Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thanks Super Nade

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-07-11, 07:08 PM Thread Starter   #1
gottcha
Member

 
gottcha's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: wisconsin

 
Thanks Super Nade


This is a Nice board!!! Its fun to play around with the Q6600!!!

Anyone have any tips for this board (Maximus Formula 2)and a Q6600? I have been Googling my butt off and it got me to the above pic.
Attached Images
 

__________________
MY HEAT
I7 4770K @1.2 @4.5
ASUS A Z97
H2O swiftech 220 kit with Raystorm XSPC Block
Corsair Vengeance LP 1600 16gig
EVGA GTX780 3 gig memory
Seasonic 660watt -No mods to this
Samsung 840 pro 256 gig ssd
Armor case with 250mm side fan
Win7 Ultimate 64 bit
gottcha is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 01-07-11, 07:51 PM   #2
Super Nade
SU(3) Moderator

 
Super Nade's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA

 
That is some nice FSB. It will go beyond that to 614! Are you using the GTL Ref voltages that I had? Give it a go and see what you end up with? Keep the RAM at stock and see how far you can take it? Certain memory rations may not work. I am not sure if it had something to do with the RAM or not. I just kept the RAM at stock. Did you try my settings in BIOS1?

__________________
Motherboard Repair Tutorial || Power Supply Repair Tutorial || A Closer Look at PSU Signals ||
Understanding SMPS Technology
|| ASUS P5K Capacitor mod || Kernel Compile Guide || Guide to Wiping an SSD

Build in progress
ASUS Maximus Hero || i5-4670K || Crucial M500-480Gb || Antec HCP-850M || ASUS GTX 750Ti || Carbide 300R || Coolermaster Glacer 240L
Super Nade is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-07-11, 08:20 PM Thread Starter   #3
gottcha
Member

 
gottcha's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: wisconsin

 
I'm trying to get a stable 24/7 clock @ 3.6 right now. I found some info on XtremeSystems and tried their setting and it took me to the 500fsb! I can't believe how this board needs such little volts on the NB and fsb voltages compared to my P5E!
I saving my settings every time i change something in the bios so i saved over your bios1 settings. When i set and unstable clock that can't make it to windows i have to pull the battery and reset everything almost all the time or it goes into a reboot loop. I'm pretty sure their is a setting in the bios to stop that but i have been having too much fun to look for it.

__________________
MY HEAT
I7 4770K @1.2 @4.5
ASUS A Z97
H2O swiftech 220 kit with Raystorm XSPC Block
Corsair Vengeance LP 1600 16gig
EVGA GTX780 3 gig memory
Seasonic 660watt -No mods to this
Samsung 840 pro 256 gig ssd
Armor case with 250mm side fan
Win7 Ultimate 64 bit
gottcha is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-07-11, 08:23 PM   #4
Super Nade
SU(3) Moderator

 
Super Nade's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA

 
An easy way to test would be to install Windoze on a USB drive. Clone it and save the clone to your HDD. So, if you kill windoze, you don't have to worry about reinstalling everything from scratch.

__________________
Motherboard Repair Tutorial || Power Supply Repair Tutorial || A Closer Look at PSU Signals ||
Understanding SMPS Technology
|| ASUS P5K Capacitor mod || Kernel Compile Guide || Guide to Wiping an SSD

Build in progress
ASUS Maximus Hero || i5-4670K || Crucial M500-480Gb || Antec HCP-850M || ASUS GTX 750Ti || Carbide 300R || Coolermaster Glacer 240L
Super Nade is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-07-11, 08:32 PM Thread Starter   #5
gottcha
Member

 
gottcha's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: wisconsin

 
I haven't killed windows yet i just have to reenter everything in the bios time...date...ect. after a about four times that gets kinda old.
Looks like 1.36 is the lowest volts for 3.6
I know the gtl refs make a huge difference after playing around a little.
cpu gtl
0)+30
1)-10
2)+30
3)-10
seem to work the best so far at 3.6
and
cpu - NB skew
delay100 -normal seems to be the sweet spot

but i have alot more to play with
Attached Images
 

__________________
MY HEAT
I7 4770K @1.2 @4.5
ASUS A Z97
H2O swiftech 220 kit with Raystorm XSPC Block
Corsair Vengeance LP 1600 16gig
EVGA GTX780 3 gig memory
Seasonic 660watt -No mods to this
Samsung 840 pro 256 gig ssd
Armor case with 250mm side fan
Win7 Ultimate 64 bit

Last edited by gottcha; 01-07-11 at 08:50 PM.
gottcha is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-07-11, 09:08 PM   #6
Super Nade
SU(3) Moderator

 
Super Nade's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA

 
You are already doing better than me.

__________________
Motherboard Repair Tutorial || Power Supply Repair Tutorial || A Closer Look at PSU Signals ||
Understanding SMPS Technology
|| ASUS P5K Capacitor mod || Kernel Compile Guide || Guide to Wiping an SSD

Build in progress
ASUS Maximus Hero || i5-4670K || Crucial M500-480Gb || Antec HCP-850M || ASUS GTX 750Ti || Carbide 300R || Coolermaster Glacer 240L
Super Nade is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-08-11, 09:45 AM Thread Starter   #7
gottcha
Member

 
gottcha's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: wisconsin

 
Well I ran prime all night and it seems stable enough for me @ 3.6.
Vcore- 1.360
FSB- 1.32 (P5E had to be at 1.39)
PLL- 1.55
NB- 1.35 (P5E volts for NB had to be at 1.46 and the NB was hot)

I still have to play with the NB gtl and the memory skews/ ref voltages to see how fast this thing will go! So far it seems any thing over 3.8 needs quite a bit of tweeking of the reference voltages.

The computer just feels zippier!

__________________
MY HEAT
I7 4770K @1.2 @4.5
ASUS A Z97
H2O swiftech 220 kit with Raystorm XSPC Block
Corsair Vengeance LP 1600 16gig
EVGA GTX780 3 gig memory
Seasonic 660watt -No mods to this
Samsung 840 pro 256 gig ssd
Armor case with 250mm side fan
Win7 Ultimate 64 bit
gottcha is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-08-11, 01:20 PM   #8
Super Nade
SU(3) Moderator

 
Super Nade's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA

 
You will have to bump up the VCore by quite a bit as you nudge towards 3.8GHz. Point of diminishing returns.

__________________
Motherboard Repair Tutorial || Power Supply Repair Tutorial || A Closer Look at PSU Signals ||
Understanding SMPS Technology
|| ASUS P5K Capacitor mod || Kernel Compile Guide || Guide to Wiping an SSD

Build in progress
ASUS Maximus Hero || i5-4670K || Crucial M500-480Gb || Antec HCP-850M || ASUS GTX 750Ti || Carbide 300R || Coolermaster Glacer 240L
Super Nade is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?