Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Overclocking a Celeron-800

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-12-02, 08:19 PM Thread Starter   #1
Mavericko
New Member



Join Date: Oct 2001

 
Overclocking a Celeron-800


Hey everyone! Okay, here's my problem. Currently I've overclocked my Celeron-800 to 1182Mhz (147Mhz FSB) @ 2.20V. What I cant seem to do is to get my chip running at 1.2Ghz. It posts and all, cept it just doesnt want to load up in Windows 2k. So I was wondering if there are any tips I could use to maybe just get my chip at 1.2. Thanks!

PS: Oops, I forgot to add my system specs.
Celeron 800 @ 1182
Abit VH6-II
256 PC-133 Infineon RAM
Maxtor 30G
Radeon 32meg DDR
SB Live! Value
Plextor 12/10/32A
Toshiba 16x DVD
Mavericko is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-12-02, 08:23 PM   #2
tainice
Member

 
tainice's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Carbondale, IL

 
burn-in, better cooling, less agressive mem timing, bigger psu.etc
tainice is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-12-02, 08:25 PM   #3
takiwa
Member

 
takiwa's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001

 
yeah, purty much what tainice said....
takiwa is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-12-02, 08:26 PM Thread Starter   #4
Mavericko
New Member



Join Date: Oct 2001

 
Well I've got my Celeron-800 running at 1182 with a 24C idle, and a load of 31C. With a lapped Globalwin WBK38 with a 6500RPM Delta fan. Hmmm, what else can I say?
Mavericko is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-12-02, 08:43 PM   #5
tainice
Member

 
tainice's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Carbondale, IL

 
jackup the vcore.......with caution, or simply try to burn-in for 48 hours.
tainice is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-13-02, 02:21 AM   #6
deez
Member

 
deez's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Austin, TX

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by Mavericko
Well I've got my Celeron-800 running at 1182 with a 24C idle, and a load of 31C. With a lapped Globalwin WBK38 with a 6500RPM Delta fan. Hmmm, what else can I say?
yank everything except the vid card and see if it boots into windows at 1200...if so then one of your PCI cards is holding you back

2.2v sounds a bit high for a cele 800 perhaps your temps are higher than you think

__________________
heatware: http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=6394
deez is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-13-02, 05:57 AM   #7
batboy
Senior Moment

 
batboy's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Kansas, USA

10 Year Badge
 
I'm with Deez, 2.2v is insane unless you're running water cooling or peltiers.

__________________
2600K, Asus P8P67 Deluxe, 2X2GB G.Skill Pi PC3-2133, PC & Cooling 750W
watercooled: Eheim 1048 pump, Swiftech Apogee GTX and 2X120mm rad
FS020 case, OCZ SSD, Sapphire HD 6950, Acer X241W 24" widescreen
batboy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-13-02, 06:37 AM   #8
TASOS
Member

 
TASOS's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2001
Location: Athens Greece

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by tainice
jackup the vcore.......with caution, or simply try to burn-in for 48 hours.
No way !!!!
He is already high-enough.

__________________
Asus P4C800 Deluxe SL7PN 3.2E@4.8GHZ stable...5.14GHZ Max Post
Prometeia Cooling - Mach I - R404a

----------------------------------
DFI NF4 Ultra-D RA.02 // Winie 3500+@2.75GHZ @1.525Volt //ATI X800XL
----------------------------------
Folding for team #13416

www.overclockers.gr
TASOS is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-13-02, 10:06 AM   #9
tainice
Member

 
tainice's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Carbondale, IL

 
Tasos:

i only suggest him to jackup the vcore is becasue his temp is wonderfully low. however, you are right, 2.2v is about to pushing his chip to death, and i did not realize that he is kinda green ..
tainice is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-13-02, 06:13 PM Thread Starter   #10
Mavericko
New Member



Join Date: Oct 2001

 
Hmm. So 2.2's pretty high, eh? I guess I should jack it down. Ohh and another thing, can one of you guys tell me if MotherBoard Monitor's actually giving me the right temperature? Or is there a better program I could use? Cause I totally agree with you guys. It's weird seeing my computer running at 23C idle with a 2.2V chip. Thanks in advance.
Mavericko is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-13-02, 06:17 PM   #11
tainice
Member

 
tainice's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Carbondale, IL

 
speedfan, it will auto detect the sensor, so there is no need to worry about getting the wrong sensor.
tainice is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-13-02, 06:19 PM Thread Starter   #12
Mavericko
New Member



Join Date: Oct 2001

 
Quote:
Originally posted by tainice
speedfan, it will auto detect the sensor, so there is no need to worry about getting the wrong sensor.
Awesome! Thanks a lot man
Mavericko is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-13-02, 09:53 PM   #13
Yodums
Senior Member

 
Yodums's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Ottawa, Canada

 
The temperature still don't matter if your running vcores of over 2.2 you need water cooling!

MBM is accurate trust me It retrieves the temperature right from the bios, and the Abit diodes are pretty good.

I may think you reached a max potential or something. Thats like a 50% overclock. The best you can do now IMHO is to, sharpen up the ram timings to the lowest as possible if you haven't. Add more voltage going to ram if you need some more stablity if you think you can get FSB (150?) Crank down the voltage a little. Add a better chipset cooler.

Yodums

__________________
Peter Gibbons: Let me ask you something. When you come in on Monday, and you're not feelin' real well, does anyone ever say to you, 'Sounds like someone has a case of the Mondays'?

Lawrence: No. No, man. ****, no, man. I believe you'd get your ass kicked sayin' something like that, man.
Yodums is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?