• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

SSD for Database Server

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

McGrace

SSD newbie here. Already posted one question in a thread. Now I have a new question.

Is it a bad idea to use a SSD for a database server, purely based on the technology (ignoring cost as I am assuming over time it will level out at a reasonable price point)?

Uptime and reliability would obviously be important. But if performance was phenomenally increased, I don't see why a good backup regimen to mitigate chances of a catastrophic loss wouldn't be sufficient.

I ask the question in case the technology and usage itself would basically cause you to burn through an SSD in a week, so to say. Or lose data at a significantly higher frequency than a mechanical drive.

Again, I am taking cost out of the equation.

Thanks!

How large of a database are we talking about and how critical is it?

If this is a production business-critical system, please research, think out and test anything I suggest before actually going live. I don't have experience with systems like this, but I can speculate and give ideas.

Killing a consumer-level drive would take tens of years of constant overwriting of the entire drive at full speed. It has wear leveling and many write cycles before a cell dies. Reliability of the drive should not be an issue, short of a faulty or DOA drive. I don't see any issues using a consumer drive.

You could even run RAID 1, if you want. The only downside I see to this is that TRIM does not go through RAID and I don't believe GC does either. I haven't needed to research this, so I don't know it off the top of my head.

While the server is running, you could make periodic backups to another drive or as the database changes (if it doesn't change often).