Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Possible to overclock with throttling?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-11-10, 06:16 PM Thread Starter   #1
GMdoubleG
Member



Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

 
Possible to overclock with throttling?


Hi all,

I am pretty new to overclocking and had a few question about it. First off, my specs are as follows:

CPU: i7 920 D0
MoBo: Asus P6T Deluxe Ver 2
RAM: Corsair XMS3 1600MHz
GPU: 480GTX
Cooling: Dedicated Water cooling setup with great cooling.

Now, I've read through a few guides on how the basics to overclocking, including the one on this site, but is there a possibility to overclock the 920 to around 3.6GHz and have it throttle up when needed and down when not needed?

I only ask this because I leave my computer on all day for other housemates to use it but I personally only use it towards the evening. I didn't want it to run at a high overclock if it wasn't needed (assuming that it will take life off the CPU).

Thanks

__________________
MoBo: ASUS P6T Deluxe 2
CPU: i7 920 D0
RAM: Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz
GPU: EVGA 480GTX
PSU: Corsair AX850W

Water Loop: Koolance 452X2->XSPC RX360->XSPC RX360->Apogee XT->EK 480GTX WB->Koolance 452X2

Gental Typhoon x 6
GMdoubleG is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-11-10, 06:22 PM   #2
xoke

 
xoke's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2010

 
With CE1 still enabled in the BIOS it should naturally down clock (via multiplier) when not under full load. From what little experience I have with 920s, I think getting around 3.6ghz with a good water cooling setup can be accomplish with little or no voltage increase. It's voltage and heat that kill stuff. You have heat covered...as long as the voltage is'nt insane I'd expect your CPU to outlive it's useful life overclocked to 3.6ghz...even 4ghz. 920s are pretty tough.

There are many more experienced guys around here than me when it comes to Intel stuff so I'll sit back and takes notes as well.

__________________
Jiggy X58A-UD7 - Intel i7 920 D0 +4.9ghz - Kingston Hyper-X DDr3 2333 - 2x MSI GTX 480
Jiggy 890FXA-UD5 - AMD 1090t BE +6.0ghz - Mushkin Ridgeback DDr3 2000 - 2x Biostar HD 4890 R.I.P.
Antec TPQ 1200w - Sunbeam Tech Bench - WD Raptors - Koolance v2 - 2x K|ngp|n Tek-9 v6 Slim - ShamWow
xoke is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-12-10, 04:48 AM Thread Starter   #3
GMdoubleG
Member



Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

 
Ok, will CE1 allow me to set a Max CPU frequency? Let's say 4.0GHz and then it will down clock when it isn't being used?

__________________
MoBo: ASUS P6T Deluxe 2
CPU: i7 920 D0
RAM: Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz
GPU: EVGA 480GTX
PSU: Corsair AX850W

Water Loop: Koolance 452X2->XSPC RX360->XSPC RX360->Apogee XT->EK 480GTX WB->Koolance 452X2

Gental Typhoon x 6
GMdoubleG is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-12-10, 05:15 AM   #4
burebista
Member

 
burebista's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Romania

 
Try Throttlestop.
Make a profile with minimum multiplier and enable it when you leave your PC.

__________________
If it ain't broke... fix it until it is.
burebista is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?