Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

HELP Cache in Windows 7 64

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-11-10, 08:50 AM Thread Starter   #1
Archer0915
"The Expert"

 
Archer0915's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: East Carolina University Grad School

 
HELP Cache in Windows 7 64


To save me a lot of time and headache does anyone know where the registry key for disk cache size is? I am doing some HTPC work using 16Gigs of memory and a Partiot 8GB high speed USB flash drive to find the best setup for power efficency.

I will give credit in my article for any help I get and will add a special thanks to OCF and perhaps I can get a sister article worked up for here as well.

__________________
People that buy OEM systems think Linux was a Charlie Brown character, a registry is something you see at target to buy shower gifts, RAM is a Dodge truck and a hard drive is DC at rush hour.
Knowing your usage habits can help you save money and get the fastest system for you!

Current Active Fleet:
Daily Driver - i7@3.8, 16GB Ram, 6770 GFX Bedroom PC - SB Celerey @ 1.6, 4GB Ram
Entertainment Room HTPC & Madia/File Server - 661@3.5, 4GB Ram, On Chip GFXLiving Room HTPC - E-450@1.9 GHz, 4GB Ram

Game Rig - 2500K@4.5, 12GB Ram, 465GTX + 9800GT (PhysX) using intel SRT
Test Bed - 3570K with various components and a TT 750w PSU
Archer0915 is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-11-10, 09:43 AM   #2
SeanBest
Member

 
SeanBest's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Harrisonburg, VA

 
Think this is it ...

http://en.kioskea.net/faq/7106-windo...-of-disk-cache

Hope that helps, doesn't seem like you can set a specific size however.

__________________
HEAT
Motherboard --------- BIOSTAR TPower I45
CPU ------------------- Intel E8600 @ 4GHz
Memory -------------- 4GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066
Cooling --------------- Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
HDDs ----------------- Western Digital Velociraptor 300GB 10k RPM
Graphics Card ------- MSI HD4870 OC Edition
Soundcard ----------- Creative X-Fi Xtremegamer
Case ------------------ Antec Nine Hundered
Power Supply -------- OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W
OS -------------------- Win 7 Pro x64, Mint Debian x64
SeanBest is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-11-10, 09:53 AM Thread Starter   #3
Archer0915
"The Expert"

 
Archer0915's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: East Carolina University Grad School

 
Thanks I have seen similar things. I guess I thought it would be like the old days when you could actually set a cache size so the HDD would shut down. I will see what happens with this but I honestly feel there are some lines (code or registry) somewhere that will actually allow me to do two things.

I want to use the USB key as virtual memory and use 8-12 gigs of the memory as cache.

I used to play with registry and system settings all the time. Hell I had 720K conventional memory avalible in MS-Dos by simply observing what reserved memory in the UMB area were not used. Win3 did not like it but Geo Works did great.

Anyway I do appreciate the link. OH btw anyone following this thread: CCC and other ATi software may not play nice with a large system cache.

__________________
People that buy OEM systems think Linux was a Charlie Brown character, a registry is something you see at target to buy shower gifts, RAM is a Dodge truck and a hard drive is DC at rush hour.
Knowing your usage habits can help you save money and get the fastest system for you!

Current Active Fleet:
Daily Driver - i7@3.8, 16GB Ram, 6770 GFX Bedroom PC - SB Celerey @ 1.6, 4GB Ram
Entertainment Room HTPC & Madia/File Server - 661@3.5, 4GB Ram, On Chip GFXLiving Room HTPC - E-450@1.9 GHz, 4GB Ram

Game Rig - 2500K@4.5, 12GB Ram, 465GTX + 9800GT (PhysX) using intel SRT
Test Bed - 3570K with various components and a TT 750w PSU
Archer0915 is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-11-10, 12:17 PM   #4
Jmtyra
Premium Member #21



 
Jmtyra's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Dallas/Fort-Worth

 
Hey Archer, long time no see.

Maybe using the USB key as a (dedicated or partial) paging file would help? Then you could modify the power settings to spin down the HD. That and/or using it for ReadyBoost?

Good luck either way, looking forward to seeing your article. Will you be posting it over at tech reaction?
Jmtyra is offline Author Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-11-10, 12:38 PM Thread Starter   #5
Archer0915
"The Expert"

 
Archer0915's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: East Carolina University Grad School

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jmtyra View Post
Hey Archer, long time no see.

Maybe using the USB key as a (dedicated or partial) paging file would help? Then you could modify the power settings to spin down the HD. That and/or using it for ReadyBoost?

Good luck either way, looking forward to seeing your article. Will you be posting it over at tech reaction?


Well I already have it in the works at tR but as far as something else I am working on I will probably post at both (OCers and tR) with a little bit of a twist for each.

I can't get the USB to run as VM though I had no issues in XP. I think I may actually spread this out over a year if I get mad at MS for taking more advanced user control away from advanced users.

At the moment I am using 6 gigs oif the flash for DC (Boinc) work and trying to take the load off of the HDD with hopes of letting the HDD shut down at times. I have VM disabled but I still don't get the HDD to shutdown like I like. A 4 to 8gig ram disk may be in order if I can get one set up with win 7.

I have a lot of work to do with this OS. I sware every new windows gives people like me less control and more of us move to alternate operating systems.

__________________
People that buy OEM systems think Linux was a Charlie Brown character, a registry is something you see at target to buy shower gifts, RAM is a Dodge truck and a hard drive is DC at rush hour.
Knowing your usage habits can help you save money and get the fastest system for you!

Current Active Fleet:
Daily Driver - i7@3.8, 16GB Ram, 6770 GFX Bedroom PC - SB Celerey @ 1.6, 4GB Ram
Entertainment Room HTPC & Madia/File Server - 661@3.5, 4GB Ram, On Chip GFXLiving Room HTPC - E-450@1.9 GHz, 4GB Ram

Game Rig - 2500K@4.5, 12GB Ram, 465GTX + 9800GT (PhysX) using intel SRT
Test Bed - 3570K with various components and a TT 750w PSU
Archer0915 is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?