• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

How the heck do I change the multiplier?!?! (complete overclocking noob here)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Techboy10

So I've spent the last hour getting my memory stable @ 1600 because it was being a pain in the *** and refusing to boot. I finally got that set and started to overclock the processor...but wait!! How?? :bang head

**EDIT: Well forget about getting my memory stable @ 1600, CPU-Z says its running at 1333 (well 667, but you know)...this is really pissing me off...:mad:

I'm using Asus' new EFI bios and have been following this guide: http://www.techreaction.net/2011/01/04/3-step-overclocking-guide-–-sandy-bridge-v0-1beta/ which told me that I can disable Speedstep (which in turn disables Turbo). I finally figured out that I have to keep the Intel Speedstep and Turbo enable to be able to overclock but whenever I try to change the multiplier it goes back down to 34. Then I saw this picture:

ASUS-P8P67-EVO-BIOS-2.jpg

and tried the same thing but when I change the AI Overclock Tuner to Manual, there is no Turbo Ratio option, only one to change the BCLK.

Can anyone who has sucessfully overclocked a 2500K/2600K using the new Asus boards help a complete noob out and give me step by step instructions through the new BIOS? I know all I'm gonna be doing is changing the multiplier and upping the voltage when needed, I'm only going up to probably 4 GHz right now because I only have the stock cooler.

Thank you so much to anyone who can help me. I'm about ready to just forgot the entire thing and leave it at stock speed. :(