Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Standalone GPU for 3 monitors?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-24-10, 12:21 AM Thread Starter   #1
hackintosh
Member



Join Date: May 2010

 
Standalone GPU for 3 monitors?


Hey everyone, first I would like to say if this is a stupid question to you, I am sorry. I did search but when I started reading about GPU's to support 3 monitors on their own I started getting into a ton of information that I don't understand.

Right now I am only looking to run one GPU because my ASUS server board only has one pci-e x 16 slot. I don't game but I do use three monitors for work so I was wondering what you guys would reccomend for this situation.

I am looking for something that I could upgrade to a dual setup in the future if I do start to play some games, but as of right now I don't play anything other than Spider solitaire on my computer.

I really don't know anything about GPU's as I am not a gamer so I figured instead of making an expensive mistake I would ask the pro's.
I was looking into the gtx 295 co-op I believe which said it has 2 avi outs and one HDMI out but I wasn't sure if this would work or not.

If you guys have any suggestions please let share away because I am lost. If there is a cheaper GPU than the 295 that will support 3 monitors that would be great.

I have only one REQUIREMENT, it is that there is a waterblock made for that card. My box is fully water cooled and I don't want anything I have to air cool. I went though the ordeal once of ordering a 9800gtx+ only to find out that EK does not make a block for that card, only the 9800gtx which I am currently running.
This is not a requirement because it is doubtfull but I would like the card to be SLI upgradeable if I do ever add a new MOBO that can handle two GPU's


Thanks in advance
hackintosh is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-10, 01:46 AM   #2
checkeredhat09

 
checkeredhat09's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Seattle, WA

 
I'm thinking that you need to slide on over to the ATI forum. AFAIK there is no nvidia card currently that supports 3 monitors. To run three monitors you need SLI.

I know for a fact there is at least one ATI card that can do like up to six screens or something.

__________________
THE STORM TROOPER
CASE: Corsair 600t Special Edition PSU: Corsair HX750 MOBO: ASRock Extreme4 Gen3 Socket 1155 CPU: Intel 2500k COOLER: Thermalright HR-02 Macho RAM: 4x4 GB G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3-1600 GFX: GTX 690 @ 1156 Mhz
checkeredhat09 is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-10, 09:13 AM   #3
Lukee
Member



Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Miami, FL

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by checkeredhat09 View Post
I'm thinking that you need to slide on over to the ATI forum. AFAIK there is no nvidia card currently that supports 3 monitors. To run three monitors you need SLI.

I know for a fact there is at least one ATI card that can do like up to six screens or something.
He is correct. The ATI Eyefinity card can run up to 6 monitors at once. I thought about it, but I've had bad luck with ATi and their drivers, so I stuck with Nvidia.
Lukee is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-10, 09:22 AM   #4
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
You don't need SLi to run three monitors, but you would need two cards. They wouldn't even have to match.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-10, 11:13 AM   #5
Lukee
Member



Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Miami, FL

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
You don't need SLi to run three monitors, but you would need two cards. They wouldn't even have to match.
I think that depends on whether he wants surround gaming or just to have 3 monitors to multi-task. To enable this, I have to run my cards in SLI.
Lukee is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-10, 11:50 AM   #6
pwnmachine
Member

 
pwnmachine's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada

 
The only way this is possible for gaming is eyefinity, the max you could do is 2 displays with an Nvidia card.

EDIT: apparently according to this it is possible on a 295 however you can't run the monitors @ 120hz, also this is only available on the pcb with the 2dvi and 1 hdmi connector. Check here.

__________________
i5 2500k @ 4.8 gHz. 1.3v..................Q9650 @ 4.0 gHz.
Kingston Hyper 1600mHz 4gb..........XMS3 1600mHz 4gb
Asus P8P67 Pro B3...........................790i Ultra FTW
XFX 5970 BE + XFX 5850..................GTX 260 2xSLI
CM Hyper 212/Thermalright HR-03...Scythe Mugen II
CM Cosmos S Modified......................NZXT H2
Custom Maple Gaming Case

Last edited by pwnmachine; 11-24-10 at 12:48 PM.
pwnmachine is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-10, 11:56 AM Thread Starter   #7
hackintosh
Member



Join Date: May 2010

 
I don't game at all, I might in the future but it is doubtful.

I can't get another GPU because my board only has one pci e x16 slot, so I need a card that can run all three at the same time.
And I am 100 percent positive I have seen a system on this board with an Invidia 295gtx co op running 3 monitors.

I just wasnt sure if there were other options
hackintosh is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-10, 12:00 PM   #8
Knufire
Senior Member

 
Knufire's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Terre Haute, IN

 
Any ATI 5xxx or 6xxx card can run three monitors. NVIDIA can't, but workstation cards might be a different story.

__________________
i7-920 3.8 Ghz | Venomous-X w/ Panaflo HS | Sapphire Vapor-X 4890
EVGA X58 SLI LE | 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 | 500GB Samsung OEM | Rosewill 850w | Thermaltake Armor Series | OCZ Vertex 2 60GB

Secondary Rig:
CM Elite 430 | A8-3870K stock | Radeon HD 6670 | 500GB WD Caviar Blue | 4GB G.SKILL DDR3-1333 | ASUS A55

Knufire is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-10, 02:44 PM   #9
Dj Spiel

 
Dj Spiel's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Chicago,IL

 
I was in the same boat you were 1-2 years ago. For what you want/need pick yourself up a ATI 5870

Newegg has Sapphire Radeon HD 5870 1GB 256-bit DDR5 PCI Express Video Card w/ Eyefinity for $280 - $35 with code VGA112235 - $30 rebate = $215 with free shipping. Next lowest on Google Products is $270 after rebate (Amazon).

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102883

you will also need an active display port adapter
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-014-_-Product




*********************************************




Quote:
Originally Posted by hackintosh View Post
Hey everyone, first I would like to say if this is a stupid question to you, I am sorry. I did search but when I started reading about GPU's to support 3 monitors on their own I started getting into a ton of information that I don't understand.

Right now I am only looking to run one GPU because my ASUS server board only has one pci-e x 16 slot. I don't game but I do use three monitors for work so I was wondering what you guys would reccomend for this situation.

I am looking for something that I could upgrade to a dual setup in the future if I do start to play some games, but as of right now I don't play anything other than Spider solitaire on my computer.

I really don't know anything about GPU's as I am not a gamer so I figured instead of making an expensive mistake I would ask the pro's.
I was looking into the gtx 295 co-op I believe which said it has 2 avi outs and one HDMI out but I wasn't sure if this would work or not.

If you guys have any suggestions please let share away because I am lost. If there is a cheaper GPU than the 295 that will support 3 monitors that would be great.

I have only one REQUIREMENT, it is that there is a waterblock made for that card. My box is fully water cooled and I don't want anything I have to air cool. I went though the ordeal once of ordering a 9800gtx+ only to find out that EK does not make a block for that card, only the 9800gtx which I am currently running.
This is not a requirement because it is doubtfull but I would like the card to be SLI upgradeable if I do ever add a new MOBO that can handle two GPU's


Thanks in advance

__________________
###My Main Rig### Nicknamed "Daddys Lambo"
*Storage 1 OS WD VelociRaptor WD1000DHTZ 1TB 10000 RPM 64MB
*GPU* x2=ATi (Powercolor) Radeon HD 7950 Boost State 3GB 384-bit GDDR5
*CPU*=Intel Core i7 3770k Overclocked @4.5ghZ/Corsair H100i Liquid Cooled
*MB*=ASRock #Z87 OC FORMULA
*RAM*=G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series \32GB\DDR3 1600mhz
*PSU 1*=Rosewill #LIGHTNING-1000
*CASE*=Corsair #Carbide Series 500R Arctic White
*Storage 2*=x1 WD Black WD1002FAEX 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
*NAS*=QNAP TS-509 Pro/RAID5/(5)Seagate Barracuda #ST3000DM001 3TB
Dj Spiel is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-10, 03:16 PM   #10
RADIO_ACTIVE
Member

 
RADIO_ACTIVE's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sacramento, CA

 
You can possibly look into this: TripleHead2Go
http://www.matrox.com/graphics/en/products/gxm/th2go/
This allows you to add 3 monitors to your existing desktop/laptop/etc. making a total of 4 monitors. They also have a dual version that allows you to add 2 monitors to desktop/laptop/etc giving you a total of three monitors. Plus you won't have to mess with your loop and it may be cheaper than buying a GPU, Video Adapter and water block.

__________________
CPU: i7 960 @ 3.8ghz
MOBO: EVGA x58 SLI
RAM: gSkill - 6gigs DDR3 1600
GPU: GALAXY 2x GTX 480 SLI @ 780/1560/2012
SSD: OCZ Vertex 2 120gig
PSU: Kingwin 1000w
CHASIS: Antec 900 two

Last edited by RADIO_ACTIVE; 11-24-10 at 03:41 PM.
RADIO_ACTIVE is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-10, 10:26 PM Thread Starter   #11
hackintosh
Member



Join Date: May 2010

 
Thanks Radio I might actually look into that.
Going to search for some reviews. I really like the idea of not having to order a new waterblock and all the other bs I would have to deal with
hackintosh is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-25-10, 12:30 AM   #12
gsrcrxsi
Member



Join Date: Feb 2008

 
GTX 460, 470, 480, 580 all have 2xDVI + 1xHDMI.

you cant use all three to drive 3 monitors?

__________________
---HTPC--- .................... ---MINE1/PTS--- .............. ---MINE2/PTS--- ............ ---SPARE/PTS--- .............
Antec Fusion Remote ...... No Case/Tray Mounted .... Coolmax Case ............... AOpen B200 ..................
E5200 @ 2.50GHz .......... Q9650 @ 3.83GHz ........... Q9550 @ 3.54GHz .......... E6700 @ 2.66GHz ...........
Intel DG33TL ................. ASUS P5Q Premium ......... ASUS P5E ...................... Intel DG965PZ ...............
XFX 270x (1050/1490) .... XFX 7950 (1120/1500) .... MSI 7870 (890/1370) ..... Intel onboard gfx ..........
Ceton infiniTV4 tuner ...... ATI 5970 (800/1000) ......
8GB Crucial DDR2-800 .... 4GB G.Skill DDR2-1200 .... 4GB Corsair DDR2-800 .... 4GB Corsair DDR2-800 ....
Intel X-25M 80GB ........... Intel X-25M 80GB ........... WD 500GB Green ............ WD 1TB Black ................
Antec 650w .................... Corsair 750w .................. Thermaltake 750w .......... 275w PSU .....................
2x WD 2TB Green ..........


BTC: 17jbS7Kq2BMC9VGYa1cDSBoZWarWyovjfv
gsrcrxsi is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-25-10, 10:58 AM Thread Starter   #13
hackintosh
Member



Join Date: May 2010

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsrcrxsi View Post
GTX 460, 470, 480, 580 all have 2xDVI + 1xHDMI.

you cant use all three to drive 3 monitors?

I know there is someone on xtreme, and I think here also who has a 295gtx and he is running all three of his monitors off of his one card and I am pretty sure that is an Invidia card. He has pictures of his system and there is no other card and he has images of his 3 monitors working together, so I am not really sure why everyone says Invidia cards can't run 3.

I have been looking for a day now trying to find that pic again but it was in one of the forums under the show off your box threads.
hackintosh is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-25-10, 12:54 PM   #14
pwnmachine
Member

 
pwnmachine's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by hackintosh View Post
I know there is someone on xtreme, and I think here also who has a 295gtx and he is running all three of his monitors off of his one card and I am pretty sure that is an Invidia card. He has pictures of his system and there is no other card and he has images of his 3 monitors working together, so I am not really sure why everyone says Invidia cards can't run 3.

I have been looking for a day now trying to find that pic again but it was in one of the forums under the show off your box threads.

Check here.

There is only a certain type of 295 that can do it, it is the one with the 2dvi and 1hdmi ports.

__________________
i5 2500k @ 4.8 gHz. 1.3v..................Q9650 @ 4.0 gHz.
Kingston Hyper 1600mHz 4gb..........XMS3 1600mHz 4gb
Asus P8P67 Pro B3...........................790i Ultra FTW
XFX 5970 BE + XFX 5850..................GTX 260 2xSLI
CM Hyper 212/Thermalright HR-03...Scythe Mugen II
CM Cosmos S Modified......................NZXT H2
Custom Maple Gaming Case
pwnmachine is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-26-10, 03:31 PM   #15
torin3
Member


 
torin3's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Seeing how many GPUs I can cram in one box

 
I tested a 3 monitor setup on a Nvidia 9800 GX2 (EVGA) and it worked for all 3 monitors.

__________________
Please fold for Team 32!
System to be updated soon
My Heat
Folding User Stats
BTC: 12CMeZKPnCg7nV5vgP57vSjSyshrMm67Tk
torin3 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-27-10, 01:13 AM   #16
gsrcrxsi
Member



Join Date: Feb 2008

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by pwnmachine View Post
Check here.

There is only a certain type of 295 that can do it, it is the one with the 2dvi and 1hdmi ports.
yea but what about the fermi cards that have 2xDVI +1xHDMI?

__________________
---HTPC--- .................... ---MINE1/PTS--- .............. ---MINE2/PTS--- ............ ---SPARE/PTS--- .............
Antec Fusion Remote ...... No Case/Tray Mounted .... Coolmax Case ............... AOpen B200 ..................
E5200 @ 2.50GHz .......... Q9650 @ 3.83GHz ........... Q9550 @ 3.54GHz .......... E6700 @ 2.66GHz ...........
Intel DG33TL ................. ASUS P5Q Premium ......... ASUS P5E ...................... Intel DG965PZ ...............
XFX 270x (1050/1490) .... XFX 7950 (1120/1500) .... MSI 7870 (890/1370) ..... Intel onboard gfx ..........
Ceton infiniTV4 tuner ...... ATI 5970 (800/1000) ......
8GB Crucial DDR2-800 .... 4GB G.Skill DDR2-1200 .... 4GB Corsair DDR2-800 .... 4GB Corsair DDR2-800 ....
Intel X-25M 80GB ........... Intel X-25M 80GB ........... WD 500GB Green ............ WD 1TB Black ................
Antec 650w .................... Corsair 750w .................. Thermaltake 750w .......... 275w PSU .....................
2x WD 2TB Green ..........


BTC: 17jbS7Kq2BMC9VGYa1cDSBoZWarWyovjfv
gsrcrxsi is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-27-10, 10:36 AM   #17
torin3
Member


 
torin3's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Seeing how many GPUs I can cram in one box

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsrcrxsi View Post
yea but what about the fermi cards that have 2xDVI +1xHDMI?
I've got 2 GTX 460s in my system right now. I'm going to be working on the overclock and putting the SLI bridge on it later today. I'll test it out by pulling out one of the cards before putting the SLI bridge on it and let you know if it works.

__________________
Please fold for Team 32!
System to be updated soon
My Heat
Folding User Stats
BTC: 12CMeZKPnCg7nV5vgP57vSjSyshrMm67Tk
torin3 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-27-10, 11:36 AM   #18
djscrew
Member



Join Date: Nov 2010

 
my money is on the yes for 2 dvi + 1 hdmi for 3 monitors for the fermi cards

__________________

24/7 PC
CPU: i7 950 d0 @ 4.022 GHz (1.21v)
QPI: 6.894 GHz (1.40v)
RAM: OCZ DDR3 2000 2GB x 6 @ 1914 Mhz, 8-9-8-24-1T (1.66v)
Cooling: Corsair H50 Under 90C core temps stable in Prime95 Blend.
Mobo: Asus Rampage III Formula
GPU: MSI Hawk 460 GTX
Boot SSD: OCZ Revodrive 120 GB
Case: Corsair 700D
PSU: Corsair HX850
djscrew is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-27-10, 01:05 PM   #19
torin3
Member


 
torin3's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Seeing how many GPUs I can cram in one box

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by djscrew View Post
my money is on the yes for 2 dvi + 1 hdmi for 3 monitors for the fermi cards
Nope.

1 GTX 460 will power 2 monitors, 1 hdmi + 1 DVI or 2 DVI.

Even in the Nvidia control panel it says that it will only power 2 monitors.

The 9800 GX2 and the GTX 295 will power 3 because they have 2 GPUs on board.

So it looks like Nvidia cards can only power 2 monitors per physical GPU, regardless of the connectors.

For the OP: A 9800 GX2 would probably be the cheapest option if you can find one. GTX 295 with 3 physical connectors should work, but the dual PCB one will definately work if it has 1 HDMI and 2 DVI connectors on it.

__________________
Please fold for Team 32!
System to be updated soon
My Heat
Folding User Stats
BTC: 12CMeZKPnCg7nV5vgP57vSjSyshrMm67Tk
torin3 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-27-10, 05:45 PM   #20
gsrcrxsi
Member



Join Date: Feb 2008

 
Aw that's lame. 2 in SLI would be fine for 3 monitors though right?

__________________
---HTPC--- .................... ---MINE1/PTS--- .............. ---MINE2/PTS--- ............ ---SPARE/PTS--- .............
Antec Fusion Remote ...... No Case/Tray Mounted .... Coolmax Case ............... AOpen B200 ..................
E5200 @ 2.50GHz .......... Q9650 @ 3.83GHz ........... Q9550 @ 3.54GHz .......... E6700 @ 2.66GHz ...........
Intel DG33TL ................. ASUS P5Q Premium ......... ASUS P5E ...................... Intel DG965PZ ...............
XFX 270x (1050/1490) .... XFX 7950 (1120/1500) .... MSI 7870 (890/1370) ..... Intel onboard gfx ..........
Ceton infiniTV4 tuner ...... ATI 5970 (800/1000) ......
8GB Crucial DDR2-800 .... 4GB G.Skill DDR2-1200 .... 4GB Corsair DDR2-800 .... 4GB Corsair DDR2-800 ....
Intel X-25M 80GB ........... Intel X-25M 80GB ........... WD 500GB Green ............ WD 1TB Black ................
Antec 650w .................... Corsair 750w .................. Thermaltake 750w .......... 275w PSU .....................
2x WD 2TB Green ..........


BTC: 17jbS7Kq2BMC9VGYa1cDSBoZWarWyovjfv
gsrcrxsi is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?