Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Adding a GTX 465 to the loop

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-06-10, 08:56 AM Thread Starter   #1
BugFreak

 
BugFreak's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2010

 
Adding a GTX 465 to the loop


I am running my sig pc right now but it seems I need to upgrade my video card for some one of the new games coming out. Or at least to run them at the levels I like. I think I am going to go with a GTX 465, will my current radiators handle it or should I consider replacing the single with another duel? I am running push/pull on the single and only push on the duel at this time. The processor will remain at the current o/c and the vid card may get a little o/c...

__________________
AMD Phenom 1055T @ 3.4
ASUS M4A89TD Pro
Mushkin Redline 996999 PC31600 7,8,7,24 1T
MSI R290 @ 1000/1250
Monsta 240, MCP 655, UT60 360, XSPC Rasa, ek R290X Acetel

"Those who would sacrifice a little freedom for a little order, will lose both, and deserve neither." - Thomas Jefferson
BugFreak is offline Benching Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-06-10, 09:16 AM   #2
m0r7if3r
Member
Water Cooling Sticky Reading Enforcement Official

 
m0r7if3r's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Marietta, GA

 
Have you looked at the gtx465 to gtx460 comparisons?

I'd say you probably need more rad...how do your temps look right now?

__________________
If years were seasons, this December would be the December of our December.
-Abed #sixseasonsandamovie

Heat
m0r7if3r is offline Author Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-06-10, 09:37 AM Thread Starter   #3
BugFreak

 
BugFreak's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2010

 
Yes, I have compared the two. In terms of cost to performance the 465 is closer to the 470 and I get 256 interface vs the 192 of the 460. The cost to go up is minimal as well.

My current temps are 19c on the cpu and 42 gpu with almost silent fan operation.

__________________
AMD Phenom 1055T @ 3.4
ASUS M4A89TD Pro
Mushkin Redline 996999 PC31600 7,8,7,24 1T
MSI R290 @ 1000/1250
Monsta 240, MCP 655, UT60 360, XSPC Rasa, ek R290X Acetel

"Those who would sacrifice a little freedom for a little order, will lose both, and deserve neither." - Thomas Jefferson
BugFreak is offline Benching Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-06-10, 09:44 AM   #4
m0r7if3r
Member
Water Cooling Sticky Reading Enforcement Official

 
m0r7if3r's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Marietta, GA

 
long as you're not gonna realize it later. I just checked, the TDP of an 8800gt is 105w and the tdp of a gtx465 is 200w (those are quick googling numbers, could be off, I didn't crosscompare or anything), so you're effectively doubling the heat dump of the gfx into the loop. The way I would go about this would be to add the card first, see how the temps look, then if you need it add the rad...unless you lose money on shipping that way or smn.

__________________
If years were seasons, this December would be the December of our December.
-Abed #sixseasonsandamovie

Heat
m0r7if3r is offline Author Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-06-10, 10:44 AM   #5
Gunlance
Member



Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Stoughton, MA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by BugFreak View Post
Yes, I have compared the two. In terms of cost to performance the 465 is closer to the 470 and I get 256 interface vs the 192 of the 460. The cost to go up is minimal as well.

My current temps are 19c on the cpu and 42 gpu with almost silent fan operation.
the gtx 460 1gb has a 256 interface.

good chart can be found here
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...mi,2684-2.html

__________________
Codename [GOLIATH] - Lian-Li G70B
Loop 1 [Apogee XT - MCR320 - 3xSan Ace 1011 - DDC2 w/Petra's top] Loop 2 [EK ASUS NB 5 - MCW60 - EK ASUS 4 SB - MCW60 - BI GTX240 - 2xSan Ace 1011- D5]
ASUS Maximus Formula - 8GB OCZ REAPER DDR2-8500 - Q6600 - 2xHD6870 - Seasonic X750
Codename [Black-Dragon] - Lian-Li PC65B
DFI NF4 Ultra-D - 2GB Teamgroup Croonus(5BF)@260MHZ - Opteron 165 CCBBE0616XPMW@2.88 GHZ- 9800GT - Corsair HX520

Heatware
Gunlance is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-06-10, 02:03 PM Thread Starter   #6
BugFreak

 
BugFreak's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2010

 
Yup, I realize that Gun but the cost when upgrading to the 256 version of the 460 is almost equal to the 465 with more benefits. I figure why not go for the 465 at that cost. At least from what I have found... or am I misreading because I would love to save cash on the rest of this build?

Now back to the radiator issue...Any thoughts?

__________________
AMD Phenom 1055T @ 3.4
ASUS M4A89TD Pro
Mushkin Redline 996999 PC31600 7,8,7,24 1T
MSI R290 @ 1000/1250
Monsta 240, MCP 655, UT60 360, XSPC Rasa, ek R290X Acetel

"Those who would sacrifice a little freedom for a little order, will lose both, and deserve neither." - Thomas Jefferson

Last edited by BugFreak; 11-06-10 at 02:09 PM.
BugFreak is offline Benching Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-06-10, 03:09 PM   #7
Wega!
Senior Member


 
Wega!'s Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Denmark!

10 Year Badge
 
You could start out with just adding 2 more fans to the RX240 and see how that works out.

__________________
You say Lady Gaga, I say Dash Berlin
You say Hannah Montana, I say Orjan Nilsen
You say Owl City, I say Above & Beyond
You say Justin Bieber, I say Armin Van Buuren
You say Taylor Swift, I say Dj TiŽsto

In Trance we trust!

Benching mayhem: Asus Rampage Extreme, Gigabyte Ep45 UD3P, QX9650, Q9550, E6300, 4x Cedar Mill's, Corsair Dominators 2000Mhz 8-9-8-24, Crucial Ballistix DDR2, Asus GTX480, XFX GTX260, Inno 8800GTX, Zotac 8800GT, Piotres CPU pot, EK Supreme HF, MCW60 Mo-Ra 3 Pro, Ek DC 4.0 and a Corsair TX750
Daily driver: Asus P5Q Pro, Q8400, OCZ PC8000, GTX460, Enzotech Sapphire, EK GTX460 full block, XSPC res/pump and a HWLabs GTX480.
Wega! is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-06-10, 03:14 PM   #8
Conumdrum
Wants Old Title Back
Didn't Get It

 
Conumdrum's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Las Vegas

 
19C on the CPU? How do you figure that? Most AMD CPUs load in the 50's with your setup under load. What are you measuring it with? What are you loading the CPU with?

__________________
I want my old title back.
Old beast is torn down.
Will update later.

900 watt (1500VA) UPS
27" ASUS VG 3D/Nvidia V2 3D glasses and 24" Acer H243H
Conumdrum is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-06-10, 04:02 PM Thread Starter   #9
BugFreak

 
BugFreak's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2010

 
Using Core Temp, should I use other?

__________________
AMD Phenom 1055T @ 3.4
ASUS M4A89TD Pro
Mushkin Redline 996999 PC31600 7,8,7,24 1T
MSI R290 @ 1000/1250
Monsta 240, MCP 655, UT60 360, XSPC Rasa, ek R290X Acetel

"Those who would sacrifice a little freedom for a little order, will lose both, and deserve neither." - Thomas Jefferson
BugFreak is offline Benching Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-06-10, 04:05 PM   #10
m0r7if3r
Member
Water Cooling Sticky Reading Enforcement Official

 
m0r7if3r's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Marietta, GA

 
core temp is fine, what are you loading with?

__________________
If years were seasons, this December would be the December of our December.
-Abed #sixseasonsandamovie

Heat
m0r7if3r is offline Author Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-06-10, 04:07 PM Thread Starter   #11
BugFreak

 
BugFreak's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2010

 
Updated it with a pic but I don't understand the loaded with? I have used OCCT to test load it if that is what you mean.

__________________
AMD Phenom 1055T @ 3.4
ASUS M4A89TD Pro
Mushkin Redline 996999 PC31600 7,8,7,24 1T
MSI R290 @ 1000/1250
Monsta 240, MCP 655, UT60 360, XSPC Rasa, ek R290X Acetel

"Those who would sacrifice a little freedom for a little order, will lose both, and deserve neither." - Thomas Jefferson
BugFreak is offline Benching Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-06-10, 04:08 PM   #12
Wega!
Senior Member


 
Wega!'s Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Denmark!

10 Year Badge
 
Looks like nothing, it says 0% load... Fire up some Prime95, or start folding

__________________
You say Lady Gaga, I say Dash Berlin
You say Hannah Montana, I say Orjan Nilsen
You say Owl City, I say Above & Beyond
You say Justin Bieber, I say Armin Van Buuren
You say Taylor Swift, I say Dj TiŽsto

In Trance we trust!

Benching mayhem: Asus Rampage Extreme, Gigabyte Ep45 UD3P, QX9650, Q9550, E6300, 4x Cedar Mill's, Corsair Dominators 2000Mhz 8-9-8-24, Crucial Ballistix DDR2, Asus GTX480, XFX GTX260, Inno 8800GTX, Zotac 8800GT, Piotres CPU pot, EK Supreme HF, MCW60 Mo-Ra 3 Pro, Ek DC 4.0 and a Corsair TX750
Daily driver: Asus P5Q Pro, Q8400, OCZ PC8000, GTX460, Enzotech Sapphire, EK GTX460 full block, XSPC res/pump and a HWLabs GTX480.
Wega! is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-06-10, 04:09 PM   #13
QuietIce
Disabled



Join Date: May 2006
Location: Anywhere but there

 
Yes, what is your temp in OCCT when it's running? Still mid-30's ...?
QuietIce is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-06-10, 04:09 PM   #14
Wega!
Senior Member


 
Wega!'s Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Denmark!

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by BugFreak View Post
Updated it with a pic but I don't understand the loaded with? I have used OCCT to test load it if that is what you mean.
Yes what kind og temps are you getting after running the CPU at 100% load for 30 mins?

__________________
You say Lady Gaga, I say Dash Berlin
You say Hannah Montana, I say Orjan Nilsen
You say Owl City, I say Above & Beyond
You say Justin Bieber, I say Armin Van Buuren
You say Taylor Swift, I say Dj TiŽsto

In Trance we trust!

Benching mayhem: Asus Rampage Extreme, Gigabyte Ep45 UD3P, QX9650, Q9550, E6300, 4x Cedar Mill's, Corsair Dominators 2000Mhz 8-9-8-24, Crucial Ballistix DDR2, Asus GTX480, XFX GTX260, Inno 8800GTX, Zotac 8800GT, Piotres CPU pot, EK Supreme HF, MCW60 Mo-Ra 3 Pro, Ek DC 4.0 and a Corsair TX750
Daily driver: Asus P5Q Pro, Q8400, OCZ PC8000, GTX460, Enzotech Sapphire, EK GTX460 full block, XSPC res/pump and a HWLabs GTX480.
Wega! is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-06-10, 04:10 PM Thread Starter   #15
BugFreak

 
BugFreak's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2010

 
Update here in 30min...

__________________
AMD Phenom 1055T @ 3.4
ASUS M4A89TD Pro
Mushkin Redline 996999 PC31600 7,8,7,24 1T
MSI R290 @ 1000/1250
Monsta 240, MCP 655, UT60 360, XSPC Rasa, ek R290X Acetel

"Those who would sacrifice a little freedom for a little order, will lose both, and deserve neither." - Thomas Jefferson
BugFreak is offline Benching Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-06-10, 04:44 PM Thread Starter   #16
BugFreak

 
BugFreak's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2010

 
Ok I hit 31 max under OCCT. I would add a couple to that because it is a little cooler outside but that sounds about right from my stress tests when initially doing the o/c.

__________________
AMD Phenom 1055T @ 3.4
ASUS M4A89TD Pro
Mushkin Redline 996999 PC31600 7,8,7,24 1T
MSI R290 @ 1000/1250
Monsta 240, MCP 655, UT60 360, XSPC Rasa, ek R290X Acetel

"Those who would sacrifice a little freedom for a little order, will lose both, and deserve neither." - Thomas Jefferson
BugFreak is offline Benching Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-06-10, 06:00 PM   #17
Conumdrum
Wants Old Title Back
Didn't Get It

 
Conumdrum's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Las Vegas

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by BugFreak View Post
Ok I hit 31 max under OCCT. I would add a couple to that because it is a little cooler outside but that sounds about right from my stress tests when initially doing the o/c.
You ran the test for 30 min? OCCT is enough for a load for normal use. You need 30 min for water temps to stabilize. And Coretemp is all thats availble for AMD processors, and it works right. Just to make sure, make sure you have the latest coretemp program too.


You'll be fine with the ONE GPU added to the loop, might need bit better fans, give it a try.

__________________
I want my old title back.
Old beast is torn down.
Will update later.

900 watt (1500VA) UPS
27" ASUS VG 3D/Nvidia V2 3D glasses and 24" Acer H243H
Conumdrum is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-06-10, 06:52 PM Thread Starter   #18
BugFreak

 
BugFreak's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2010

 
Yes, I also have ran this same setup for 8 hours with the same results. Here is the 30min from earlier. Also I have been running this setup for a little over a month now with good reliability.


Thanks for the input on the fans though. I was trying to avoid rebuilding it after I get everything in there and do a one time tear down/test period but it seems multiple will be the only option here.

__________________
AMD Phenom 1055T @ 3.4
ASUS M4A89TD Pro
Mushkin Redline 996999 PC31600 7,8,7,24 1T
MSI R290 @ 1000/1250
Monsta 240, MCP 655, UT60 360, XSPC Rasa, ek R290X Acetel

"Those who would sacrifice a little freedom for a little order, will lose both, and deserve neither." - Thomas Jefferson
BugFreak is offline Benching Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-10, 01:49 AM   #19
QuietIce
Disabled



Join Date: May 2006
Location: Anywhere but there

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Conumdrum View Post
And Coretemp is all thats availble for AMD processors, and it works right.
HWMonitor also reads core temps - though I still prefer Core Temp.


And, of course, OCCT reads them as well ...
QuietIce is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-10, 02:04 AM   #20
Wega!
Senior Member


 
Wega!'s Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Denmark!

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by BugFreak View Post
Thanks for the input on the fans though. I was trying to avoid rebuilding it after I get everything in there and do a one time tear down/test period but it seems multiple will be the only option here.
Well you have some very nice temps there, and if you dont mind that they will make a jump when you add the GTX465, I think you will be fine with your current rads. If not you still have the option to add two more fans to the double rad, thats pretty easy to do, and is not what I consider "rebuilding".

__________________
You say Lady Gaga, I say Dash Berlin
You say Hannah Montana, I say Orjan Nilsen
You say Owl City, I say Above & Beyond
You say Justin Bieber, I say Armin Van Buuren
You say Taylor Swift, I say Dj TiŽsto

In Trance we trust!

Benching mayhem: Asus Rampage Extreme, Gigabyte Ep45 UD3P, QX9650, Q9550, E6300, 4x Cedar Mill's, Corsair Dominators 2000Mhz 8-9-8-24, Crucial Ballistix DDR2, Asus GTX480, XFX GTX260, Inno 8800GTX, Zotac 8800GT, Piotres CPU pot, EK Supreme HF, MCW60 Mo-Ra 3 Pro, Ek DC 4.0 and a Corsair TX750
Daily driver: Asus P5Q Pro, Q8400, OCZ PC8000, GTX460, Enzotech Sapphire, EK GTX460 full block, XSPC res/pump and a HWLabs GTX480.
Wega! is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?