Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Unlocking Troubles

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-04-11, 05:42 PM Thread Starter   #1
Superbgear
New Member



Join Date: Jan 2011

 
Unlocking Troubles


So I have a Sempron 140 and Biostar TA785G3 motherboard but I am unable to proceed with unlocking the second core of the Sempron.

The board is a revision 6.1 and I have flashed it to the latest bios from the Biostar website which specifically states unlocking being enabled. However, when I boot up and hit F6, nothing happens. Also, in the "CPU Configuration" page in the bios, I am not seeing a "C1E Support" or "Advanced Clock Calibration" entry as I believe I should be. Underneath the "ACPI SRAT Table" option is "Core Leveling" and that is it.

So my question is, does the issue here lie with the CPU or the motherboard? Or perhaps I am missing something entirely here?

Wondering if anybody with more experience with AMD boards and ACC could help me out as this is my first AMD build.
Superbgear is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 01-05-11, 11:32 AM   #2
RGone
Senior DFI Staff

 
RGone's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: JAX, Mississauna

 
Your Model is not supposed to Unlock it seems...


Nosed around. YMMV.

Customer Reviews of the Biostar TA785G3 at NewEgg.

Rating: 3/5Biostar won't replace boards to enable ACC (unlocking)
Pros: Nice board, got it as part of a combo, but not from Newegg. Got ver 6.1. - had no issues setting it up with Phenom X2 II 555 processor (but it turned out Antec 430W earthwatts v.2.2 PSU was not sufficient to boot the combo - solved by upgrading to 500W generic PSU.). Liked power and reset buttons on the board - convenient.

Cons: Biostar's website claims that unlocking is possible with the latest bios (dated 4/21/10). I've updated the bios, but the board hangs when I try to enable ACC. The combo processor unlocked on different boards (Gigabyte 790XTA-UD4 and MSI 785GTM-E45). Upon reading a review here about how Biostar performed a hardware upgrade in a similar, emailed them a question about the procedure Friday. The following I received in return yesterday: "Unfortunately, we no longer have any version 6.4 motherboards available for trade." I'm disappointed with Biostar's handling of this matter in my case and will likely sell this motherboard to someone who does not need ACC feature.

Other Thoughts: Because Newegg typically doesn't guarantee a particular version/revision of the product, I would abstain from purchasing this board if you need/want to try unlocking extra cores of your processor, since Biostar will not replace your board with a newer version that supports ACC. However, if your processor has all cores enabled already, it's a nice board.

From Rebels Haven Forums.

Post #1 >> Now i have a question for you guys, when i ordered my mainboard a asked for rev 6.3 but instead i got 6.0. I saw on the biostar page that bio-unlocking works with 6.3 only so what are differences between 6.0 and 6.3?. I already unlocked the cpu but im just curious.

Post #2 >> I don't know what changes there are between board revisions, but I'd guess that they would be slight. Apparently it's not enough to make a difference in your case.

Post #3 >> Hey Prodigy Freak,

I too have the TA785G3 board Rev 6.0 and I encountered a strange problem. I updated my BIOS in an attempt to cure a slow access time on my Samsung F3 1TB and when I did, I lost the ACC function in my BIOS. I tried all 3 of the BIOS files listed here for our board:

http://www.biostar-usa.com/app/en-us...s.php?S_ID=436

However, each and every BIOS listed did not provide the ACC function. After much trial and error and searching, I finally stumbled upon this page:

http://www.biostar-usa.com/app/en-us...g/features.htm

If you click on the Models tab it will take you to a page with the 785G, 770, and 760G chipet boards and their respective BIO-unlocKING BIOS files. I updated to this BIOS for my board and all is well again.

So, to sum it up, it seems our boards may come preflashed with this BIOS and may not.

__________________
You May Need Help = We Need Info to Help.
MOBO > Model and Bios version.
CPU & Cooler > Be Specific.
MEMORY > Manufacturer & P/N & Size.
POWER SUPPLY > Manufacturer & Wattage.
VIDEO CARD > Make/Model/How Many.
HDDs/Optical drives > How Many? SSD? Raid/No Raid?
SOUND DEVICE > Onboard or Add-in?
USB > Usb Devices Plugged to Mobo?
O/S > Win? SP? Linux?
Case > Brand/Model/Fans Installed?
Institute of Level Headed Over Clockers
RGone is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-06-11, 08:34 AM Thread Starter   #3
Superbgear
New Member



Join Date: Jan 2011

 
From what I've found on the web, it seems that all versions of the board support unlocking with the correct bios. (The Biostar website even says so and gives the bios downloads.)

After flashing to the new BIOS, I noticed the "Core Leveling" option which was not there before. However I'm not sure if this means my board is now capable to unlock or not because option to enable ACC is not there. So what I specifically want to know is if the ACC function appearing in the BIOS depends on the CPU being able to unlock or not.

Would appreciate if someone with a similar/same board clarify this for me.
Superbgear is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-06-11, 02:07 PM   #4
Tech Tweaker
Member


 
Tech Tweaker's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Springfield, Ohio

 
I wasn't aware it was even possible to unlock any extra cores on a Sempron 140.

__________________
\m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/
Main Rig: Case: Cooler Master 690 II Advanced|Power Supply: Corsair HX750W|Cooling: Corsair H100i|Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-G33M-DS2R|CPU: Intel Q6600 SLACR @3.2GHz|RAM: 8GB G.Skill DDR2-1066@1068MHz|Video: Gigabyte GTX 460 unless I'm testing|HDD: Western Digital 320GB Caviar Blue|ODD: Lite-on DVDRW LH-20A1S|OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

Backup Rig: Case: Cooler Master HAF 922|Power Supply: Corsair HX520W|Motherboard: DFI UT LP nF4 SLI-DR Expert|CPU: (varies) A64 3200+ Venice, 3700+ San Diego, 3800+ Venice, 4000+ Clawhammer/San Diego (E4 & E6), A64 X2 4200+, A64 X2 4800+ |RAM: (varies) Corsair XL, XL Pro, OCZ PC4800 Elite Platinum Edition|Video Card: eVGA GTX260|HDD: Hitachi 80GB Sata II Drive|DVD: not sure|OS: Windows XP Home 32-bit/Pro 32-bit
My Heat
Tech Tweaker is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-06-11, 02:15 PM   #5
jmdixon85
Member

 
jmdixon85's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cumbria (UK)

 
Yup It is a Athlon II x2 with a core disabled

__________________
Main System/File Server/Secondary System/IP-Fire Router
CPU: I2500K @ 4.7Ghz (H2o cooled)//AMD Athlon 215 x2/Q6600 @ 3.5Ghz/Celeron 1.1Ghz
Mainboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme 4/Gigabyte 78LMT-USB3/Gigabyte P35-DS3P/Gigabyte GA-C847N
RAM: 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz/8GB DDR3 1333Mhz/4GB DDR2 1066Mhz/2GB DDR2
Video: 2x nVidia GTX470 sli/Radeon 3000/NVidia GTX460/iGPU
HDD: 128GB SSD (System)/WD VR 300GB(Games)/ 80GB HDD (TV Recordings)/WD VRaptor 160GB (Sytem), Maxtor 80GB (Sys Backup), 5x 1TB (RAID5 Data)/3TB (Backup) HighpointRR 3520 RAID Card/VR 160GB (system) 1TB (Data)/160GB
PSU: Corsair TX-M 750W/Enermax 495W/FSP 800W/FSP 300W
Case: Coolermaster HAF932/CM Cosmos S/Cosmos 1000
Audio: Toslink -> Pioneer VSX-820-K (Dolby TrueHD/DTS Master Audio)/Logitech X-530
i7/i5/i3 Overclocking Guide/Intel Core2 overclocking guide/AMD AM2 overclocking Guide
jmdixon85 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-06-11, 04:24 PM   #6
RGone
Senior DFI Staff

 
RGone's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: JAX, Mississauna

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmdixon85 View Post
Yup It is a Athlon II x2 with a core disabled
There are quite a few hits when gOOgling unlocked Sempron 140, so the good ones without a bad core will unlock.

Don't own the board since I have plenty without another, but the link in post #2 above shows what Biostar intends for unlocking with their "later" bioses. They seem by intent to no-longer show visible ACC functions in bios and say that at boot-up F3 will unlock 3rd core and F4 at boot-up will unlock the fourth core.

Originally there was no intent to unlock the cpus on boards not Rev 6.3 or above but apparently they did release an 'unlocking' bios for the Rev 6.0, 6.1 and 6.2 motherboards and at their download site is called 88GAP421.BST. It is described thusly >> Description Support F6 unlcoKING function. Most likely it means that the F6 key plays greatly in unlocking any Cpu on any board using the 88GAP421.BST bios version. Based on Biostars instructions to use the F3 and F4 key at bootup for unlocking, my suspicion is that F6 unlocks with bios 88GAP421.BST on boards made for that bios and core-leveling disables the bad cores. ACC will not be visible in ''unlocking'' bioses but only in bioses previous to their famed ''unlocking'' bioses according to Biostar website informationals.

__________________
You May Need Help = We Need Info to Help.
MOBO > Model and Bios version.
CPU & Cooler > Be Specific.
MEMORY > Manufacturer & P/N & Size.
POWER SUPPLY > Manufacturer & Wattage.
VIDEO CARD > Make/Model/How Many.
HDDs/Optical drives > How Many? SSD? Raid/No Raid?
SOUND DEVICE > Onboard or Add-in?
USB > Usb Devices Plugged to Mobo?
O/S > Win? SP? Linux?
Case > Brand/Model/Fans Installed?
Institute of Level Headed Over Clockers
RGone is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-07-11, 03:35 AM   #7
Tech Tweaker
Member


 
Tech Tweaker's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Springfield, Ohio

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmdixon85 View Post
Yup It is a Athlon II x2 with a core disabled
Hmm... Well, that's news to me.

I thought they were still making Semprons' and Athlons' like how they used to back in the S754/939 days when they were different chips, hadn't realized that the Semprons were now Athlons just operating under a different name and less default cores.

__________________
\m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/
Main Rig: Case: Cooler Master 690 II Advanced|Power Supply: Corsair HX750W|Cooling: Corsair H100i|Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-G33M-DS2R|CPU: Intel Q6600 SLACR @3.2GHz|RAM: 8GB G.Skill DDR2-1066@1068MHz|Video: Gigabyte GTX 460 unless I'm testing|HDD: Western Digital 320GB Caviar Blue|ODD: Lite-on DVDRW LH-20A1S|OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

Backup Rig: Case: Cooler Master HAF 922|Power Supply: Corsair HX520W|Motherboard: DFI UT LP nF4 SLI-DR Expert|CPU: (varies) A64 3200+ Venice, 3700+ San Diego, 3800+ Venice, 4000+ Clawhammer/San Diego (E4 & E6), A64 X2 4200+, A64 X2 4800+ |RAM: (varies) Corsair XL, XL Pro, OCZ PC4800 Elite Platinum Edition|Video Card: eVGA GTX260|HDD: Hitachi 80GB Sata II Drive|DVD: not sure|OS: Windows XP Home 32-bit/Pro 32-bit
My Heat
Tech Tweaker is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?