• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

i7 960

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Fr@kt@L

help overclock i7 960 or rampage 2 extreme with ddr3 1600 cl8 corsair dominators.
i was an user of 775 socket - q9550 fan oc to 4.1 on rampage formula x48, but i am new in 1366 socket, any advice will be great :grouphug:

Get rid of all the power saving features including turbo boost. 200 bclk x 20 multiplier. Set the RAM to 1600mhz with XMP enabled. Set the DRAM voltage to 1.65, VTT to 1.3v and CPU vCore to 1.27v. If it's unstable then keep raising voltages and fine tune settings like how you did in socket 775. Get rid of auto for a lot of settings so it doesn't fluctuate the overclock. Monitor temps and run Prime 95 and see what happens. Tell me how it goes.

i set up your setting, on 4ghz, with xmp enabled, i put more voltage to cpu 1.325 but
vtt on rampage 2 is qpidram ?? or what called vtt on this mobo, i put there 1.33 to qpi
and prime around 1 hour stable but the cores is very hot everest show me around 87 C temp, i use H50 with 2 fan or radiator
i try hit 4.2 but black screen prime, what can i do more ?
thanx for your advice

Usually Core i7 D0's get to 4ghz at 1.27v at least. Bump QPI to 1.35 and drop the CPU to 1.3v. You can show pictures of your BIOS.