Notices

Overclockers Forums > Discussions > Vendor Discussion
Vendor Discussion Likes and Gripes about Vendors. No Post Count.
Forum Jump

TigerDirect and the incompatible packages!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-21-10, 10:08 AM Thread Starter   #1
Lateralus180
Registered

 
Lateralus180's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Illinois

 
Thumbs down TigerDirect and the incompatible packages!


My dad wanted me to build him a media PC for our TV. It was to cost no more than $800, would have a decent processor, a sizable amount of RAM, and a large hard drive for music and movies. I wanted to get him an AMD Phenom dual core clocked over 3.0 GHz simply because he wouldn't need 4 cores on a media PC and the down-clock/price tag would be a detriment. He had asked me to piece together a shopping list but his impatience grew and he made one himself. One of the items on his shopping list was a bundle that included an Asus M4A88T-M motherboard and an AMD Phenom II X4 920. I'll provide a link below:

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...01519&CatId=14

I wish I'd have looked at the specs before he bought the thing! Tiger Direct sells a bundle that includes an AM3 motherboard and an AM2+ processor. An AM3 processor is backwards compatible(?) with an AM2+ motherboard but an AM2+ processor absolutely does not fit in an AM3 slot!

But wait, the story gets worse..

When building the computer at my kitchen table, I assumed the bundle was compatible. I didn't bother to check the sockets. After a few failed attempts to align the pins on the socket grid, I couldn't get it in. Flipping the processor over, I saw three bent pins. This was when I checked the socket type on the motherboard and the processor socket and saw they did not match.

My dad went to our local Comp USA / Tiger Direct warehouse down the street and tried to explain to the techies that they were not compatible with eachother. Three of these guys insisted they were. They tried to fit it in themselves, and after a few attempts they lowered the locking arm and claimed it fit, and that we were wrong. My dad opened the arm and showed them bent pins. He informed them the socket types don't even match according to their web site but they still seemed to deny it. They eventually offered to return the bent processor for an AMD Athalon X4 of all things..it was more powerful according to them. Right.

I think I'll stick to Newegg, thanks.

__________________
Cooler Master HAF 932 Full Tower
Asus P6TD Deluxe X58 Motherboard
Intel Core i7 930 Bloomfield D0 @ 4.0 GHz 1.38v
2x ATI Radeon XFX 5870 1GB CrossFire
6GB G.Skill 1600 MHz DDR3 1.64v 8-8-8-21
Corsair P128 CMFSSD 2.5''
Thermaltake W0319RU 850W


PC Pictures Here!
Lateralus180 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-21-10, 10:18 AM   #2
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Ehhh, I thought AM2+ CPU's can go in AM3's...

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-21-10, 10:18 AM   #3
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3
First Responders

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by EarthDog View Post
Ehhh, I thought AM2+ CPU's can go in AM3's...
This is what I thought as well. The whole point behind the "+" in "AM2+".

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-21-10, 10:33 AM   #4
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Well...maybe not?

Quote:
Today's processors reviewed are Socket AM2+ processors. Here's where things get a little tricky, try to follow me:

AMD AM3 processors will work on some AM2+ motherboards (780/790 chipset).
However, older AM2/AM2+ processors will not work on AM3 motherboards because AM2 processors lack a DDR3 memory controller.
http://www.guru3d.com/article/amd-ph...-review-test/4

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-21-10, 10:36 AM   #5
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3
First Responders

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Shows how much I know about AMD!

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-21-10, 12:43 PM   #6
Cheator
Member

 
Cheator's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ottawa, Canada

 
The reason behind it is the AM3 chips have a DDR2/DDR3 controller, while the AM2+ chips only have a DDR2 controller, so they aren't supposed to work in AM3 boards.

__________________
Optimus (Main): Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB G.Skill PC8000, ATI 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TrueControl II
Teletraan I (htpc): Asus M2N-E, X2 4400+, 2 GB DDR2, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 1.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w
Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 4200+ X2, 2GB DDR2, ATI 2900xt, Seasonic 500w
Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, Nvidia 8600m GT, 250gb hdd
Gears: Asus Eee PC 701, 1 GB DDR, Win XP

My Heatware!
"Duct tape is like The Force. It has a light side, a dark side and it holds the universe together." - Malpine Walis
Cheator is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-21-10, 12:44 PM   #7
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
It would work with an AM3 mobo with DDR2 on it, right?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...ED&PageSize=20

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-21-10, 12:50 PM   #8
MattNo5ss
5up3r m0d3r4t0r
Overclockers.com Editor


 
MattNo5ss's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: AL

 
I think you guys are looking at it backwards. AM3 CPUs work in AM2+ mobos with DDR2 RAM, not AM2+ CPUs in AM3 mobos.

__________________
i7 3770K | ASUS Maximus V Gene | 4x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24 | EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | 256GB OCZ Vertex 4 | SeaSonic SS-1000XP

My Overclockers.com Articles | HWBot Profile | Heatware (98-0-0)

Projects: Copper-Framed, MDF Station | PVC-Framed, MDF Station | Custom Cascade Cart/Case | Untitled TJ07 Build
MattNo5ss is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-21-10, 12:53 PM   #9
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Then why DDR2 AM3 boards? Those need AM3 chips to work since they have both DDR2 and 3 controllers on them?

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-21-10, 12:55 PM   #10
MattNo5ss
5up3r m0d3r4t0r
Overclockers.com Editor


 
MattNo5ss's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: AL

 
You can use DDR2 or DDR3 RAM with AM3 CPUs. So you can buy a DDR2 AM3 mobo so you don't have to upgrade your RAM. That's what I'm thinking.

__________________
i7 3770K | ASUS Maximus V Gene | 4x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24 | EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | 256GB OCZ Vertex 4 | SeaSonic SS-1000XP

My Overclockers.com Articles | HWBot Profile | Heatware (98-0-0)

Projects: Copper-Framed, MDF Station | PVC-Framed, MDF Station | Custom Cascade Cart/Case | Untitled TJ07 Build
MattNo5ss is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-21-10, 01:03 PM   #11
muddocktor
Retired

 
muddocktor's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Iberia, LA

10 Year Badge
 
Yep, I agree with Matt in the post above. That way it saves a bit on upgrading for the end user.
muddocktor is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-21-10, 01:06 PM   #12
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Excellent guys. Thanks for the info. Now, that sucks that happened to the OP. Im shocked. Looks like they should have thrown in the M4A77D instead.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-21-10, 10:45 PM Thread Starter   #13
Lateralus180
Registered

 
Lateralus180's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Illinois

 
It's not a big deal really, we have everything worked out and set up. I doubt they'll take the package down though!

__________________
Cooler Master HAF 932 Full Tower
Asus P6TD Deluxe X58 Motherboard
Intel Core i7 930 Bloomfield D0 @ 4.0 GHz 1.38v
2x ATI Radeon XFX 5870 1GB CrossFire
6GB G.Skill 1600 MHz DDR3 1.64v 8-8-8-21
Corsair P128 CMFSSD 2.5''
Thermaltake W0319RU 850W


PC Pictures Here!
Lateralus180 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Discussions > Vendor Discussion
Vendor Discussion Likes and Gripes about Vendors. No Post Count.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?