Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

Upgrading from Nvidia 9800 GT

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-01-10, 04:11 PM Thread Starter   #1
Darknecron
Member

 
Darknecron's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Glide, Oregon - pronounced "Orehgun," not "Oreygawn," you plebeians.

 
Upgrading from Nvidia 9800 GT


I am surprised how well my OCed 9800 GT (700/1750/1000) has performed, even in the more recent games (ie: Bad Company 2, Mass Effect 2), but it is starting to show its age. I am looking to buy a card able to run Bad Company 2 Maxed out (All high, 4xAA, 8xAF, HBAO on) in 1440x900 resolution while still maintaining 60+ frames. I have done my research and here is the question:

Should I go with a GTX 470, GTX 460 1gb, HD 6870, or HD 6850?

My specs are here:
Intel core 2 quad 2.83ghz ==> Here
4 gigs DDR2 RAM
580 watt PSU
500 gig hard drive
Generic 1440x900 monitor
1 side , 1 front , and 1 rear fan

I am currently leaning towards the GTX 470.

I do not think my quad core would cause any bottlenecking.

Last edited by Darknecron; 11-02-10 at 09:47 AM.
Darknecron is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-01-10, 04:36 PM   #2
Knufire
Senior Member

 
Knufire's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Terre Haute, IN

 
I run it max settings at 1280x1024 at only around 40ish FPS with a OCed 4890. So, you'd need something over double as powerful, which is NOT a 460, and probably not a 6850.

__________________
i7-920 3.8 Ghz | Venomous-X w/ Panaflo HS | Sapphire Vapor-X 4890
EVGA X58 SLI LE | 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 | 500GB Samsung OEM | Rosewill 850w | Thermaltake Armor Series | OCZ Vertex 2 60GB

Secondary Rig:
CM Elite 430 | A8-3870K stock | Radeon HD 6670 | 500GB WD Caviar Blue | 4GB G.SKILL DDR3-1333 | ASUS A55

Knufire is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-01-10, 04:40 PM Thread Starter   #3
Darknecron
Member

 
Darknecron's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Glide, Oregon - pronounced "Orehgun," not "Oreygawn," you plebeians.

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knufire View Post
I run it max settings at 1280x1024 at only around 40ish FPS with a OCed 4890. So, you'd need something over double as powerful, which is NOT a 460, and probably not a 6850.
Which is why im leaning for the GTX 470...it literally has 4 times the stream processors as my card.
Darknecron is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-01-10, 09:37 PM   #4
don'tknow
Member



Join Date: Sep 2008

 
Either the HD 6870 or GTX 470 will do. But you'll be bottlenecked by your CPU and I doubt you can get 60 fps with those settings. BFBC2's engine is very CPU-dependent and scales well with multiple cores... so if you OC to around 3.6 ghz or above, that will make a big difference.

__________________
Asus P5Q Pro
Q9550 E0 @ 3.8 Ghz 1.25v
XFX RHD 5850 (max stable 1025/1225/1.33v)
6GB G.Skill PC8500
Corsair 550VX
Windows7 Ultimate x64
don'tknow is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-02-10, 05:14 AM   #5
Cuiiey
Member

 
Cuiiey's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Melbourne Australia

 
GTX 470 without a doubt, but if your going to be Overclocking your CPU as don'tknow suggested you should. Might want to look over your PSU, possibly purchase a larger one if it is not of a quality brand

__________________
My system ------> Mobo: Asus Sabertooth|CPU: i7 950|HDD: WD 750GB 5400rpm green, 808.08GB 7200rpm|GFX:CF XFX 6870 1GB|RAM: 6GB RipJaws 8-8-8-20|PSU: Antec TP Quattro 800W|OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64|Mouse/KB: Razer DeathAdder V2/Razer Lycosa
Cuiiey is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-02-10, 05:28 AM   #6
e6600

 
e6600's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Los Angeles

 
at that resolution, a 6850 or 460 should be fine
the 470gtx offers really good price/performance, but i doubt the 580w psu and that c2d might bottleneck it at those clocks

__________________
Heat
e6600 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-02-10, 09:18 AM Thread Starter   #7
Darknecron
Member

 
Darknecron's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Glide, Oregon - pronounced "Orehgun," not "Oreygawn," you plebeians.

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by don'tknow View Post
Either the HD 6870 or GTX 470 will do. But you'll be bottlenecked by your CPU and I doubt you can get 60 fps with those settings. BFBC2's engine is very CPU-dependent and scales well with multiple cores... so if you OC to around 3.6 ghz or above, that will make a big difference.
Quote:
Originally Posted by e6600 View Post
at that resolution, a 6850 or 460 should be fine
the 470gtx offers really good price/performance, but i doubt the 580w psu and that c2d might bottleneck it at those clocks

You think a quad core will bottleneck a GTX 470? I never would have guessed. O_o

Last edited by Darknecron; 11-02-10 at 12:10 PM.
Darknecron is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-02-10, 05:46 PM   #8
Cuiiey
Member

 
Cuiiey's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Melbourne Australia

 
Its the speed and frequency of your CPU not how many cores you have that determines the bottle neck. At your current speed you would bottle neck most new midrage/high end Graphics cards right now.
Cuiiey is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-02-10, 06:46 PM   #9
repilce

 
repilce's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: E600000 - E60000FF

10 Year Badge
 
Get the 470 imho, and then make that yorkfeild do what it was born to do.. 4ghz.. glancing at your specs i would agree with the PSU check with running that card and oc'n.. and ofcourse anything else.. but you'll breath a lot more of life into that thing even with a mild 3's OC

and to the forums!

__________________

X5670 @ 3.6ghz / P6T Deluxe / 3 x 4GB Ripjaw 1333 c7 / HD6950

Black belt Ubercloxx0r My Heat
repilce is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-02-10, 09:10 PM Thread Starter   #10
Darknecron
Member

 
Darknecron's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Glide, Oregon - pronounced "Orehgun," not "Oreygawn," you plebeians.

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cuiiey View Post
Its the speed and frequency of your CPU not how many cores you have that determines the bottle neck. At your current speed you would bottle neck most new midrage/high end Graphics cards right now.
I see...

Quote:
Originally Posted by repilce View Post
Get the 470 imho, and then make that yorkfeild do what it was born to do.. 4ghz.. glancing at your specs i would agree with the PSU check with running that card and oc'n.. and ofcourse anything else.. but you'll breath a lot more of life into that thing even with a mild 3's OC

and to the forums!
What kind of heating issues may I run in to with a core frequency of 3.6 ghz? I have a 80 mm front fan, one 120 mm side fan, and one 80 mm rear fan.
The rear and side fans are as big as they can get, but the front fan will soon be a 120 mm...

And thanks for the welcome.

Last edited by Darknecron; 11-02-10 at 09:37 PM.
Darknecron is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-02-10, 10:32 PM   #11
CompuTamer
Member with Some Fancy Text Under His Name

 
CompuTamer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brandon Mississippi

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darknecron View Post
I see...



What kind of heating issues may I run in to with a core frequency of 3.6 ghz? I have a 80 mm front fan, one 120 mm side fan, and one 80 mm rear fan.
The rear and side fans are as big as they can get, but the front fan will soon be a 120 mm...

And thanks for the welcome.
C2Q at 3.6 may or may not warrant a new heat sink. Some of them run cooler than others. I remember there was one that ran really cool, but can't remember the model number for the life of me :/

__________________
Intel Core i7 C0 @ 4.01GHz with 1.388 vCore ..........................................Intel i7 4500U
Intel DX58SO Motherboard IOH + QPI @ 1.250 Volts..............................Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro
Sony Optiarc Blu-Ray Drive.................................................. ...............802.11AC
8 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 1600 @ 1.65 Volts ...........................................8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RAM
60GB OCZ Solid 3 + 320GB WD Blue+ 1TB WD Green...............................Samsung 250GB SSD
Antec 900.................................................. .......................................All Metal Body
BFG GS-650.................................................. .....................................Lenovo Power Brick + 54Whr Battery
XFX Radeon HD 4850 (660/1060 53C Idle 62C Load) @ 1.31 vCore............Intel HD4400
Dual Dell E2311H LED 1920x1080.................................................. .......13.6" 3200x1800 Touchscreen
Windows 7 Ultimate.................................................. ..........................Windows 8.1
Those specs up there? They're silent. Silence is good. Very good.
Your Core 2 Quad is based off of the Pentium pro in a few ways.
CompuTamer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-02-10, 10:39 PM   #12
xoke

 
xoke's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2010

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cuiiey View Post
Its the speed and frequency of your CPU not how many cores you have that determines the bottle neck. At your current speed you would bottle neck most new midrage/high end Graphics cards right now.
Careful with this one...you are right, but BFBC2 is extremely multi core friendly/hungry. It runs a million times better on a quad than a dual for me. More cores going faster is always a good idea, lol.

__________________
Jiggy X58A-UD7 - Intel i7 920 D0 +4.9ghz - Kingston Hyper-X DDr3 2333 - 2x MSI GTX 480
Jiggy 890FXA-UD5 - AMD 1090t BE +6.0ghz - Mushkin Ridgeback DDr3 2000 - 2x Biostar HD 4890 R.I.P.
Antec TPQ 1200w - Sunbeam Tech Bench - WD Raptors - Koolance v2 - 2x K|ngp|n Tek-9 v6 Slim - ShamWow
xoke is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-03-10, 01:01 AM   #13
Cuiiey
Member

 
Cuiiey's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Melbourne Australia

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by xokeman View Post
Careful with this one...you are right, but BFBC2 is extremely multi core friendly/hungry. It runs a million times better on a quad than a dual for me. More cores going faster is always a good idea, lol.
yeah yeah it is a varying issue as different games stress different parts e.g. RTS being more CPU intense but i was giving a general overview of what bottleneck between GPU and CPU But you have made a good point! Guess these days if you want a power GFX card, you need an equally powerful CPU to balance it out

__________________
My system ------> Mobo: Asus Sabertooth|CPU: i7 950|HDD: WD 750GB 5400rpm green, 808.08GB 7200rpm|GFX:CF XFX 6870 1GB|RAM: 6GB RipJaws 8-8-8-20|PSU: Antec TP Quattro 800W|OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64|Mouse/KB: Razer DeathAdder V2/Razer Lycosa
Cuiiey is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-03-10, 08:21 AM Thread Starter   #14
Darknecron
Member

 
Darknecron's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Glide, Oregon - pronounced "Orehgun," not "Oreygawn," you plebeians.

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by CompuTamer View Post
C2Q at 3.6 may or may not warrant a new heat sink. Some of them run cooler than others. I remember there was one that ran really cool, but can't remember the model number for the life of me :/
So I should be good whith my crappy little fans and stock heatsink?
I was considering this heatsink as a replacement.

Last edited by Darknecron; 11-03-10 at 08:46 AM.
Darknecron is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-04-10, 04:31 AM   #15
Cuiiey
Member

 
Cuiiey's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Melbourne Australia

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darknecron View Post
So I should be good whith my crappy little fans and stock heatsink?
I was considering this heatsink as a replacement.
Either this:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835608018

or Possibly at TRUE 120 would be much better for you if you want minimal temps however that all depends on how much you want to spend

__________________
My system ------> Mobo: Asus Sabertooth|CPU: i7 950|HDD: WD 750GB 5400rpm green, 808.08GB 7200rpm|GFX:CF XFX 6870 1GB|RAM: 6GB RipJaws 8-8-8-20|PSU: Antec TP Quattro 800W|OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64|Mouse/KB: Razer DeathAdder V2/Razer Lycosa
Cuiiey is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-04-10, 09:23 AM Thread Starter   #16
Darknecron
Member

 
Darknecron's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Glide, Oregon - pronounced "Orehgun," not "Oreygawn," you plebeians.

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cuiiey View Post
Either this:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835608018

or Possibly at TRUE 120 would be much better for you if you want minimal temps however that all depends on how much you want to spend
That looks like a high quality cooler, but it's a bit out of my price range...and it's a bit to large for my case...I think. I just need a reasonably effective cooler that can keep a Q9550 @ 3.6ghz below 65C....

I'ma put a thread about this in the intell cpu cection.

Last edited by Darknecron; 11-04-10 at 09:29 AM.
Darknecron is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-12-10, 04:34 PM   #17
shant
Member

 
shant's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lebanon

 
im not sure if you would need to oc that to 3.6, ive run bfbc2 on my Q6600 2.4 without seeing any slowdowns, although i haven't checked fps, i haven't felt slowdowns, but if a minimum 60+ fps is a must then you probably need to

__________________
3770k l 4.5Ghz l 1.26vcore
Maximus V Extreme
2x2GB Patriot Sector 5 2133Mhz+2x2 2400mhz,all running @ 1866mhz
2x WD Caviar Black 64mb/1TB(raid 0) + 32GB intel 520 msata ssd caching
Evga Gtx 460 ee
Xfx 650W psu Black Edition
Hafx
shant is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?