• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

My First Build

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

markk

Hello All,

This is my first time trying to build an adequate gaming PC on a budget.
I currently have a stock HP Pavilion a1630n with the exception of the GeForce 9600 GT I have in it. I am basically looking to upgrade my whole rig.

Currently this is what I'm thinking of buying:

COOLER MASTER Storm Scout - 89.99
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition Thuban 3.2GHz - 229.00
COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus (Heat Sink) - 29.99
Crucial 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 - 51.99
ASUS M4A88T-V - 109.99
Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W Power Supply - 69.99

And as far as the hard drive I plan on reusing the one I have in my Pavilion.
For the graphics card I plan on using the 9600 GT I currently have.

Total Cost: 580.95

I would like to receive some feedback on this setup. And suggestions or opinions would help. And being that it is my first build I would appreciate it if someone could confirm that the above items are compatible.

Thanks a lot! :attn:

It looks good so far. The video card will be a big bottle neck. You can also get better ram from g.skill for less money. That board/CPU combo is good and will last you a couple of years. If you want to save 30$ check out the antec 300. It's a great case for 60$

Id also recommed going with the haf-922 same price as the sniper case

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811119197&cm_re=haf-922-_-11-119-197-_-Product

because of its larger dimensions 22.20" x 10.00" x 19.70 vs 19.20" x 8.60" x 19.50"

which will give you more room for cable management(thus better airflow and cleaner look) but will also allow you to have big cards and big heatsinks when you upgrade in the future