• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

First Build, had some questions concerns....

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

JT00

Registered
Would appreciate any and all opinions and feedback. This is my first build, and I have yet to buy anything because I would like the blessing from you fine folks out there.

CPU- AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition Thuban 3.2 GHz 6x512 KB L2 Cache

Cooler- Undecided, really want to do water cooling but what is the best water cooling system???

RAM- 8 GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator (is this the correct /best RAM?)

MOBO- ASUS Crosshair IV

GPU- ATI 1 GB 5870 x2 in crossfire or Single 2GB ATI 6950. Does Crossfire make that much of a significant difference??

Case- Corsair Obsidian 800 D

PSU- Corsair 850 W Professional series

HD- 300GB Gaming Western Digital VelociRaptor 10,000RPM SATA-II, should I do RAID 0, does it make that much of a difference??

Well that about sums up the nuts and bolts of what I want to do, is this a a viable build for a first timer? I'll be overclocking it and playing mostly MMO's and RTS'. Any feed back you have would be fantastic and much appreciated !!!! Happy 2011!~!:salute:

:welcome: to the forums!

The best water cooling option is a self-made loop. None of the pre-configured ones will hold a candle to one you put together your self. The corsair h50/h70 and those types, though they are technically water cooling, they function more like high-end air cooling.

If you're mostly playing games you can drop 4GB of the ram and go for something with better cas latency. Look at G.Skill DDR3 1600 cas7 or even cas6 if its affordable. Lower cas ratings make the read/write times to the ram go faster. Corsair is fine ram too, but usually costs more.