though, Cyborg branded peripherals are designed for hard-core gaming. My RAT 3 lasted over a year, and still works beautifully. It'll be good for another 3 years at least, I'm sure.

As far as your mouse not working correctly after reboot, I had a similar problem. Here's what I did, and what I think will help you too:
1st: Uninstall Smart Technology
2nd: Go to Device Manager, and make sure that there is no drop-down menu for Programming Support. If there is, you still have something related to the ST software installed.
3rd: Go to Program Files, and delete any Smart Technology folders
4th: Download the latest drivers and software from http://www.cyborggaming.com/download.htm (should be driver version 7.0.12.0, and software version 7.0.13.22)
5th: Go back to Device Manager, and click on Mice and other pointing devices.
6th: Right click on Cyborg RAT7 Mouse (HID) and click Uninstall. When the "Confirm driver uninstall" window pops up, MAKE SURE to tick the box next to "delete the driver software for this device". Click Ok.
7th: Unplug your mouse, and plug it back in.
8th: When the "Installing new hardware" icon pops up, click it, and stop Windows from searching Windows Update.
9th: Once the hardware wizard is finished, it should say something to the effect of "HID-compliant mouse" was installed.
10th: Install drivers
11th: Install software
12th: Your done! You should now have no problems using your mouse after a reboot.

__________________
ICE | STORM
Case: Cooler Master Storm Scout with 6 fans total | Motherboard: ASRock 970 Extreme3 | Bios Version: 1.70
CPU: AMD Phenom II x4 960T @ stock (issues) | CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo (with Nexus PWM 120mm fan ~76CFM, push-pull)
Memory: 16GB Mushkin Enhanced Silverline DDR3 1600MHz | Sound: Realtek on board, Turtle Beach x41 + Creative Fatal1ty headset + Logitech speakers
Storage: Samsung 840 120GB SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda | PSU: Cooler Master eXtreme Power Plus 550w | Graphics: EVGA Geforce GTX 550Ti (Factory OC'd)
Keyboard: Azio Levetron Mech5 | Mouse: SteelSeries Sensei
Folding User Stats
Dlaw is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-07-12, 09:19 AM   #20
EpicMango
Member

 
EpicMango's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Colorado

 
Sigh...

The only reason I bought my G9X over the RAT 7 was because I heard in a LOT of reviews that it was not a very reliable mouse, that parts and the sensor would fail in 6-9 months..

I was really close to getting one too..I wonder if its even worth it to get it from the G9X now..

__________________
•Intel i5 3570k @ 3.4Ghz/AS5/CM Hyper 212+
•8 GB 1600Mhz DDR3 Mushkin Enhanced Blackline RAM (2x4GB)
•Gigabyte "Windforce" 7850 2GB GDDR5 Overclocked @ 975/1200
•ASRock Extreme4 Z77 LGA 1155
•NZXT Tempest Evo
•120GB Mushkin Chronos SSD (Windows 7)
•128GB Samsung SSD (Game HD)
•75GB WD Raptor HDD (PinGuyOS)
•750GB WD Black HDD (Storage)
•250GB Seagate HDD (Game ISO Storage)

I hate my rig. Thanks BlueZero5
EpicMango is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?