• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Watts Amps Question Video Card

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Scott12345

Registered
Hi i own a 9600GT 512Meg KFA Galaxy Video card
supposably i need 95 Watts with 26A?
but 26 times 12 = 312Watts???

i was reading this on tomshardwareguide is it true?
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/geforce-radeon-power,2122-6.html
so would i be safe by saying the 9600GT that i own uses
95/12=7.91 AMPS?

i am asking this question because i bought a computer ripped out the GTS450 106Watt 22amps

and i want to add the 9600GT 95Watt 26amps and sell it for what i bought it for and its still a good deal at least i hope the power supply will work

see why im confused the 450 uses more watts and less amps than the 9600GT??

im new to this amps thing

Case with 2 120mm fans that light up one on motherboard
500gig barracuda hard drive
E8400 3.0Ghz
Asus P5Q Pro
dvdrw
2 usb devices
TR 430 Watt Power supply/29Amps (was reading about this thing yucky)

the power supply is brand new it came with a receipt from last month

will my power supply be ok? it is all i have to work with or a crappy 500watt/20amp ugly powerlink psu that i dont trust.

Since they both have the same voltage, it is impossible for the 9600 to use more amperage if the wattage is lower.

Watts / Voltage = Amperage
95 watts @ 12v = 7.9 amps
106 watts @ 12v = 8.8 amps

ok thanks i wanted to confirm that, because on multiple websites people keeps saying you need a lot AMPS.

which power supply should i go with the crap 500watt powerlink, or the Thermaltake TR-430w which i've read is also crappy?

how long do you figure the 430watt will last its rated at 65% not one of the 80+
powerlink dont seem to have a rating website or anything so ill say its 0% lol

corsair isnt an option
its either 500watt powerlink 20a