Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

[O/C]AMD Phenom II X2 560 BE Review

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-05-10, 08:45 AM Thread Starter   #1
Overclockers.com

 
Overclockers.com's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 1998

 
[O/C]AMD Phenom II X2 560 BE Review


AMD Phenom II X2 560 BE Review
by (splat)


Quote:
Processors with unlocked multipliers are sort of like the Holy Grail of overclocking. AMD’s Black Edition (BE) chips, similar to the Intel K series, offer this versatility to enthusiasts. Recently, AMD introduced several new processors and one of these is the Phenom II X2 560 BE. This is just a small increase in stock multiplier above the existing Phenom II X2 555 BE processor (16.5 vs. 16) and a small increase in price ($105 vs. $88), but the silicon should be stronger which should result in better overclocking and core unlocking.
... Return to the article to continue reading.

Digg | Reddit | StumbleUpon

Discuss this article below. If you are interested in contributing to the front page (www.overclockers.com), please feel free to contact splat, mdcomp, or hokiealumnus. For the latest updates, follow Overclockers.com on Twitter (@Overclockerscom).

Last edited by splat; 10-05-10 at 10:08 AM.
Overclockers.com is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-05-10, 09:50 AM   #2
JackNSally



Join Date: May 2005

 
You have the multi for the 555 BE wrong. It should say 16, not 15. Otherwise, nice article.

__________________
Main- 2500k@4988MHz (50x99.7MHz), 2x4GB Gskill RipJaws, Asus GTX 680
MPGS-Q6600@3GHz, 4x2GB Crucial, GTX 260
Steam ID- jacknsally
Heatware
JackNSally is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-05-10, 10:07 AM   #3
splat
ASCII Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor


 
splat's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Philly

10 Year Badge
 
you are correct, thanks for spotting the typo

__________________
______________________________/\/\__________________/\/\_____
_______/\/\/\/\__/\/\/\/\____/\/\____/\/\/\______/\/\/\/\/\__
____/\/\/\/\____/\/\__/\/\__/\/\________/\/\______/\/\_______
_________/\/\__/\/\/\/\____/\/\____/\/\/\/\______/\/\________
__/\/\/\/\____/\/\________/\/\/\__/\/\/\/\/\____/\/\/\_______
_____________/\/\___________
once you clock you can't go stock
[RHCSA, RHCE] || articles || folding stats || overclockers last.fm group

splat is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-06-10, 02:30 PM   #4
QuietIce
Disabled



Join Date: May 2006
Location: Anywhere but there

 
Solid info - thanks for sharing ...
QuietIce is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-11-10, 12:44 PM   #5
Zzyzx
New Member



Join Date: Oct 2010

 
Thumbs up


I just built my new rig around this chip.

I bought the AMD 560 on PR sale @ Fry's for $80! I popped it into my new ASUS CROSSHAIR IV Formula mobo($195)and it unlock a 3rd core, so I have an x3 B60 CPU core. What's great about my piece of silicon is, I've have it at 4.2Ghz @1.40v. Yes, 4.2Ghz @ 1.4 volts running Sandra Lite & Prime 95 no problems for 2 hours (temps 42-45c)!

I must be really selfish, because I wanted the 4th core to unlock, but now, I realize it's more important to have a solid chip that overclocks higher and at lower voltages. I currently have a Zalman copper 9700 which is an okay average cooler, got it brand new for $20 mounted with IC 7 Carat paste. When I get my Lian Li B71 rig($150) complete with additional/better cooling fans and a good CPU cooler, I'll run my OC tests.

I say the deal/value with this AMD Phenom II x2 560 BE is EXCELLENT... would of been OUSTANDING if the 4th core unlock. I know I'll be able to run this 560 running 4.5Ghz in the future.

Very Happy
Zzyzx is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-12-10, 09:36 AM   #6
ScrewySqrl
Member

 
ScrewySqrl's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NC

 
"but benchmarks never lie…"

I've alreays been of the opinion that there are lies, damn lies, statistics, and THEN benchmarks.

ScrewySqrl is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-12-10, 04:08 PM   #7
QuietIce
Disabled



Join Date: May 2006
Location: Anywhere but there

 
QuietIce is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-15-10, 12:35 PM   #8
Max0r
Member

 
Max0r's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScrewySqrl View Post
I've alreays been of the opinion that there are lies, damn lies, statistics, and THEN benchmarks.

Yea, nothing like getting nice benchmark score increases, then opening up your games and getting the same FPS

Max0r is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-15-10, 12:38 PM   #9
hokiealumnus
Water Cooled Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor

 
hokiealumnus's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Max0r View Post
Yea, nothing like getting nice benchmark score increases, then opening up your games and getting the same FPS
Well...benchmark scores are measured in the thousands typically. Games are measured in the dozens, if that. It's harder to increase one FPS than it is 100 points. FWIW.

__________________

Enjoy benchmarks? Join the benching team! | New to water cooling? Read the Beginner's Guide to Water Cooling Your PC.

xsuperbgx - "As a wise man once said: "Less talky. More clocky."" | cyberfish - "When overclocked, it's undefined behavior."
I.M.O.G. - "Vaseline on Ivy Bridge is a bad idea. But not so bad of an idea that it can't be fixed with a torpedo heater, a dishwasher, an oven, and a few hours. "

\m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ - Join Now! - My mITX Build
hokiealumnus is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-15-10, 03:24 PM   #10
QuietIce
Disabled



Join Date: May 2006
Location: Anywhere but there

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by hokiealumnus View Post
Well...benchmark scores are measured in the thousands typically. Games are measured in the dozens, if that. It's harder to increase one FPS than it is 100 points. FWIW.
That's why I always try to look at them in terms of percent increase/decrease between scores. It keeps me more focused on what is actually happening rather than getting stuck in that numbers game. "Oh, look, those settings gave me 100 points more than those other settings!"

(Yeah, 100 out of 20,000 - big deal. There's more error in the test than that! )
QuietIce is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?