• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Helped needed understanding my RAM's OC potential!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Szarko

Hi guys,

I recently decided to start overclocking my machine.

The specs are:
MB: GA-EP45-UD3LR
CPU: Intel Q9650
RAM: Mushkin Redline 996672 (XP2-6400 800Mhz 4-4-3-10 1.8V)

I have my system running at 3.6Ghz no problem
With CPU freq set to 400Mhz.

Memory multiplier set to 2.00D, and latched to 400Mhz.

This keeps my RAM at 800Mhz, giving me a nice 1:1 ratio.

Question is now...
Can I push out more?

If I increase the CPU clock it will force my RAM above 800Mhz.

A freq of 440Mhz will take me to 3.96Ghz, and RAM to 880Mhz.

I have no experience with this, and I do not know what 80Mhz difference in RAM means.

Is it a MASSIVE difference? Will my RAM instantly blow? I was told these RAM modules are pretty good, and Mushkin is a great brand.

Any help would be appreciated, last thing I want is to change something and my RAM dies.

Thanks a lot.

The amount that you are able to overclock ram can vary greatly stick to stick. I would say that you should easily be able to get that ram up to 880mhz. If you have any stability issues, you can always bump up the voltage and/or loosen the timings a little. For example my corsair xms2 ddr2 800 was able to take an overclock up to 1090mhz at stock timings 24/7 stable with a very minimal boost to the voltage. Mushkin is a pretty good brand, and should overclock quite easily. My motherboard has the option to run the cpu unlinked from the memory, and this works out perfectly for overclocking because you can overclock each individually allowing you to know which component is unstable if there are problems. If you have this feature, I suggest that you use it to find your max OC. Don't forget to do stability tests.
-Greg

thanks