Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Will my Sony Bravia KDL-40EX500 cripple the GTX 580?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-18-10, 11:10 PM Thread Starter   #1
qcom
Registered



Join Date: May 2010

 
Will my Sony Bravia KDL-40EX500 cripple the GTX 580?


Hey all,

I currently have a Sony Bravia KDL-40EX500 LCD tv.

I'm making a build which will include the GTX 580, and I was wondering if my TV, which will be used as a monitor via HDMI, will cripple the card. I'm guessing not, considering the TV boasts 120Hz, 1080p and it's 40 inches diagonal.

I just don't want to dump the cash into the 580 and then realize that my tv ends up being the bottleneck here.

I wish it was a 3D tv, but I love this tv, so I'm sticking wit it.
qcom is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-18-10, 11:45 PM   #2
Grief
Member



Join Date: Jul 2010

 
Bottle neck is when someting causes loss of performance of somting. Less resolution, better performance... Your TV is very capable from what i can see. Not going to be a problem at all.
Grief is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-18-10, 11:49 PM   #3
kayson
Member

 
kayson's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA

 
A display can't really be a bottleneck... If you mean you're wondering whether the gtx 580 can handle running at that resolution/refresh rate, then you'll still be totally fine. That gpu is a best.

__________________
Project Silver
Intel Core i7-4770k
Asus Maximus VI Hero
G.Skill Sniper 2x4GB DDR3-1866
EVGA nVidia GeForce GTX 760
Corsair HX850
Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
Thermalright Venomous X || 2x 120mm Panaflo || Arctic Silver V
Lian-Li PC-A77FA || Vantec Nexus Fan Controller
(Build Journal)
Heatware
kayson is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-18-10, 11:55 PM Thread Starter   #4
qcom
Registered



Join Date: May 2010

 
Thanks for the help guys!

Sorry if I used the wrong term.

What I meant was, will I get almost all out of the GTX 580 with the Bravia, minus the 3D? What is a display called if it isn't considered a bottleneck? I think I see what you mean though.
qcom is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-19-10, 01:12 AM   #5
kayson
Member

 
kayson's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by qcom View Post
Thanks for the help guys!

Sorry if I used the wrong term.

What I meant was, will I get almost all out of the GTX 580 with the Bravia, minus the 3D? What is a display called if it isn't considered a bottleneck? I think I see what you mean though.
I see what you're saying. Technically, I guess you're using the right term, but I've never heard of anyone thinking about performance in that direction. I suppose yes, if you don't have a big enough display, your GTX580 will run at some ungodly high fps, wasting its potential. Keep in mind, though, that this depends a lot on what kind of video/games you're running on it and what the settings are.

Suppose you run your game at max settings, its certainly possible that you will get an fps much higher than you need. 1080p = 1920x1080, and you can find 24" desktop monitors with higher resolutions which would tax the gpu far more than a 1080p TV over hdmi. Honestly, though, at such high performance levels, any differences would not be noticeable.

__________________
Project Silver
Intel Core i7-4770k
Asus Maximus VI Hero
G.Skill Sniper 2x4GB DDR3-1866
EVGA nVidia GeForce GTX 760
Corsair HX850
Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
Thermalright Venomous X || 2x 120mm Panaflo || Arctic Silver V
Lian-Li PC-A77FA || Vantec Nexus Fan Controller
(Build Journal)
Heatware
kayson is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-19-10, 06:04 AM   #6
mxthunder

 
mxthunder's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Northeast Ohio

 
Yeah, hooking that card to anything LESS than that TV would be putting the card to waste.

__________________
i7 3770K @ 4.8GHz
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP7
2x4GB Ripjaws @ 1600 7-8-7-24-24 - 1T
XSPC res + D5, RS360 + EK 120mm rad
GeForce GTX780Ti w/custom bios @1300mhz
Corsair TX950
WD Black 750GB/Hitachi 7k1000/Intel 330 SSD cache drive
LG 27" 1080p
Corsair Obsidian 700D

My GPU collection
mxthunder is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-19-10, 08:46 AM Thread Starter   #7
qcom
Registered



Join Date: May 2010

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by kayson View Post
I see what you're saying. Technically, I guess you're using the right term, but I've never heard of anyone thinking about performance in that direction. I suppose yes, if you don't have a big enough display, your GTX580 will run at some ungodly high fps, wasting its potential. Keep in mind, though, that this depends a lot on what kind of video/games you're running on it and what the settings are.

Suppose you run your game at max settings, its certainly possible that you will get an fps much higher than you need. 1080p = 1920x1080, and you can find 24" desktop monitors with higher resolutions which would tax the gpu far more than a 1080p TV over hdmi. Honestly, though, at such high performance levels, any differences would not be noticeable.
OK, but yes, I would be using the latest games with my 1920x1080 resolution, at the complete MAX settings.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mxthunder View Post
Yeah, hooking that card to anything LESS than that TV would be putting the card to waste.
OK, so are you saying that the Bravia will be able to push the GTX 580 relatively well?

So, in other words, should I get a less expensive card because my TV won't be able to push it well enough? Or do you think the TV will be ok?
qcom is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-19-10, 10:16 AM   #8
Tokae
Member

 
Tokae's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London Canada

 
1920 x 1080 is the same whether its on a 20" monitor or on a 40" tv. Your display regardless of it being a tv or monitor, has no bearing on how 'hard' the video card works. If anything it will look better on the tv because they usually have a much better contrast ratio than a typical lcd monitor. You will see better colors in otherwords. I had my 5870 hooked up to my bravia and I now am trying to find a way to use it 'permanently' as my main monitor. The missus though doesn't seem to think that we should be looking at another tv. Guess who wins!

__________________
Gaming / Streaming Rig:
CPU: i7 980x @ 4.2
Cooler: NH-12U
RAM: GSkill 1600Mhz 12GB
Mobo: Asus R3E
GPU: MSI R9 290x
Storage: OS: Adata 128GB SSD Data: 4 x 1TB in RAID5
Case:800D
PSU: Revolution 85+ 1020w
Tokae is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-19-10, 10:31 AM   #9
Dooms101
Member


 
Dooms101's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: under a heatsink

 
I think the question you're asking is "would a GTX 580 be overkill for a 1080p display?" The answer is probably yes. Much cheaper cards would be able to run at that relatively low resolution (1920x1080) with a good framerate and maxed settings. The GPU's performance depends on your CPU, RAM, and Motherboard in order to maintain a good bandwidth, not the display. The resolution can't "cripple" a card in terms of hindering it's actual performance. A card will perform just the same on any 1080p screen with the same refreshrate. However, your resolution will make a difference on how well the card can perform. Btw a card's performance is usually best measured in fps. So the higher the resolution the lower the fps. The GTX 580 would eat almost anything at 1080p for breakfast without even a wince. Therefore a GTX 580 is pretty much overkill, but you wouldn't have to upgrade in a while though . Also, you would be able to run a high-res monitor (say... 2560x1600) in the future at max settings and good framerates.

__________________
[Dell Latitude E6530]............................[i7-3540M 3Ghz, 16GB, 750GB, 1080p LED]
[Hackintosh].......................[i3-3225 3.3Ghz, 8GB DDR3, 250GB SSD, GTX650 1GB]
Area51 Case Mod- - - - - - - - ODD Window Mod - - - - - - - -NZXT Phantom Triple Rad
Dooms101 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-19-10, 12:46 PM Thread Starter   #10
qcom
Registered



Join Date: May 2010

 
Sounds good.

I think what I'll do is wait until the AMD HD 6900 series GPUs come out, and check out their specs and benchmarks in comparison to the 580.

Not only may it surpass the 580, it nay be cheaper as well.
qcom is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-19-10, 12:51 PM   #11
Tokae
Member

 
Tokae's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London Canada

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by qcom View Post
Sounds good.

I think what I'll do is wait until the AMD HD 6900 series GPUs come out, and check out their specs and benchmarks in comparison to the 580.

Not only may it surpass the 580, it nay be cheaper as well.
You never know with AMD!

I might sell my 5870 and grab the new card.. I'm hoping they are beasts..

__________________
Gaming / Streaming Rig:
CPU: i7 980x @ 4.2
Cooler: NH-12U
RAM: GSkill 1600Mhz 12GB
Mobo: Asus R3E
GPU: MSI R9 290x
Storage: OS: Adata 128GB SSD Data: 4 x 1TB in RAID5
Case:800D
PSU: Revolution 85+ 1020w
Tokae is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-19-10, 06:23 PM   #12
kayson
Member

 
kayson's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA

 
Ok nowwww it all makes sense. It's not that the tv is a bottleneck but the 580 is way freaking overkill. At 1080p you're probably fine with a 470 or 480 or one of the amd 6900's when they come out

__________________
Project Silver
Intel Core i7-4770k
Asus Maximus VI Hero
G.Skill Sniper 2x4GB DDR3-1866
EVGA nVidia GeForce GTX 760
Corsair HX850
Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
Thermalright Venomous X || 2x 120mm Panaflo || Arctic Silver V
Lian-Li PC-A77FA || Vantec Nexus Fan Controller
(Build Journal)
Heatware
kayson is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-19-10, 08:57 PM Thread Starter   #13
qcom
Registered



Join Date: May 2010

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by kayson View Post
Ok nowwww it all makes sense. It's not that the tv is a bottleneck but the 580 is way freaking overkill. At 1080p you're probably fine with a 470 or 480 or one of the amd 6900's when they come out
Yeah, sorry about my OP phrasing before.

Yeah, that's what I meant.

I think I still might get it for coolness factor, and not only that, but I might update displays somewhat soon.
qcom is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-19-10, 09:01 PM   #14
kayson
Member

 
kayson's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by qcom View Post
Yeah, sorry about my OP phrasing before.

Yeah, that's what I meant.

I think I still might get it for coolness factor, and not only that, but I might update displays somewhat soon.
Not gonna lie. Sony bravia tvs are amazing!

__________________
Project Silver
Intel Core i7-4770k
Asus Maximus VI Hero
G.Skill Sniper 2x4GB DDR3-1866
EVGA nVidia GeForce GTX 760
Corsair HX850
Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
Thermalright Venomous X || 2x 120mm Panaflo || Arctic Silver V
Lian-Li PC-A77FA || Vantec Nexus Fan Controller
(Build Journal)
Heatware
kayson is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-19-10, 09:13 PM   #15
JonSimonzi
Member

 
JonSimonzi's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Providence, RI

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by kayson View Post
Not gonna lie. Sony bravia tvs are amazing!
I just bought the exact same model the OP is talking about, it's rather nice.

__________________
Gigabyte Sniper M3 - i7 2700K - Corsair H80
Asus GTX780 DCII - Dell U2712HM & Dell U2212HM
16GB G.Skill Sniper - 256GB Crucial M4 - 3TB Hitachi 7K3000
Silverstone ST65F-G - Silverstone SG10
Heatware
JonSimonzi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-19-10, 09:28 PM Thread Starter   #16
qcom
Registered



Join Date: May 2010

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by kayson View Post
Not gonna lie. Sony bravia tvs are amazing!
I know, right! There quite b0$$!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonSimonzi View Post
I just bought the exact same model the OP is talking about, it's rather nice.
I'm assuming you mean the exact model TV, right?

If so, what do you think of it?

I have mine set up to be retail mode, with some settings configured the way I like.
qcom is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-19-10, 11:00 PM   #17
Dooms101
Member


 
Dooms101's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: under a heatsink

 
1080p looks fine to me lol... I use 1440x900 =D
I would wait for the 6970, it'll probably stomp on a 580 and cost less (that's what ATi loves doing)

__________________
[Dell Latitude E6530]............................[i7-3540M 3Ghz, 16GB, 750GB, 1080p LED]
[Hackintosh].......................[i3-3225 3.3Ghz, 8GB DDR3, 250GB SSD, GTX650 1GB]
Area51 Case Mod- - - - - - - - ODD Window Mod - - - - - - - -NZXT Phantom Triple Rad
Dooms101 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-21-10, 08:57 AM   #18
Badbonji

 
Badbonji's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Birmingham, UK

 
ATi's single gpu cards generally sit behind Nvidia's top end card, but the HD6990 should be able to beat the GTX580.

__________________
i7 3770K 4.5GHz 1.2V | Phanteks PH-TC14PE | 16GB TeamGroup Elite 1600MHz | GIGABYTE G1.Sniper M3 | EVGA GTX680 SC 1254/1500MHz | M4 256GB + 150GB Raptor | Corsair HX+ 850W | Antec 1200
i7 965 | 8GB OCZ Gold 1600MHz | GIGABYTE Extreme X58 | HD5450 | M4 64GB + 7TB | OCZ 500W
MacBook Pro 15" | i7 2.3GHz | 8GB 1600MHz
Badbonji is online now Benching Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-21-10, 10:30 AM   #19
Dooms101
Member


 
Dooms101's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: under a heatsink

 
I agree with that, but if the rumored specs of the 6970 (although seem to be ridiculous) are true, then it would certainly perform better than the 580.

__________________
[Dell Latitude E6530]............................[i7-3540M 3Ghz, 16GB, 750GB, 1080p LED]
[Hackintosh].......................[i3-3225 3.3Ghz, 8GB DDR3, 250GB SSD, GTX650 1GB]
Area51 Case Mod- - - - - - - - ODD Window Mod - - - - - - - -NZXT Phantom Triple Rad
Dooms101 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-21-10, 11:43 AM   #20
JonSimonzi
Member

 
JonSimonzi's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Providence, RI

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by qcom View Post
I'm assuming you mean the exact model TV, right?

If so, what do you think of it?

I have mine set up to be retail mode, with some settings configured the way I like.
Yep, same TV. $650 from Ultimate Electronics, worth every penny. I was using a crappy 720p 32" Magnavox TV before that. I love the TV, now I just need to get a PS3 to play Blu Rays

__________________
Gigabyte Sniper M3 - i7 2700K - Corsair H80
Asus GTX780 DCII - Dell U2712HM & Dell U2212HM
16GB G.Skill Sniper - 256GB Crucial M4 - 3TB Hitachi 7K3000
Silverstone ST65F-G - Silverstone SG10
Heatware
JonSimonzi is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?