Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Abit AN9 32x - XFX Radeon 5870

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-29-10, 10:39 AM Thread Starter   #1
Cown
Member

 
Cown's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Denmark

10 Year Badge
 
Abit AN9 32x - XFX Radeon 5870


Hi Guys

My friend recently bought a new gfx, the XFX Radeon 5870.

The problem is his computer wont start up with this new card.

Do any of you guys know what the problem might be?

He also bought a new PSU 650W CoolerMaster, the GX series.

I've tried clearing CMOS, as well as flashing the BIOS with the latest ROM from their hp, but it dates back to 2008, so it's pretty old.

Might this be a compatibility issue?

If the two things dont work together he will die


EDIT: I've tried the card in my rig, and it works perfect.


Thanks in advance.

__________________
Intel Core i7 2700k @ 3,95 Ghz / EK Supreme EF
ASUS Maximus V Gene
Corsair Vengeance 16 Gb PC3-12800 @ 1866 Mhz 9-10-9-24
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti Dual Classified w/ EVGA ACX Cooler
2 x OCZ Vertex 3 120 Gb SSD RAID 0
Lian-Li PC-A10B
Corsair TX750W PSU
Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate


Project: ROG meets Lian Li
Cown is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 11-29-10, 05:33 PM   #2
repilce

 
repilce's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: E600000 - E60000FF

10 Year Badge
 
This is Odd, if it's pci-e it "should" work period. But as we all know should|=does

If the latest bios update did not work, and your 4890 did my guess is just an anomaly of compatibility. I'd say google to see if you can find other reports of this problem, but i doubt your gonna find too many people still running that mobo and get'n 5870's for them gonna be a major bottle neck for that gpu

__________________

X5670 @ 3.6ghz / P6T Deluxe / 3 x 4GB Ripjaw 1333 c7 / HD6950

Black belt Ubercloxx0r My Heat
repilce is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-29-10, 05:42 PM   #3
repilce

 
repilce's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: E600000 - E60000FF

10 Year Badge
 
after some reading myself, hard to say.. seen some other people with 590 chipsets saying same problem.. but also others with newer boards having same problem. specifically from xfx. all else fails i'd RMA the card.

__________________

X5670 @ 3.6ghz / P6T Deluxe / 3 x 4GB Ripjaw 1333 c7 / HD6950

Black belt Ubercloxx0r My Heat
repilce is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-30-10, 03:17 AM Thread Starter   #4
Cown
Member

 
Cown's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Denmark

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by repilce View Post
This is Odd, if it's pci-e it "should" work period. But as we all know should|=does

If the latest bios update did not work, and your 4890 did my guess is just an anomaly of compatibility. I'd say google to see if you can find other reports of this problem, but i doubt your gonna find too many people still running that mobo and get'n 5870's for them gonna be a major bottle neck for that gpu
My 4890 card boots normally in his rig. I'm afraid as well that the problem is compatability. Before I made my post here, I searched google clean, with no result other than some guy having the same problem (another chipset though) but the problem was due to his PSU not being powerfull enough.

__________________
Intel Core i7 2700k @ 3,95 Ghz / EK Supreme EF
ASUS Maximus V Gene
Corsair Vengeance 16 Gb PC3-12800 @ 1866 Mhz 9-10-9-24
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti Dual Classified w/ EVGA ACX Cooler
2 x OCZ Vertex 3 120 Gb SSD RAID 0
Lian-Li PC-A10B
Corsair TX750W PSU
Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate


Project: ROG meets Lian Li
Cown is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-30-10, 03:22 AM Thread Starter   #5
Cown
Member

 
Cown's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Denmark

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by repilce View Post
after some reading myself, hard to say.. seen some other people with 590 chipsets saying same problem.. but also others with newer boards having same problem. specifically from xfx. all else fails i'd RMA the card.
I would, but the problem is that it works in my setup, I've also run mulitple benchmarks on the card and it works and performs perfectly.

The 590 chipset supports 16x PCI-E which was my main concern.

Another thing that doesn't make sense is that my 4890 card posts fine in his computer and the difference between the cards isnt that great, except for performance of course.

If the only solution is to downgrade the grafics to eg. 4890, would crossfire be possible on 590? I remember the older chipsets from nvidia only supporting SLI.

__________________
Intel Core i7 2700k @ 3,95 Ghz / EK Supreme EF
ASUS Maximus V Gene
Corsair Vengeance 16 Gb PC3-12800 @ 1866 Mhz 9-10-9-24
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti Dual Classified w/ EVGA ACX Cooler
2 x OCZ Vertex 3 120 Gb SSD RAID 0
Lian-Li PC-A10B
Corsair TX750W PSU
Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate


Project: ROG meets Lian Li
Cown is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-30-10, 06:45 AM   #6
QuietIce
Disabled



Join Date: May 2006
Location: Anywhere but there

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cown View Post
If the only solution is to downgrade the grafics to eg. 4890, would crossfire be possible on 590? I remember the older chipsets from nvidia only supporting SLI.
nVidia chipsets still only support SLI, not Crossfire, so I doubt you can run Crossfire with that board ...
QuietIce is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-30-10, 07:05 AM Thread Starter   #7
Cown
Member

 
Cown's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Denmark

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuietIce View Post
nVidia chipsets still only support SLI, not Crossfire, so I doubt you can run Crossfire with that board ...
Damn, well that sucks lol, I've just sent a support ticket to XFX hoping they
might have some insight to this problem, if not, I guess my friend needs to
pull out wallet and upgrade everything

Thanks for the help guys.

__________________
Intel Core i7 2700k @ 3,95 Ghz / EK Supreme EF
ASUS Maximus V Gene
Corsair Vengeance 16 Gb PC3-12800 @ 1866 Mhz 9-10-9-24
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti Dual Classified w/ EVGA ACX Cooler
2 x OCZ Vertex 3 120 Gb SSD RAID 0
Lian-Li PC-A10B
Corsair TX750W PSU
Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate


Project: ROG meets Lian Li
Cown is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-30-10, 06:58 PM   #8
PicodeGallo
Member

 
PicodeGallo's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2010

 
My vote would be to upgrade. I have the same mobo with a 6000+ and the bottleneck is RAM and CPU. I just upgraded to a Phenom II with Mushkin Redline RAM and it's an entirely new system running only 1 9800GT (AN9-32X was running 2 9800's in SLI). Gameplay is greatly increased, but the video card is now the problem. My new one will be here tomorrow.

For example, my Far Cry 2 benches on the basic timedemo (1900x1200 res, DX10):
Old system (SLI) - Avg 36 fps (Ultra high settings, no AA)
New (no SLI) - Avg 35 fps (Ultra high settings, 4xAA)

The thing to note is the minimum avg fps, where old went from 8 and new to 17 fps, proving the CPU was the bottleneck. The video quality (image quality) was increased greatly--it is more 'cinematic.'
PicodeGallo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-01-10, 01:37 AM   #9
repilce

 
repilce's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: E600000 - E60000FF

10 Year Badge
 
here's a question, have you tried his 5870 in your rig? just to see if it works right at all?

__________________

X5670 @ 3.6ghz / P6T Deluxe / 3 x 4GB Ripjaw 1333 c7 / HD6950

Black belt Ubercloxx0r My Heat
repilce is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-01-10, 03:03 AM Thread Starter   #10
Cown
Member

 
Cown's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Denmark

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by repilce View Post
here's a question, have you tried his 5870 in your rig? just to see if it works right at all?
Ofc.

__________________
Intel Core i7 2700k @ 3,95 Ghz / EK Supreme EF
ASUS Maximus V Gene
Corsair Vengeance 16 Gb PC3-12800 @ 1866 Mhz 9-10-9-24
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti Dual Classified w/ EVGA ACX Cooler
2 x OCZ Vertex 3 120 Gb SSD RAID 0
Lian-Li PC-A10B
Corsair TX750W PSU
Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate


Project: ROG meets Lian Li
Cown is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-02-10, 08:42 AM Thread Starter   #11
Cown
Member

 
Cown's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Denmark

10 Year Badge
 
Here's a thought, can the PCI-E ports version, being 1.0a I think, have anything to do with it?

__________________
Intel Core i7 2700k @ 3,95 Ghz / EK Supreme EF
ASUS Maximus V Gene
Corsair Vengeance 16 Gb PC3-12800 @ 1866 Mhz 9-10-9-24
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti Dual Classified w/ EVGA ACX Cooler
2 x OCZ Vertex 3 120 Gb SSD RAID 0
Lian-Li PC-A10B
Corsair TX750W PSU
Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate


Project: ROG meets Lian Li
Cown is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-02-10, 09:20 AM   #12
QuietIce
Disabled



Join Date: May 2006
Location: Anywhere but there

 
It should be backward compatible.

One thing I thought of, though - do you have a 4-pin Molex plugged into the motherboard (center-back of the baord)? The power draw of the new card might be enough of a difference to make that important ...
QuietIce is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-02-10, 10:15 AM Thread Starter   #13
Cown
Member

 
Cown's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Denmark

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuietIce View Post
It should be backward compatible.

One thing I thought of, though - do you have a 4-pin Molex plugged into the motherboard (center-back of the baord)? The power draw of the new card might be enough of a difference to make that important ...
Yeah, the molex plug is connected.

I would also have thought that it was compatible, since the 4890 card works fine in the system. XFX told me that it might be a possability but that they could not confirm it, due to the fact that they can't say for sure, since it isn't their motherboard. Abit has failed to reply to my mail, so I guess I am drawing a blank for now

__________________
Intel Core i7 2700k @ 3,95 Ghz / EK Supreme EF
ASUS Maximus V Gene
Corsair Vengeance 16 Gb PC3-12800 @ 1866 Mhz 9-10-9-24
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti Dual Classified w/ EVGA ACX Cooler
2 x OCZ Vertex 3 120 Gb SSD RAID 0
Lian-Li PC-A10B
Corsair TX750W PSU
Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate


Project: ROG meets Lian Li
Cown is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-02-10, 10:39 AM   #14
QuietIce
Disabled



Join Date: May 2006
Location: Anywhere but there

 
I would have asked XFX if it's a standard reference card. If it IS then a board incompatibility wouldn't be their problem. But if the video card is a non-reference card it could be their problem ...
QuietIce is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-02-10, 11:32 AM Thread Starter   #15
Cown
Member

 
Cown's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Denmark

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuietIce View Post
I would have asked XFX if it's a standard reference card. If it IS then a board incompatibility wouldn't be their problem. But if the video card is a non-reference card it could be their problem ...
Thanks, I will sneak this question in when I get a reply from Abit

__________________
Intel Core i7 2700k @ 3,95 Ghz / EK Supreme EF
ASUS Maximus V Gene
Corsair Vengeance 16 Gb PC3-12800 @ 1866 Mhz 9-10-9-24
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti Dual Classified w/ EVGA ACX Cooler
2 x OCZ Vertex 3 120 Gb SSD RAID 0
Lian-Li PC-A10B
Corsair TX750W PSU
Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate


Project: ROG meets Lian Li
Cown is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-03-10, 11:34 PM   #16
theflyingrat
Member

 
theflyingrat's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: St. Paul, MN, USA

10 Year Badge
 
Err... does Abit even still answer questions about motherboard support? They've completely left the motherboard market as of a couple years ago...

As a side note, the Cooler Master GX-650W is a heaping bowl of fail. It'd surprise me little to find out that it was unable to properly operate the 5870. Had you tried instead with your (markedly superior in every way) Corsair?

__________________
ASUS P8Z68-V LX ; Core i7-3770K @ 4.3GHz ; 8GB (2x4GB) G.Skill Sniper DDR3-1600 ; ZeroTherm ZT-10D ; Sapphire Radeon HD 7950 ; Samsung 830 256GB + 840 EVO 250GB ; Rosewill HIVE-550 ; Windows 7 Ultimate

2005 Kawasaki Z750S | 2011 Kawasaki ZX-6R | 2008 Yamaha WR250X
theflyingrat is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-06-10, 01:41 AM   #17
Ssnake
New Member



Join Date: May 2008

 
I have this board


I just got a XFX 6870 for this board and it was able to run it fine. I am using an Antec 550W PSU. Could be something specific to that card or model.
Ssnake is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-06-10, 02:12 AM Thread Starter   #18
Cown
Member

 
Cown's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Denmark

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by theflyingrat View Post
Err... does Abit even still answer questions about motherboard support? They've completely left the motherboard market as of a couple years ago...

As a side note, the Cooler Master GX-650W is a heaping bowl of fail. It'd surprise me little to find out that it was unable to properly operate the 5870. Had you tried instead with your (markedly superior in every way) Corsair?

Still no answer, så I'm guessing you are right

__________________
Intel Core i7 2700k @ 3,95 Ghz / EK Supreme EF
ASUS Maximus V Gene
Corsair Vengeance 16 Gb PC3-12800 @ 1866 Mhz 9-10-9-24
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti Dual Classified w/ EVGA ACX Cooler
2 x OCZ Vertex 3 120 Gb SSD RAID 0
Lian-Li PC-A10B
Corsair TX750W PSU
Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate


Project: ROG meets Lian Li
Cown is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-06-10, 02:19 AM Thread Starter   #19
Cown
Member

 
Cown's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Denmark

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ssnake View Post
I just got a XFX 6870 for this board and it was able to run it fine. I am using an Antec 550W PSU. Could be something specific to that card or model.
Thanks for your reply, that kinda confirms what I discovered last night.

After I took advices from you guys, I gave it one last shot and used my PSU in his system. Nothing changed.

So after som talking back and forth, we decided that he would get my 2 x 4890's and some cash, I'd get his 5870 and we'd call it a day.

As you all know when you get new hardware there's a thrill you get from benchmarking the **** out of it, so naturally, that's what I did. Ran som 3DMarks, no problem, and thought I'd wanna play some Black Ops and see how it goes. 5 minuttes in to the game I get a gray screen and the computer locks down, wtf I thought and remembered I might have altered some RAM settings in BIOS the other day, so i did a reset and tried again. 10 minuttes after I get horizontal gray lines, the screen flickers, and small black and red squares apear all over the screen and the computer crashes again.

I then pulled out the card, gave the connectors a cleaning and doublechecked all power cords etc. 10-15 minuttes in, same crap happens.

I then updated my mobo BIOS as well as the avalible BIOS update for the gfx, and rebooted, not even passing the boot screen, the card does the same with the lines and squares and then goes black. I haven't been able to make it post since and my mobo also tells me through error led's that the vga i screwed.

EDIT: I forgot to mention that I think the card suffers from a fan speed control malfunction. I noticed the fans rpm not changing during full load maybe causing the card to overheat and crash, explaining why the errors didn't occur to begin with. I think the overheating probably damaged the card and that's why it won't give any sign of life now. I had 2 x 4890's in the mashine before and I remember when things got hot, these babies reminded me that they where there to kick some ass and made damn sure that I heard about it The 5870 has been to my, wondering surprise, very very silent.

Status now is that I RMA'd it and am waiting for a new card, hopefully one that isn's screwed

I want to thank you guys again for your help and advice.

__________________
Intel Core i7 2700k @ 3,95 Ghz / EK Supreme EF
ASUS Maximus V Gene
Corsair Vengeance 16 Gb PC3-12800 @ 1866 Mhz 9-10-9-24
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti Dual Classified w/ EVGA ACX Cooler
2 x OCZ Vertex 3 120 Gb SSD RAID 0
Lian-Li PC-A10B
Corsair TX750W PSU
Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate


Project: ROG meets Lian Li

Last edited by Cown; 12-06-10 at 02:28 AM.
Cown is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-06-10, 02:33 AM Thread Starter   #20
Cown
Member

 
Cown's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Denmark

10 Year Badge
 
I will btw as soon as I recieve the new card, unless they can't get one and give me the money back, post an update and confirm that the card was screwed and it wasn't a compatability issue or vice versa.

__________________
Intel Core i7 2700k @ 3,95 Ghz / EK Supreme EF
ASUS Maximus V Gene
Corsair Vengeance 16 Gb PC3-12800 @ 1866 Mhz 9-10-9-24
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti Dual Classified w/ EVGA ACX Cooler
2 x OCZ Vertex 3 120 Gb SSD RAID 0
Lian-Li PC-A10B
Corsair TX750W PSU
Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate


Project: ROG meets Lian Li
Cown is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?