Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

System Freezing

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-09-02, 06:39 PM Thread Starter   #1
lamarmoore
New Member



Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: georgia usa

 
System Freezing


When i leave my PC on for several minutes the screen goes black and i cant get it to open correctly. When i toggle the keyboard then the screen opens but it still is black background with stripped colors distorted. Is there a setting in CMOS or somewhere i can stop this
Thanks for any help

Windows 98 SE Plus
AMD 1800XP
Abit KR7A133 NO RAID
Maxtor 20GB 133ATA 7200RPM
512 MB Kingston Ram
Elsa Gladiac Ultra 64MB DDR GFORCE2
Hercules FortiSSimo2 sound card
Lian-Li USB60 PC Tower
Enermax 465 PS
lamarmoore is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-09-02, 07:17 PM   #2
Diggrr
Underwater Senior Member

 
Diggrr's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Gun Lake, MI. USA

10 Year Badge
 
Hey, Welcome to the forums!

Hit Start> Settings> Control Panel> Power Management.

Change settings to not turn off the monitor and such. It sounds like you have a nonstandard monitor that doesn't support suspend. (or doesn't do it properly)

You could also check the manufacturer's web site for new drivers and reinstall them. Remove your present monitor in hardware manager first. Rightclick on "my computer" icon, select properties.
Then hit the second tab at the top the new window.
Select display devices, then highlight your monitor, right click and select remove.
Then run the new drivers program.

__________________
Rig1: C2D E8400 @3510 Ф Asus P5G41T-M-LX Plus mobo Ф 8 Gigs Ballistix DDR3 1333 Ф Asus GT520 Silent Ф 4 Deep Cool 92mm case fans Ф FSP 1U 460 Watt PSU
External Watercooling: 40' Copper Coil Geothermal ground loop Ф Cooling modded MCP350 & MCP355 W/Swiftech white dual pump top Ф D-Tek Fuzion V2, 1/4"

Rig2: Via Esther C7 1.5 @ 1.65 Ф Jetway 7F2WE1G5D mITX mobo Ф 1 Gig Generic Ram (max) Ф 120 watt Pico PSU.

Life's Tragedy is that we get old too soon and wise too late. ~ Benjamin Franklin

Last edited by Diggrr; 02-09-02 at 07:22 PM.
Diggrr is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-09-02, 07:22 PM Thread Starter   #3
lamarmoore
New Member



Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: georgia usa

 
THANK YOU VERY MUCH
my monitor is an EIZO 17 in TXC7 made by NANAO mostly used for High End Cad/Drafting /Architect etc..yet is very good for Gaming and graphics are GREAT
lamarmoore is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-09-02, 07:32 PM   #4
Diggrr
Underwater Senior Member

 
Diggrr's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Gun Lake, MI. USA

10 Year Badge
 
Oh, I didn't mean non standard to sound like it was a cheap monitor, it just may not follow the standard for power management.
Really it sounds like quite a good one, I'd try hunting down the drivers first, and reinstalling them.

__________________
Rig1: C2D E8400 @3510 Ф Asus P5G41T-M-LX Plus mobo Ф 8 Gigs Ballistix DDR3 1333 Ф Asus GT520 Silent Ф 4 Deep Cool 92mm case fans Ф FSP 1U 460 Watt PSU
External Watercooling: 40' Copper Coil Geothermal ground loop Ф Cooling modded MCP350 & MCP355 W/Swiftech white dual pump top Ф D-Tek Fuzion V2, 1/4"

Rig2: Via Esther C7 1.5 @ 1.65 Ф Jetway 7F2WE1G5D mITX mobo Ф 1 Gig Generic Ram (max) Ф 120 watt Pico PSU.

Life's Tragedy is that we get old too soon and wise too late. ~ Benjamin Franklin
Diggrr is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-09-02, 07:35 PM   #5
Legionnaire
Member

 
Legionnaire's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Behind you with an AWP

 
Sounds like you built your system yourself, and it seems like it kicks of a lot of heat.

Try running it with your sides off, to eliminate the possibility of a heat problem.
Legionnaire is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-09-02, 09:30 PM Thread Starter   #6
lamarmoore
New Member



Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: georgia usa

 
Thanks again im downloading latest drivers now.

Most people have never heard of Nanao mostly because they are not used much in the commerical market rather they are used in the Higher end of the professional market

they are a little pricey yet you pay for what ya get
buy cheap monitor u GET cheap monitor

Yes i got both sides off now LOL Legionare and they usually stay off most of the time

Thanks Again for all the advice
lamarmoore is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-10-02, 01:38 AM   #7
MiseryQ
Member

 
MiseryQ's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002

 
When you say "you leave your pc on"... Do you mean you leave it as not doing anything or anytime the computers on...

I had that problem awhile ago when I was OC my video card... Could the card be running hot?!?
MiseryQ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-10-02, 07:23 AM Thread Starter   #8
lamarmoore
New Member



Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: georgia usa

 
Leaving it idle for around 15 minutes so i set the power management like diggrr advised and it resolved the problem
nothing is overclocked it is fast enough as is lol
Thanks

im new to overclockers forum yet glad i came
LOTS of helpful people around with good advice

lamarmoore is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-10-02, 08:45 AM   #9
PsycoPhreak
Member



Join Date: Dec 2001

 
The Nano's/Eizo's are great monitors, and yes they are a bit pricey but, there are few manufacturers that can compare to the quality, image and features that these monitors offer.

I have an older NANO Flexscan F550i, the dual inputs on it are a plus.... can use the standard 15 pin D-Sub connector for one system, and use the BNC connectors for another...just a touch of a button and you can switch between 2 systems that have different resolutions, timings, etc...

right now its sitting on a table waiting for me to replace a small power transistor, it still works, but only when the temp in the room its in is fairly low (say about 50 deg. F.)

If your seeing screen corruption, first place to look would be video card, as the monitor only displays whatever its fed from the video card, heat probably is the culprit, or driver issue.
PsycoPhreak is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?