Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Overclocking XFX HD 5770 Crossfire

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-17-10, 02:28 PM Thread Starter   #1
vdgamer
Member

 
vdgamer's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: US

 
Overclocking XFX HD 5770 Crossfire


My current clocks for my 5770 crossfire setup are 875/1300 @ stock volts, im using MSI Afterburner to overclock them. Currently using "synchronize setting for similar gpus" option, because i figure its best to have both gpus clocked the same. I would like some help with overclocking settings from someone whos done testing and OCing to HD5770. I would like to attain best performance while still being stable while gaming. Ive done FurMark stress testing on stock clocks and my current clocks in crossfire, temps never exceeded 80C and completely stable, so im ready to overclock. Any help is appreciated.

__________________
Mobo: ASRock Fatal1ty X79 Professional
CPU: Intel SB-E i7 3820 C2 @ 4.7GHz 1.37v Corsair H80
Ram: 4x4GB GSkill Ripjaws X @ 2146 10-11-10-28 1.62v
GPU: EVGA GTX 780 Classified 1215/6610, MSI GTX 560Ti PhysX
HDD: Corsair Force GT 120, 3x F4 320GB Raid 0,F4 2TB, WD-G 1TB
PSU: Corsair HX850 80 PLUS SILVER
Case: Antec 1200 EVGA Mod
vdgamer is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-17-10, 05:01 PM   #2
BigTerminator
Member

 
BigTerminator's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Maryland

 
Well XFX cards tend not to do voltage control which would really unlock the potential of your cards. At stock volts the 5770 get to around 925-950mhz. Memory can easily go to 1350mhz.

__________________
My Desktop:
Intel Core i7 875k @ 4.2ghz 1.4v | Noctua NH-D14 with 3 Rosewill RFX 120 Fans
MSI Big Bang Fuzion | 8gb G. Skill Sniper 1600mhz | GTX 760 Gigabyte Rev 2.0 1333/1850mhz
Cooler Master HAF X With Window | Corsair TX 750 watt PSU | 2x500gb Samsung F3 RAID 0
Asus Essence ST | 3D Mark 11 High Scores = Performance 9000

My Laptop: Lenovo Y580
Intel Core i7 3630qm @ 2.4ghz | 8gb DDR3 1600mhz | 120gb ADATA SSD | 1tb HDD
Nvidia GTX 660m @ 1260/1400mhz | 15.6" 1080p
Arctic MX-4 Thermal Paste | Rosewill Notebook Cooler | 3d Mark 11 High Scores = Performance 3400 Extreme 1100
BigTerminator is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-17-10, 05:06 PM   #3
sandyduff
Great Scot! Member

 
sandyduff's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Inverkeithing, SCOTLAND!!!

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigTerminator View Post
Well XFX cards tend not to do voltage control which would really unlock the potential of your cards. At stock volts the 5770 get to around 925-950mhz. Memory can easily go to 1350mhz.
My XFX 5970 has voltage control...

__________________
4670K @ 4.5GHz with Corsair H60
MSI Z87-G45 GAMING
8GB Corsair DDR3 1800MHz
MSI 7990
850w Akasa Venom
1TB WD and 750GB WD Cavier Green
Samsung SA700D 1920x1080 @ 120Hz

"we should team up... dandy duff `n double bluff?" Bobbybubblehead
sandyduff is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-17-10, 09:08 PM Thread Starter   #4
vdgamer
Member

 
vdgamer's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: US

 
i can control voltage, how high is it safe to go? and how much do i need to be stable at 1000/1350 ? stock is 1.2V

__________________
Mobo: ASRock Fatal1ty X79 Professional
CPU: Intel SB-E i7 3820 C2 @ 4.7GHz 1.37v Corsair H80
Ram: 4x4GB GSkill Ripjaws X @ 2146 10-11-10-28 1.62v
GPU: EVGA GTX 780 Classified 1215/6610, MSI GTX 560Ti PhysX
HDD: Corsair Force GT 120, 3x F4 320GB Raid 0,F4 2TB, WD-G 1TB
PSU: Corsair HX850 80 PLUS SILVER
Case: Antec 1200 EVGA Mod
vdgamer is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-18-10, 05:45 AM   #5
sandyduff
Great Scot! Member

 
sandyduff's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Inverkeithing, SCOTLAND!!!

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by vdgamer View Post
i can control voltage, how high is it safe to go? and how much do i need to be stable at 1000/1350 ? stock is 1.2V
how much you need varies from card to card... just keep bumping it up 10MHz and check stability... if it's unstable, bump voltage... i think 1.3v is kinda the upper limit... remember to keep an eye on temps as you go...

__________________
4670K @ 4.5GHz with Corsair H60
MSI Z87-G45 GAMING
8GB Corsair DDR3 1800MHz
MSI 7990
850w Akasa Venom
1TB WD and 750GB WD Cavier Green
Samsung SA700D 1920x1080 @ 120Hz

"we should team up... dandy duff `n double bluff?" Bobbybubblehead
sandyduff is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-18-10, 09:54 AM   #6
BigTerminator
Member

 
BigTerminator's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Maryland

 
I need at least 1.3v to get to 1000mhz but cards differ. I've seen some only need 1.2v or 1.25v. Try 1.25v and if unstable keep bumping it up.

__________________
My Desktop:
Intel Core i7 875k @ 4.2ghz 1.4v | Noctua NH-D14 with 3 Rosewill RFX 120 Fans
MSI Big Bang Fuzion | 8gb G. Skill Sniper 1600mhz | GTX 760 Gigabyte Rev 2.0 1333/1850mhz
Cooler Master HAF X With Window | Corsair TX 750 watt PSU | 2x500gb Samsung F3 RAID 0
Asus Essence ST | 3D Mark 11 High Scores = Performance 9000

My Laptop: Lenovo Y580
Intel Core i7 3630qm @ 2.4ghz | 8gb DDR3 1600mhz | 120gb ADATA SSD | 1tb HDD
Nvidia GTX 660m @ 1260/1400mhz | 15.6" 1080p
Arctic MX-4 Thermal Paste | Rosewill Notebook Cooler | 3d Mark 11 High Scores = Performance 3400 Extreme 1100
BigTerminator is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-18-10, 02:30 PM Thread Starter   #7
vdgamer
Member

 
vdgamer's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: US

 
Right now im at 960/1340 1.2v CF synchronized, when i turn on
"EnableUnofficialOverclocking" in msi afterburner to be able to go past 960mhz screen blinks and freezes, and when i restart it does the same thing, i have to hook up my hdd to different pc and turn off "EnableUnofficialOverclocking" in .cfg file, and then i can boot okay. I tried to do same thing with single gpu and it worked fine, i need some help figuring this out in crossfire.

__________________
Mobo: ASRock Fatal1ty X79 Professional
CPU: Intel SB-E i7 3820 C2 @ 4.7GHz 1.37v Corsair H80
Ram: 4x4GB GSkill Ripjaws X @ 2146 10-11-10-28 1.62v
GPU: EVGA GTX 780 Classified 1215/6610, MSI GTX 560Ti PhysX
HDD: Corsair Force GT 120, 3x F4 320GB Raid 0,F4 2TB, WD-G 1TB
PSU: Corsair HX850 80 PLUS SILVER
Case: Antec 1200 EVGA Mod
vdgamer is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-09-11, 07:13 PM   #8
funkgerm
Registered

 
funkgerm's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NJ

 
I don't know if this helps or not, but I got my HIS HD 5770 up to 925/1325 without touching the voltage. I have heard of people getting their memory way past 1400 but I can't get past 1325 without flickering and artifacts.
funkgerm is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-10-11, 10:08 AM   #9
psionic98
Member


 
psionic98's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: 4th Floor office, East Coast

 
I run my single 5770 @ 1.27ish area and get nearly 1k/1350..

I haven't had much luck getting my memory stable past 1375 while still keeping above 960 on the core. I was able to get the memory to 1421, but my core was somewhere around 938..

Pretty sure the safe zone for these voltage wise is like 1.35 before you need better cooling.. I have yet to have any issues with heat at my current settings of 995/1350 @1.275

I can run pretty much every game with most settings maxed out including AA..never got black ops and some of the newest stuff though.. works fine for crysis (not totally max), bfbc2 etc

__________________
EVGA x58 Micro (756) / i7 D0 @ 4.0, 1.278v w/HT (Air)
2x 300GB V-rap raid0, WD Caviar Black 640GB & 1TB
HIS 6950 @ 840/1450
Mushkin 6GB @ 6-7-6-18
/ Enermax 720 Modular
HAF 922 / Noctua D14Win7 Pro x64 / Mint 10
HEAT
i7(x58) OC'ing/Info
/ AMD Oc'ing/Info / C2D/C2Q OC'ing/Info
Recommended Power Supply Listing
psionic98 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-10-11, 12:42 PM Thread Starter   #10
vdgamer
Member

 
vdgamer's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: US

 
i maxed out my overclock on stock volts no need to push my crossfire further for now i get 60flps in almost everything, raising voltage will probably shorten the life of gpu so i wont do that, until i need to.

__________________
Mobo: ASRock Fatal1ty X79 Professional
CPU: Intel SB-E i7 3820 C2 @ 4.7GHz 1.37v Corsair H80
Ram: 4x4GB GSkill Ripjaws X @ 2146 10-11-10-28 1.62v
GPU: EVGA GTX 780 Classified 1215/6610, MSI GTX 560Ti PhysX
HDD: Corsair Force GT 120, 3x F4 320GB Raid 0,F4 2TB, WD-G 1TB
PSU: Corsair HX850 80 PLUS SILVER
Case: Antec 1200 EVGA Mod
vdgamer is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-13-11, 06:03 PM Thread Starter   #11
vdgamer
Member

 
vdgamer's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: US

 
When i enable unofficial overclocking in MSI Afterburner, and change gpu clocks to anything than default the gpus run in 3D mode all the time at full clocks, anyone knows whats causing this? im stuck at 960 max because i can use unofficial overclock

__________________
Mobo: ASRock Fatal1ty X79 Professional
CPU: Intel SB-E i7 3820 C2 @ 4.7GHz 1.37v Corsair H80
Ram: 4x4GB GSkill Ripjaws X @ 2146 10-11-10-28 1.62v
GPU: EVGA GTX 780 Classified 1215/6610, MSI GTX 560Ti PhysX
HDD: Corsair Force GT 120, 3x F4 320GB Raid 0,F4 2TB, WD-G 1TB
PSU: Corsair HX850 80 PLUS SILVER
Case: Antec 1200 EVGA Mod
vdgamer is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?