Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

rough time reaching 220bclk

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-09-10, 07:12 AM Thread Starter   #1
transpro61181
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dallas Tx

 
rough time reaching 220bclk


CPU-i7 930 DO
Board-R3E
Ram Corsair Dominator 1866

I was wondering if anyone is reaching a stable bclk of 220 and higher with this setup at reasonable qpi/vvt voltages. I was able to achieve it last night, BUT i had to raise the DRAM volts to 1.70 and the Qpi/VTT up to 1.59. I booted to windows but shut down and went back to 200 bclk, because i was VERY uncomfortable with my QPI/VVT that high. Any recommendations anyone
transpro61181 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 09-09-10, 07:15 AM   #2
dejo
Senior Moment Senior Member

 
dejo's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Tyler, Texas

10 Year Badge
 
when you get the uncore up very high you are more than likely going to have to raise the vtt up to roughly were you had it set. for me to get over 2000 on memory which puts uncore at 4000 or more I have to give 1.56-1.6 on the vtt. if you back the memory down to 1600 you can prolly get away with around 1.45 on the vtt

__________________
if it screams, crank it. if it cries, kill it

Asrock z77 ex6
2600k @4.8ghz
Samsung 2x4gb rams
OCZ Vertex4 256gb ssd
EVGA GTX480
Sparkle 1250 gold PSU
Arc Midi case
dejo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-10, 07:50 AM Thread Starter   #3
transpro61181
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dallas Tx

 
yeah there is just a lot of mixed opinions about how much is the max on that vvt voltage. many say never to go above 1.4. I know overclocking will reduce the life of the processor, but i dont want nothing catastrophic to happen to it. I dont plan on letting it run 24-7 with that overclock, at the same time i would like at least a year or two of life from the processor at that voltage
transpro61181 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-10, 07:59 AM   #4
nzaneb
Senior Member

 
nzaneb's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Indiana

 
Voltage is primarily relative. If you can dissipate the heat generated by the extra voltage, then the chips lifespan should not be negatively effected.

What type of cooling are you on, and what were your temperatures?

1.4V? That is not high at all.

__________________
N-Zane-B
Forging the way for Overclockers.com World Domination
Join us on the benching team
!

nzaneb is offline Author Profile Benching Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-10, 08:12 AM Thread Starter   #5
transpro61181
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dallas Tx

 
here is my current specs i7 930 D0 oc to 4.2ghz
bclk 200
multi 21
cpu core 1.334
cpu pll 1.812
qpi/dram 1.317
ioh 1.203
ioh/pcie 1.509
ich 1.151
ich/pcie 1.508
dram 1.642

all of this verified on probelt with dvom. system at idle

I have a very nice w/c setup dd cpu and gpu block/gtx 480rad w/d5 laing pump 1/2tubing

i just ran prime 95 for an hour with these settings and had 72 degree C max temp on coretemp. idle temps are 39-41C
transpro61181 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-10, 08:53 AM   #6
nzaneb
Senior Member

 
nzaneb's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Indiana

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by transpro61181 View Post
here is my current specs i7 930 D0 oc to 4.2ghz
bclk 200
multi 21
cpu core 1.334
cpu pll 1.812
qpi/dram 1.317
ioh 1.203
ioh/pcie 1.509
ich 1.151
ich/pcie 1.508
dram 1.642

all of this verified on probelt with dvom. system at idle

I have a very nice w/c setup dd cpu and gpu block/gtx 480rad w/d5 laing pump 1/2tubing

i just ran prime 95 for an hour with these settings and had 72 degree C max temp on coretemp. idle temps are 39-41C
That is a perfect little setup right there You're right in the sweet spot for the 920/930, with decenlty low voltages, and temps under control... you're lookin good. You might be able to lower your CPU Vcore a bit, but other than that... you're spot on

The only time I would deviate from those settings, is if you were going to start benchmarking... in which case, a lot of things start to change. I'm relatively sure you're rock solid stable right now.

Regarding your 220 base clock question. A slight bump in PCIe frequency might aid you in reaching 220 bclk (101-103) Once you go over 220, expect to give it 110-115. Really I'd say anything over where you're currently at, is VERY chip dependent (as far a stability is concerned) 4-4.2ghz stable is cake for these chips, 4.2-4.4 stable takes a pretty good chip, 4.4-4.6 stable takes a great chip.

__________________
N-Zane-B
Forging the way for Overclockers.com World Domination
Join us on the benching team
!

nzaneb is offline Author Profile Benching Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-10, 09:02 AM Thread Starter   #7
transpro61181
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dallas Tx

 
yeah its definately a very stable setup..until i try to increase bclk. My goal is 220 bclk. I want to increase bclk so my memory can run at the proper speed. right now its at 1600 and i want it to get as close to 1866 as possible. At this bclk i can only go 1600 or 2005 mhz. What is the maximum "somewhat" safe qpi/vvt voltage i can do?..cause i had to get awful close to 1.6v for the qpi/vvt and 1.70 on the dram to get a post
transpro61181 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-10, 09:11 AM   #8
nzaneb
Senior Member

 
nzaneb's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Indiana

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by transpro61181 View Post
At this bclk i can only go 1600 or 2005 mhz. What is the maximum "somewhat" safe qpi/vvt voltage i can do?..cause i had to get awful close to 1.6v for the qpi/vvt and 1.70 on the dram to get a post
I'm a Bencher... so my definition of safe... is a lot different than other. So I'll leave that question for someone else.

As far as the RAM goes. I'd just run it at 1600. You will NEVER notice the difference between 1600 and 1866. If anything... I'd try to tighten the timings down a little bit at 1600, and you'll outperform the rated specs You will notice changes in timings as opposed to small changes in speed.

__________________
N-Zane-B
Forging the way for Overclockers.com World Domination
Join us on the benching team
!

nzaneb is offline Author Profile Benching Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-10, 09:52 AM Thread Starter   #9
transpro61181
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dallas Tx

 
Considering the fact that i am a complete oc noob, i think im doing pretty good. I have had this rig for 2 months now and did extensive research and just a few days ago actually started overclocking. Im going to take ur advise and leave it at 1600. Just a couple more questions though. 1. Is 200 bclk considered low in the overclocking community for my rig, cause i know bclk is pretty much the entire foundation of the overclocking process and many people boast 220 and 230bclk with this chip and board on water. 2. what timing do you recommend for the ram. Right now it is at 9-9-9-24.
transpro61181 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-10, 11:10 AM Thread Starter   #10
transpro61181
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dallas Tx

 
so would 7-7-7-24 be too extreme for 1866mhz ram running at 1600mhz?
transpro61181 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-10, 12:30 PM   #11
nzaneb
Senior Member

 
nzaneb's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Indiana

 
Can you link me to the exact sticks you bought?

__________________
N-Zane-B
Forging the way for Overclockers.com World Domination
Join us on the benching team
!

nzaneb is offline Author Profile Benching Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-10, 12:37 PM Thread Starter   #12
transpro61181
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dallas Tx

 
CMT6GX3M3A1866C9 is the number on the side of my sticks
transpro61181 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-10, 12:38 PM Thread Starter   #13
transpro61181
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dallas Tx

 
I set the timings to 8-8-8-24 and so far 15 min into prime 95 with max memory test its stable. Think I could get it tighter?
transpro61181 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-10, 12:57 PM   #14
psionic98
Member


 
psionic98's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: 4th Floor office, East Coast

 
trial and error my friend.. try it at all 7s.. if it doesnt post try 8-7-7-8-24.. vary the combos and you might be suprised!

and 200 bclk is fine.. its standard, but if you can up the multi instead its almost as good!

and the diff between 4.2 and say 4.4 and even 4.6 would probably not be super noticable to most apps.. its more bragging rights.. and if you wanted to do that you could just fib! I mean.. cmon I can do 5.5@1.1v!!!

__________________
EVGA x58 Micro (756) / i7 D0 @ 4.0, 1.278v w/HT (Air)
2x 300GB V-rap raid0, WD Caviar Black 640GB & 1TB
HIS 6950 @ 840/1450
Mushkin 6GB @ 6-7-6-18
/ Enermax 720 Modular
HAF 922 / Noctua D14Win7 Pro x64 / Mint 10
HEAT
i7(x58) OC'ing/Info
/ AMD Oc'ing/Info / C2D/C2Q OC'ing/Info
Recommended Power Supply Listing
psionic98 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-10, 01:03 PM   #15
nzaneb
Senior Member

 
nzaneb's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Indiana

 
7's might be pushing it for those Dom's... if they were GT's they would do it easily. Doesn't hurt to try though Keep us updated

__________________
N-Zane-B
Forging the way for Overclockers.com World Domination
Join us on the benching team
!

nzaneb is offline Author Profile Benching Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-10, 02:10 PM Thread Starter   #16
transpro61181
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dallas Tx

 
DAMN I should have done more research on the ram purchase cause i thought i got the best
transpro61181 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-10, 02:28 PM   #17
nzaneb
Senior Member

 
nzaneb's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Indiana

 
If you're buying corsair, Dominator GT's, are the superior sticks. No problem though. Push what you've got, you'll probably be surprised .
CL7 1600mhz are standard timings for good Ram... shoot for that.

__________________
N-Zane-B
Forging the way for Overclockers.com World Domination
Join us on the benching team
!

nzaneb is offline Author Profile Benching Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-10-10, 10:55 AM Thread Starter   #18
transpro61181
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dallas Tx

 
UPDATE: I took a closer look at the ram and they are GT's! but heres the wierd thing, the numbers on the side of the ram say cmt6gx3m3a1866c9, but memtest v4.1 list all three of the sticks as cmt6gx3m3a2000c8. Does this mean the manufacturer had a misprint on the stick and i actually got 2000mhz ram instead, cause that would be SO AWESOME!
transpro61181 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-10-10, 12:18 PM   #19
nzaneb
Senior Member

 
nzaneb's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Indiana

 
What does CPU-Z say? Are they Black and Blue or Black and Red?

__________________
N-Zane-B
Forging the way for Overclockers.com World Domination
Join us on the benching team
!

nzaneb is offline Author Profile Benching Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-10-10, 01:02 PM Thread Starter   #20
transpro61181
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dallas Tx

 
cpu z says cmt6gx3m3a2000c8 and they are black and red. right now my timings are 7-7-7-24 and passed memtest86 v1.4 with no errors and so far one hour on prime 95 on max memory test as i speak =)
transpro61181 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?