Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

need ram suggestions

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-29-10, 08:00 PM Thread Starter   #1
garrett27
Registered



Join Date: Oct 2009

 
need ram suggestions


ok well my set up is in my sig and i am looking for new ram doesn't matter the company but i am looking to keep it under say 125
ddr3

let me know what i should get or look for

thanks guys

__________________
ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770
AMD Phenom II X2 550
G Skill Ripjaws 4GB (2 x 2GB) Running at 7-8-7-24@1333
EnerMax liberty 500w
SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 5750 1GB
720gb WD hdd
garrett27 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-29-10, 08:00 PM   #2
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Why are you looking for new ram?

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-29-10, 08:09 PM Thread Starter   #3
garrett27
Registered



Join Date: Oct 2009

 
Im BSODing with my old set, they are dead sticks i memtested and my pc is not able to store data in my ram (both sticks). I messed with my timings and i kept getting the same error. talked to OCZ and the said they would swap for new ones but i cant have my computer down for the time it takes to send out the ram and then wait for new sticks to get back. So there in lies the problem

__________________
ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770
AMD Phenom II X2 550
G Skill Ripjaws 4GB (2 x 2GB) Running at 7-8-7-24@1333
EnerMax liberty 500w
SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 5750 1GB
720gb WD hdd
garrett27 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-29-10, 08:13 PM   #4
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
If its a holdover pair, just get the cheapest you can find that will get you by... some 1333 9-9-9-24 will be fine.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-29-10, 08:18 PM Thread Starter   #5
garrett27
Registered



Join Date: Oct 2009

 
you dont think just upgrading from what i have will be better? i prefer to upgrade. Christmas is coming and i have the money so i was just looking for some other options versus just swapping out my old pair. There has to be something better than the sticks i have for the price range id like to stay in

__________________
ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770
AMD Phenom II X2 550
G Skill Ripjaws 4GB (2 x 2GB) Running at 7-8-7-24@1333
EnerMax liberty 500w
SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 5750 1GB
720gb WD hdd
garrett27 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-29-10, 08:25 PM   #6
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Well, what speed and timings are your ram in sig?

You can try this list of DDR3 1600 CL7 and see if they tickle your fancy.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-29-10, 08:28 PM Thread Starter   #7
garrett27
Registered



Join Date: Oct 2009

 
my timings are 7-7-7-16 1066. ill check out the list now 1066

__________________
ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770
AMD Phenom II X2 550
G Skill Ripjaws 4GB (2 x 2GB) Running at 7-8-7-24@1333
EnerMax liberty 500w
SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 5750 1GB
720gb WD hdd
garrett27 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-29-10, 08:30 PM Thread Starter   #8
garrett27
Registered



Join Date: Oct 2009

 
any particular brands i should be leaning towards or away from on that list. heard good things about g skill and i hear (and have experienced) that OCZ sends alot of dead sticks

__________________
ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770
AMD Phenom II X2 550
G Skill Ripjaws 4GB (2 x 2GB) Running at 7-8-7-24@1333
EnerMax liberty 500w
SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 5750 1GB
720gb WD hdd
garrett27 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-29-10, 08:31 PM   #9
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
You cant get much if any better really. Though 16 is an awfully low Tras. Sure its not around 20 or so?

To me I guess, there isnt a point in getting more unless you are maxing out your current 4gb.

May want to get a more modern PSU, or better GPU. If you sell your old GPU you can get more money towards an even better card.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-29-10, 08:34 PM Thread Starter   #10
garrett27
Registered



Join Date: Oct 2009

 
its 16

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...kim1132X509988

would these ram be worth me sending back then?

__________________
ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770
AMD Phenom II X2 550
G Skill Ripjaws 4GB (2 x 2GB) Running at 7-8-7-24@1333
EnerMax liberty 500w
SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 5750 1GB
720gb WD hdd
garrett27 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-29-10, 08:38 PM   #11
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Damn... 1066 DDR3. Yeah, grab some of that DDR3 1600 CL and go from there.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-522-_-Product

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-29-10, 08:42 PM Thread Starter   #12
garrett27
Registered



Join Date: Oct 2009

 
never heard of patriot, any experience with the company? but timings are sweet and the price is right on.

thanks for the help man really appreciate your time here

__________________
ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770
AMD Phenom II X2 550
G Skill Ripjaws 4GB (2 x 2GB) Running at 7-8-7-24@1333
EnerMax liberty 500w
SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 5750 1GB
720gb WD hdd
garrett27 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-29-10, 08:49 PM   #13
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
I had some DDR2 sticks of theirs in the past. They do what they say they will and likely a bit more.

Ectually, those are 1.7v... forget those...

I would snag these: Gskill Pi 6-8-6-24 DDR3 1600 - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-351-_-Product

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-29-10, 08:51 PM Thread Starter   #14
garrett27
Registered



Join Date: Oct 2009

 
oh do i not want that high?

edit: nvm

And those were the exact sticks i was looking at sweet

__________________
ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770
AMD Phenom II X2 550
G Skill Ripjaws 4GB (2 x 2GB) Running at 7-8-7-24@1333
EnerMax liberty 500w
SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 5750 1GB
720gb WD hdd
garrett27 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-29-10, 08:52 PM   #15
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
I know in intel land its 1.65 or less. AMD may handle the 1.7, not sure, but lower is always better. You may not notice much from the upgrade still, but I would do it anyway.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-29-10, 08:54 PM Thread Starter   #16
garrett27
Registered



Join Date: Oct 2009

 
well my current sticks have been jacked up since the daqy i got them so i think i should notice a hefty difference.

thanks again for the help man

__________________
ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770
AMD Phenom II X2 550
G Skill Ripjaws 4GB (2 x 2GB) Running at 7-8-7-24@1333
EnerMax liberty 500w
SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 5750 1GB
720gb WD hdd
garrett27 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?