• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

300Gb Veloceraptor $100 at Newegg

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.
Amazing deal.

I have 2 that I got for 170$ each. If your blacks still aren't zippy enough this is the way to go for game storage!

Thank you very much.

I have been using a 74 GB Raptor for many years. Still working perfect but just to small really. $100 for a 300 gb Veloceraptor with Free Shipping, no chance I'm passing it by.

eh.... dunno if i could spend this much for 300gb of a mechanical drive... rather sacrafice some space and spend a lil more for a ssd if i wanted fast.... but decent deal non the less on the lil drive, apparently they are pretty darn quiet.

eh.... dunno if i could spend this much for 300gb of a mechanical drive... rather sacrafice some space and spend a lil more for a ssd if i wanted fast.... but decent deal non the less on the lil drive, apparently they are pretty darn quiet.

I have the 150GB. Most reliable freakin drive I've had since they used to make hard drives well--- and that was like fifteen years ago. Two years 24/7 never a problem. Can't hear it up against my ear. CAN hear it read / write mind you. Just can't hear it spin.

They get warmer than your average drive in their form factor and they really benefit from having air pass over them. Have a fan near by.

images

It comes with it's own heatsink. IME it's best to blow air across it in the direction of the fins than mount a fan to it.

It's a fast drive. Seriously. It's kinda cute and unique looking too all fat and 2.5" mated to it's fat *** heat sink...

^^^ Lol

I bought one. Never had a raptor before, should be interesting. Really wanted to go SSD but just are not big enough for what i need in my price range.