Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Finally broke through a roadblock on my AMD 955

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-05-10, 12:00 AM Thread Starter   #1
DrJack55

 
DrJack55's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Roseville, CA

 
Finally broke through a roadblock on my AMD 955


I've been stuck at 3.6 on my 955. 3.7 would work for a bit at a good temp, but after a while, usually within a day the system would crash. After evaluating my system and power requirements, I realized that not only was I maxing out my power 550 watt power supply, my power supply was also a piece of s**t because it was a Rosewill 550 watt (read 350 watt) power supply. I picked up a 750tx Corsair and lo and behold, I'm now passing my stability tests and not crashing. Hell, even Dragon Age Origins which I've just been playing hasn't been randomly crapping out on me. (I got really good with that F5 key)

So yeah, onward and upwards now!

__________________
Corsair TX750 Power Supply
Cooler Master HAF 922
3x 200mm Cooler Master Fans
Asus Crosshair III Formula
AMD Phenom II 955BE
(3.6 ghz, 1.350v, NB 1.25v @ 2400 MHZ, 52c)
Scythe Mugen 2 w/ 2 120mm fans
4gb Corsair DDR3
Diamond ATI Radeon 5750
22" HP w2207h @1680x1050
DrJack55 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-05-10, 12:09 AM   #2
soulwatch5
Member

 
soulwatch5's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Burbank, CA

 
Ya i had a similar problem with my topower psu until i upgraded. At the time my 4870x2 ate that thing alive.

__________________
Haf 922
Asrock z77 extreme6
i7 3770k @4.5ghz
8g Gskill @1600Mhz
Intel 520 SSD
EVGA GTX 680
Corsair HX1000

Heatware
soulwatch5 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-05-10, 12:16 AM   #3
trents
Senior Member

 
trents's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Centralia, WA

 
Have you given it a good long stress test with Prime95 or OCCT? Or are you saying its stable based solely on running standard apps?

__________________
Custom built desktop #1:
FX-6300 4.5 ghz/Noctua D14 CPU cooler/16 gb Team Elite 2400 mhz ram, 4x4gb/Asus M5A99X Evo motherboard/Coolermaster HAF 912 case/OCZ 750W PSU/AMD 6850 GPU/2xCorsair 120gb SDD RAID 0
Toshiba SatelliteL775 laptop/17.3" display, AMD 3400M APU, 8 gb of 1333

Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6
trents is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-05-10, 12:20 AM Thread Starter   #4
DrJack55

 
DrJack55's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Roseville, CA

 
I run Prime95, I used to do Boinc but when it crashed, sometimes it would corrupt the data packet and I'd lose the time I spent on that project and it wouldn't get accepted.

I usally run it through the night, if it's alive in the morning, then I know it's good

Sort of like on Aliens.. take the dropship to the Suloco and nuke the place from orbit, it's the only way to be sure.

Yeah, like that... LOL

__________________
Corsair TX750 Power Supply
Cooler Master HAF 922
3x 200mm Cooler Master Fans
Asus Crosshair III Formula
AMD Phenom II 955BE
(3.6 ghz, 1.350v, NB 1.25v @ 2400 MHZ, 52c)
Scythe Mugen 2 w/ 2 120mm fans
4gb Corsair DDR3
Diamond ATI Radeon 5750
22" HP w2207h @1680x1050
DrJack55 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-06-10, 10:36 AM   #5
QuietIce
Disabled



Join Date: May 2006
Location: Anywhere but there

 
to OCF!


Yes, it's amazing what a bad PSU can do to your system.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrJack55 View Post
I run Prime95, I used to do Boinc but when it crashed, sometimes it would corrupt the data packet and I'd lose the time I spent on that project and it wouldn't get accepted.

I usally run it through the night, if it's alive in the morning, then I know it's good

Sort of like on Aliens.. take the dropship to the Suloco and nuke the place from orbit, it's the only way to be sure.

Yeah, like that... LOL
If you run BOINC that's one of THE best stability tests I know. P95 or OCCT overnight and if that works then start crunching - hopefully 24/7.


BTW - Which BOINC project do you run? We've got several BOINC teams here at OCF ...
QuietIce is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-06-10, 08:34 PM   #6
voodooutt
Registered



Join Date: Sep 2010

 
Hrm, this is interesting. I have a Rosewill 550 also (RP550-2), and it seems I've hit a ceiling on my 955, literally 10mhz difference in clock speed will wreak havok. I've been reading its not really a good PSU to go hogwild with, looks like a new psu is on the horizon
voodooutt is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-06-10, 08:44 PM   #7
beenthere
Member



Join Date: Aug 2010

 
Testing with OCCT or similar where you can monitor the voltages under load might help determine if there is really a PSU issue.
beenthere is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-06-10, 08:48 PM   #8
voodooutt
Registered



Join Date: Sep 2010

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Testing with OCCT or similar where you can monitor the voltages under load might help determine if there is really a PSU issue.
will do. have not used yet, only Cinebench so far. thanks.
voodooutt is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-06-10, 09:36 PM Thread Starter   #9
DrJack55

 
DrJack55's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Roseville, CA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuietIce View Post
to OCF!


Yes, it's amazing what a bad PSU can do to your system.
If you run BOINC that's one of THE best stability tests I know. P95 or OCCT overnight and if that works then start crunching - hopefully 24/7.


BTW - Which BOINC project do you run? We've got several BOINC teams here at OCF ...
I run SETI and Rosetta. I've already teamed up with you guys a couple of months ago, just never bothered getting around to asking about the badges

__________________
Corsair TX750 Power Supply
Cooler Master HAF 922
3x 200mm Cooler Master Fans
Asus Crosshair III Formula
AMD Phenom II 955BE
(3.6 ghz, 1.350v, NB 1.25v @ 2400 MHZ, 52c)
Scythe Mugen 2 w/ 2 120mm fans
4gb Corsair DDR3
Diamond ATI Radeon 5750
22" HP w2207h @1680x1050
DrJack55 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-06-10, 09:44 PM   #10
CgS Drone
Member

 
CgS Drone's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SLC, UT.

 
Looking at your cpu temp in you sig it looks like that is going to be your next roadblock. I'm guessing that is at load?

__________________
C2D E8500, Gigabyte EP45-UD3P-------------955BE, TA890FXE, Cooler Master GX 750
Cooler Master 212+, Corsair 750TX----------HAF 932, Noctua D-14
HyperX T1 1066 5-5-5-15 (2x2GB)----------Geil Black Dragon (2x2GB)
MSI GTX 260, Raptor 75gb.------------------Gigabyte GTX 460, Seagate 500gb

>>>>>>>HeatWare<<<<<<<
CgS Drone is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-06-10, 09:52 PM Thread Starter   #11
DrJack55

 
DrJack55's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Roseville, CA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by CgS Drone View Post
Looking at your cpu temp in you sig it looks like that is going to be your next roadblock. I'm guessing that is at load?
As soon as I go to 3.8 it jumps to 57 and then gets unstable. I don't that's the PS as it's now the Corsair 750 and I'm nowhere near reaching peak on that. 3.7 runs at 55 just about. I can get it sort of stable, but I think I'm missing something as increasing voltage doesn't improve stability.

True though, I think I might need to get a better air cooler than this Zalman 9700. Either that or go liquid, but I don't know if I can afford to put out that much money for a custom setup.

__________________
Corsair TX750 Power Supply
Cooler Master HAF 922
3x 200mm Cooler Master Fans
Asus Crosshair III Formula
AMD Phenom II 955BE
(3.6 ghz, 1.350v, NB 1.25v @ 2400 MHZ, 52c)
Scythe Mugen 2 w/ 2 120mm fans
4gb Corsair DDR3
Diamond ATI Radeon 5750
22" HP w2207h @1680x1050
DrJack55 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-06-10, 10:06 PM   #12
CgS Drone
Member

 
CgS Drone's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SLC, UT.

 
How hard are you planning on pushing the cpu? are you planning on going for 4.0 or stopping at 3.8?

3.8 on mine was fairly easy and I didn't have much issue with heat, but to get 3.9 and 4.0 I had to start pushing the juice to it and getting a good deal of heat at that point.

57C, is this at load or at idle?

__________________
C2D E8500, Gigabyte EP45-UD3P-------------955BE, TA890FXE, Cooler Master GX 750
Cooler Master 212+, Corsair 750TX----------HAF 932, Noctua D-14
HyperX T1 1066 5-5-5-15 (2x2GB)----------Geil Black Dragon (2x2GB)
MSI GTX 260, Raptor 75gb.------------------Gigabyte GTX 460, Seagate 500gb

>>>>>>>HeatWare<<<<<<<
CgS Drone is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-06-10, 10:11 PM Thread Starter   #13
DrJack55

 
DrJack55's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Roseville, CA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by CgS Drone View Post
How hard are you planning on pushing the cpu? are you planning on going for 4.0 or stopping at 3.8?

3.8 on mine was fairly easy and I didn't have much issue with heat, but to get 3.9 and 4.0 I had to start pushing the juice to it and getting a good deal of heat at that point.

57C, is this at load or at idle?
I'd like to get to 24/7 3.8, with the ability to get to 4.0 for no other reason than to break that psychological barrier.

Load, all temps I've posted are load, unless otherwise stated. Load after running Prime 95 for about 20-30 minutes.

__________________
Corsair TX750 Power Supply
Cooler Master HAF 922
3x 200mm Cooler Master Fans
Asus Crosshair III Formula
AMD Phenom II 955BE
(3.6 ghz, 1.350v, NB 1.25v @ 2400 MHZ, 52c)
Scythe Mugen 2 w/ 2 120mm fans
4gb Corsair DDR3
Diamond ATI Radeon 5750
22" HP w2207h @1680x1050
DrJack55 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-06-10, 10:16 PM Thread Starter   #14
DrJack55

 
DrJack55's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Roseville, CA

 
Oh, been reading Dolk's guide and I think I found my answer for instability if it's not related to temperature. NB Speed and Voltage. It's not at stock, but it's not as high as what is shown on his charts for the 940. I'm only at 2200 and 1.3 respectively.

__________________
Corsair TX750 Power Supply
Cooler Master HAF 922
3x 200mm Cooler Master Fans
Asus Crosshair III Formula
AMD Phenom II 955BE
(3.6 ghz, 1.350v, NB 1.25v @ 2400 MHZ, 52c)
Scythe Mugen 2 w/ 2 120mm fans
4gb Corsair DDR3
Diamond ATI Radeon 5750
22" HP w2207h @1680x1050
DrJack55 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-06-10, 10:19 PM   #15
CgS Drone
Member

 
CgS Drone's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SLC, UT.

 
Ya try 2400 and if that doesn't work go for 2600 on CPU-NB. Also you can drop the HT down to 1800 and try to see if that helps if raising the CPU-NB doesn't do it.

Are you doing the OC strictly on the cpu multiplier? and what about your RAM voltage/timing/freq?

__________________
C2D E8500, Gigabyte EP45-UD3P-------------955BE, TA890FXE, Cooler Master GX 750
Cooler Master 212+, Corsair 750TX----------HAF 932, Noctua D-14
HyperX T1 1066 5-5-5-15 (2x2GB)----------Geil Black Dragon (2x2GB)
MSI GTX 260, Raptor 75gb.------------------Gigabyte GTX 460, Seagate 500gb

>>>>>>>HeatWare<<<<<<<
CgS Drone is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-06-10, 10:31 PM Thread Starter   #16
DrJack55

 
DrJack55's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Roseville, CA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by CgS Drone View Post
Ya try 2400 and if that doesn't work go for 2600 on CPU-NB. Also you can drop the HT down to 1800 and try to see if that helps if raising the CPU-NB doesn't do it.

Are you doing the OC strictly on the cpu multiplier? and what about your RAM voltage/timing/freq?
CPU multiplier. Any time I try to ef with RAM, the whole OC gets unstable. The timings are set to spec and the freq is at 1333, even though it's 1600 Ram.

__________________
Corsair TX750 Power Supply
Cooler Master HAF 922
3x 200mm Cooler Master Fans
Asus Crosshair III Formula
AMD Phenom II 955BE
(3.6 ghz, 1.350v, NB 1.25v @ 2400 MHZ, 52c)
Scythe Mugen 2 w/ 2 120mm fans
4gb Corsair DDR3
Diamond ATI Radeon 5750
22" HP w2207h @1680x1050
DrJack55 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-06-10, 10:38 PM   #17
CgS Drone
Member

 
CgS Drone's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SLC, UT.

 
cpu-z spd screen shot?

and cpu-z memory screen shot?

__________________
C2D E8500, Gigabyte EP45-UD3P-------------955BE, TA890FXE, Cooler Master GX 750
Cooler Master 212+, Corsair 750TX----------HAF 932, Noctua D-14
HyperX T1 1066 5-5-5-15 (2x2GB)----------Geil Black Dragon (2x2GB)
MSI GTX 260, Raptor 75gb.------------------Gigabyte GTX 460, Seagate 500gb

>>>>>>>HeatWare<<<<<<<
CgS Drone is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-06-10, 11:53 PM Thread Starter   #18
DrJack55

 
DrJack55's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Roseville, CA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by CgS Drone View Post
cpu-z spd screen shot?

and cpu-z memory screen shot?




__________________
Corsair TX750 Power Supply
Cooler Master HAF 922
3x 200mm Cooler Master Fans
Asus Crosshair III Formula
AMD Phenom II 955BE
(3.6 ghz, 1.350v, NB 1.25v @ 2400 MHZ, 52c)
Scythe Mugen 2 w/ 2 120mm fans
4gb Corsair DDR3
Diamond ATI Radeon 5750
22" HP w2207h @1680x1050
DrJack55 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-07-10, 12:13 AM Thread Starter   #19
DrJack55

 
DrJack55's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Roseville, CA

 
It seems to run alright at 3.7Ghz. All the same as prior screenshots, but I've dropped voltage to 1.375 and it appears to still be running stable on Prime95. Temps were 55/56c at 1.4v, now they are 54c at 1.375.

__________________
Corsair TX750 Power Supply
Cooler Master HAF 922
3x 200mm Cooler Master Fans
Asus Crosshair III Formula
AMD Phenom II 955BE
(3.6 ghz, 1.350v, NB 1.25v @ 2400 MHZ, 52c)
Scythe Mugen 2 w/ 2 120mm fans
4gb Corsair DDR3
Diamond ATI Radeon 5750
22" HP w2207h @1680x1050
DrJack55 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-07-10, 12:28 AM   #20
QuietIce
Disabled



Join Date: May 2006
Location: Anywhere but there

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrJack55 View Post
Oh, been reading Dolk's guide and I think I found my answer for instability if it's not related to temperature. NB Speed and Voltage. It's not at stock, but it's not as high as what is shown on his charts for the 940. I'm only at 2200 and 1.3 respectively.
I'm really quite surprised you need that much cpuNB VID for your 955BE. Those chips seem to OC with less voltage than the 940BE (as they should since the process is older). Can't get a stable 2400 MHz at ~1.225 cpuNB VID? It would sure help the temps if you could.


Also, if you don't mind my asking, what SETI username do you have ...?
QuietIce is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?