Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Virus Removeal

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-06-10, 02:02 PM Thread Starter   #1
Spazztic_Killer
Member



Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Northwest Ohio

 
Virus Removeal


I have a laptop with win 7 on it and it as a virus called wininst.exe and i think its is causing the explorer.exe process to restart and its a pain does anyone know how to remove it easy?

__________________
My Rig
MB-Asus Maximus Formula S/E
CPU-Intel Core 2 Duo E6850 Conroe 3.0 GHz (o/c to 3.51GHz)
Video Card-Evga GeForce 8800GTS (G92) 512MB PCI-E v 2.0
Sound Card-Auzentech X-Fi Prelude 7.1 with X-Ram
Surround Sound System-Logitech z-5550 5.1
RAM-Corsair Dominator 2x1GB DDR2 1066 PC2 8500
HDD-Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB SATA cache 32MB
DVD Burner-2x LITE-ON Model LH-20A1L-06
OS-XP Pro
PSU-Thermaltake Tough Power 850w w0131
Case-Thermaltake Kandalf LCS vd4000bws
Spazztic_Killer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-06-10, 03:20 PM   #2
Tokae
Member

 
Tokae's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London Canada

 
Download MalwareBytes Anti=Malware, then reboot in safe mode (pressing F8 after the BIOS info has shown). Install Malwarebytes once you are into windows, then run a thorough scan.. It should pick up anything that is not supposed to be there. Another good program to have running is SpyBot Search & Destroy. Install this program after you have ran the previously listed program from normal windows , (do not install Tea Timer part) and update it. Then click 'Immunize'. As for general Anti-Virus, I recommend Avast Free Anti-Virus if you don't have a current solution..

__________________
I have old stuff!
Tokae is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-06-10, 03:51 PM   #3
madhatter256
Special Member ★

 
madhatter256's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: CFL

 
Combofix is also another good remover.

__________________
Folding User Stats
Heatware
madhatter256 is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-08-10, 10:26 AM Thread Starter   #4
Spazztic_Killer
Member



Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Northwest Ohio

 
ok i have tried to run combofix and antimalware bytes and spybot S&D. But the laptop dont seem to wana stay turned on long enough for me to run them. I think when the pc goes to sleep or into the screen saver it shutsdown.? It is a little bigger than a netbook so it dont have a cd drive. how do i reinstall windows 7?

__________________
My Rig
MB-Asus Maximus Formula S/E
CPU-Intel Core 2 Duo E6850 Conroe 3.0 GHz (o/c to 3.51GHz)
Video Card-Evga GeForce 8800GTS (G92) 512MB PCI-E v 2.0
Sound Card-Auzentech X-Fi Prelude 7.1 with X-Ram
Surround Sound System-Logitech z-5550 5.1
RAM-Corsair Dominator 2x1GB DDR2 1066 PC2 8500
HDD-Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB SATA cache 32MB
DVD Burner-2x LITE-ON Model LH-20A1L-06
OS-XP Pro
PSU-Thermaltake Tough Power 850w w0131
Case-Thermaltake Kandalf LCS vd4000bws
Spazztic_Killer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-08-10, 10:27 AM Thread Starter   #5
Spazztic_Killer
Member



Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Northwest Ohio

 
Everytime I go to kill the processes it causes the laptop to blue screen and reboot.

__________________
My Rig
MB-Asus Maximus Formula S/E
CPU-Intel Core 2 Duo E6850 Conroe 3.0 GHz (o/c to 3.51GHz)
Video Card-Evga GeForce 8800GTS (G92) 512MB PCI-E v 2.0
Sound Card-Auzentech X-Fi Prelude 7.1 with X-Ram
Surround Sound System-Logitech z-5550 5.1
RAM-Corsair Dominator 2x1GB DDR2 1066 PC2 8500
HDD-Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB SATA cache 32MB
DVD Burner-2x LITE-ON Model LH-20A1L-06
OS-XP Pro
PSU-Thermaltake Tough Power 850w w0131
Case-Thermaltake Kandalf LCS vd4000bws
Spazztic_Killer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-08-10, 11:02 AM   #6
Black C5 Z06

 
Black C5 Z06's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Upstate, SC

 
You can buy pretty cheap external USB DVD-Drives for installations.

__________________

Main Rig: 4770K | NH-D14 | Z87 Sabertooth | 16GB (2x8GB) Sniper 1833 | Powercolor 7950 | Seasonic 860W Platinum
Home Server: 4130T | NH-C12P | Z87-G55 | 8GB (2x4GB) Ares 2133 | Seasonic X650

Folding User Stats
Black C5 Z06 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-08-10, 12:00 PM   #7
Tokae
Member

 
Tokae's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London Canada

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spazztic_Killer View Post
ok i have tried to run combofix and antimalware bytes and spybot S&D. But the laptop dont seem to wana stay turned on long enough for me to run them. I think when the pc goes to sleep or into the screen saver it shutsdown.? It is a little bigger than a netbook so it dont have a cd drive. how do i reinstall windows 7?
Do you have the power cord plugged in? Also you can change the power settings so that it will not go into sleep mode by right clicking on the desktop, then going to personalize, then click on screensavers, and finally near the bottom of that window I believe is power settings.. adjust the balanced settings to never turn off and you should then be able to run all of the programs without it putting the laptop into sleep mode...

To reinstall windows 7 you would have to have some sort of external harddrive or cdrom (USB most likely) or have a USB flashdrive with windows 7 on it. Then in the BIOS you have to choose 'removable device' as your first boot option.

__________________
I have old stuff!
Tokae is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-09-10, 03:05 PM Thread Starter   #8
Spazztic_Killer
Member



Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Northwest Ohio

 
well i will try and put windows 7 onto a flash drive.
I think it as infected the files in system32 folder like lass.exe,services.exe,etc. Can i boot off of Damn Small Linux and remove the files that way or will it criple the pc?

__________________
My Rig
MB-Asus Maximus Formula S/E
CPU-Intel Core 2 Duo E6850 Conroe 3.0 GHz (o/c to 3.51GHz)
Video Card-Evga GeForce 8800GTS (G92) 512MB PCI-E v 2.0
Sound Card-Auzentech X-Fi Prelude 7.1 with X-Ram
Surround Sound System-Logitech z-5550 5.1
RAM-Corsair Dominator 2x1GB DDR2 1066 PC2 8500
HDD-Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB SATA cache 32MB
DVD Burner-2x LITE-ON Model LH-20A1L-06
OS-XP Pro
PSU-Thermaltake Tough Power 850w w0131
Case-Thermaltake Kandalf LCS vd4000bws
Spazztic_Killer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-09-10, 03:42 PM   #9
Tokae
Member

 
Tokae's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London Canada

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spazztic_Killer View Post
well i will try and put windows 7 onto a flash drive.
I think it as infected the files in system32 folder like lass.exe,services.exe,etc. Can i boot off of Damn Small Linux and remove the files that way or will it criple the pc?
It all depends on if they were actually replaced by the virus, or if you are just seeing another file named like those. If you don't care about losing the OS then try to delete them that way and see what happens! Make sure your personal data is backed up first!

__________________
I have old stuff!
Tokae is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-09-10, 06:21 PM Thread Starter   #10
Spazztic_Killer
Member



Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Northwest Ohio

 
ok ill try it thanks alot ill report back later on what happens

__________________
My Rig
MB-Asus Maximus Formula S/E
CPU-Intel Core 2 Duo E6850 Conroe 3.0 GHz (o/c to 3.51GHz)
Video Card-Evga GeForce 8800GTS (G92) 512MB PCI-E v 2.0
Sound Card-Auzentech X-Fi Prelude 7.1 with X-Ram
Surround Sound System-Logitech z-5550 5.1
RAM-Corsair Dominator 2x1GB DDR2 1066 PC2 8500
HDD-Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB SATA cache 32MB
DVD Burner-2x LITE-ON Model LH-20A1L-06
OS-XP Pro
PSU-Thermaltake Tough Power 850w w0131
Case-Thermaltake Kandalf LCS vd4000bws
Spazztic_Killer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-09-10, 10:34 PM   #11
Ninth
Member



Join Date: Mar 2008

 
I don't have much faith in extracting a virus from windows systems. It's always been "export files and reinstall OS" in my history :/ You can't know which files were compromised, assuming the virus got admin level privlages, you really can't assume anything, so even if you remove certain files the virus could be hiding in at the tail end of some dime a dozen exe file and just pop up again at the next boot.

__________________
CPU: E8400
Mobo: P5k Prem
GPU: HD4850
Ram: Gskill 2x2gig DDR2-1000
PSU: Corsair 620HX
HDD: 250 Gig barracuda

CPU block: Apogee GT
GPU block: MCW60
Pump:MCP655
Rad:MCR320 (3x yl med)
Ninth is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-10-10, 08:27 AM Thread Starter   #12
Spazztic_Killer
Member



Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Northwest Ohio

 
right so what i am doing is booting into fedora from a flash drive, and backing up the whole drive, and after it copies all the files over i will put the windows 7 installer on the flash drive and install it. And i will plug in the ex. hdd into my desktop and run kaspersky scanner and malware bytes.

__________________
My Rig
MB-Asus Maximus Formula S/E
CPU-Intel Core 2 Duo E6850 Conroe 3.0 GHz (o/c to 3.51GHz)
Video Card-Evga GeForce 8800GTS (G92) 512MB PCI-E v 2.0
Sound Card-Auzentech X-Fi Prelude 7.1 with X-Ram
Surround Sound System-Logitech z-5550 5.1
RAM-Corsair Dominator 2x1GB DDR2 1066 PC2 8500
HDD-Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB SATA cache 32MB
DVD Burner-2x LITE-ON Model LH-20A1L-06
OS-XP Pro
PSU-Thermaltake Tough Power 850w w0131
Case-Thermaltake Kandalf LCS vd4000bws
Spazztic_Killer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-11-10, 01:56 AM   #13
Ninth
Member



Join Date: Mar 2008

 
Sounds fine by me. Kaspersky is pretty reliable as far as a good virus scanner goes. Interesting that you chose fedora; nothing bad about it; buntu live cd's just seem to be the weapon of choice in this process nowadays.

__________________
CPU: E8400
Mobo: P5k Prem
GPU: HD4850
Ram: Gskill 2x2gig DDR2-1000
PSU: Corsair 620HX
HDD: 250 Gig barracuda

CPU block: Apogee GT
GPU block: MCW60
Pump:MCP655
Rad:MCR320 (3x yl med)
Ninth is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-11-10, 04:54 PM   #14
Genjix
Member



Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Queenz NYC

 
use avira , works for me most of the time.
Genjix is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-16-10, 01:24 PM Thread Starter   #15
Spazztic_Killer
Member



Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Northwest Ohio

 
I agree with you Ninth but i dont have the newest one downloaded so I have many linux oses download i just like the way ubuntu and fedora handles external hdd's. But I have found over 2,500 virus on it so but its clean and works like a charm now thanks alot.

__________________
My Rig
MB-Asus Maximus Formula S/E
CPU-Intel Core 2 Duo E6850 Conroe 3.0 GHz (o/c to 3.51GHz)
Video Card-Evga GeForce 8800GTS (G92) 512MB PCI-E v 2.0
Sound Card-Auzentech X-Fi Prelude 7.1 with X-Ram
Surround Sound System-Logitech z-5550 5.1
RAM-Corsair Dominator 2x1GB DDR2 1066 PC2 8500
HDD-Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB SATA cache 32MB
DVD Burner-2x LITE-ON Model LH-20A1L-06
OS-XP Pro
PSU-Thermaltake Tough Power 850w w0131
Case-Thermaltake Kandalf LCS vd4000bws
Spazztic_Killer is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?