Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

weird problem

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-20-11, 08:34 AM Thread Starter   #1
Acuradude
Member

 
Acuradude's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: VA usa

 
weird problem


hey guys this is about the setup in my sig! i dont really know for sure where to post this either so if it is in the wrong section let me know!

ok the computer runs great, temps are great normally under 30c until underload then goes to about 37c, but it likes to crash or restart when i leave the room. i can sit in front of the computer for half of a day then as soon as i livve the room it turns off and turns back ok. but it never does it when im in the room.

this is what i know the temps are good!
it only does it when no one is in the room!
it started about 1 week ago!
the last time i change any settings was about 1 month ago and it past prime 95 2 times at 24 hours each time!

so im lost does anyone happen to know what may be causeing this????

__________________
AMD 8120 @ 4.0 at 1.25v and turbo @5.0 212+ cooler
asus sabertooth 990fx
TT Tough power 1350 watt
16gigs of kingston hyper x 1600mhz oc1666mhz
Samsung f3 1 tb
boot drive 256gb samsung 830 ssd
MSI 6970 Lightning oc gpu 1040mhz mem 1450mhz
Antec lanboy air blue
windows 8 64
HEATWARE
Acuradude is online now   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-11, 08:43 AM   #2
psionic98
Member


 
psionic98's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: 4th Floor office, East Coast

 
Check your event logs and see if anything shows up in there around the times it happens. It could be your C-states. If you didn't disable them for overclocking it could be dropping the volts too low during idle and forcing a crash due to inadequate power.. Just a first thought!

C1E etc.

__________________
EVGA x58 Micro (756) / i7 D0 @ 4.0, 1.278v w/HT (Air)
2x 300GB V-rap raid0, WD Caviar Black 640GB & 1TB
HIS 6950 @ 840/1450
Mushkin 6GB @ 6-7-6-18
/ Enermax 720 Modular
HAF 922 / Noctua D14Win7 Pro x64 / Mint 10
HEAT
i7(x58) OC'ing/Info
/ AMD Oc'ing/Info / C2D/C2Q OC'ing/Info
Recommended Power Supply Listing
psionic98 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-11, 09:18 AM Thread Starter   #3
Acuradude
Member

 
Acuradude's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: VA usa

 
ok now im going to sound like a total noob but if i dont then i guess i wont know lol! ok how do i check my event logs????

__________________
AMD 8120 @ 4.0 at 1.25v and turbo @5.0 212+ cooler
asus sabertooth 990fx
TT Tough power 1350 watt
16gigs of kingston hyper x 1600mhz oc1666mhz
Samsung f3 1 tb
boot drive 256gb samsung 830 ssd
MSI 6970 Lightning oc gpu 1040mhz mem 1450mhz
Antec lanboy air blue
windows 8 64
HEATWARE
Acuradude is online now   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-11, 09:21 AM   #4
psionic98
Member


 
psionic98's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: 4th Floor office, East Coast

 
in win7 just go to the bottom search box and type in event viewer it should pop up on the list. If not, click Start then Control Panel then System and Maintenance and then Administrative Tools.. in that list is Event Viewer. The one to look at when open is System Events I think. Look for Red icons around the time the issues might happen.

__________________
EVGA x58 Micro (756) / i7 D0 @ 4.0, 1.278v w/HT (Air)
2x 300GB V-rap raid0, WD Caviar Black 640GB & 1TB
HIS 6950 @ 840/1450
Mushkin 6GB @ 6-7-6-18
/ Enermax 720 Modular
HAF 922 / Noctua D14Win7 Pro x64 / Mint 10
HEAT
i7(x58) OC'ing/Info
/ AMD Oc'ing/Info / C2D/C2Q OC'ing/Info
Recommended Power Supply Listing
psionic98 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-11, 09:34 AM Thread Starter   #5
Acuradude
Member

 
Acuradude's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: VA usa

 
this is what i came up with theres also all kinds of other stuff that doesnt look to good
Attached Images
  

__________________
AMD 8120 @ 4.0 at 1.25v and turbo @5.0 212+ cooler
asus sabertooth 990fx
TT Tough power 1350 watt
16gigs of kingston hyper x 1600mhz oc1666mhz
Samsung f3 1 tb
boot drive 256gb samsung 830 ssd
MSI 6970 Lightning oc gpu 1040mhz mem 1450mhz
Antec lanboy air blue
windows 8 64
HEATWARE
Acuradude is online now   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-11, 09:35 AM Thread Starter   #6
Acuradude
Member

 
Acuradude's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: VA usa

 
sorry for such big screen shots i tried to resize them but then you couldnt read any of the text.

__________________
AMD 8120 @ 4.0 at 1.25v and turbo @5.0 212+ cooler
asus sabertooth 990fx
TT Tough power 1350 watt
16gigs of kingston hyper x 1600mhz oc1666mhz
Samsung f3 1 tb
boot drive 256gb samsung 830 ssd
MSI 6970 Lightning oc gpu 1040mhz mem 1450mhz
Antec lanboy air blue
windows 8 64
HEATWARE

Last edited by Acuradude; 01-20-11 at 09:46 AM.
Acuradude is online now   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-11, 09:52 AM   #7
Seebs
Fronting as a Mod Member

 
Seebs's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sunshine State

 
Microsoft support page that relates to your BugCheckCode: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2028504

Your best bet will be to post in the M$ support site as they will be more likely to point you in the right direction.
I read a bit about the error on the M$ site and it could be related to GPU Drivers, or IEEE Drivers, or Antivirus SW... But the only way to be sure of the reason will be for you to post there and include your minidump file so that one of the gurus there can analyse it and tell you for sure what the issue is.

__________________
Daily Driver: GA-890FXA-UD5 - Ph II X6 1090T - 16GB DDR3 1333MHz - MSI R9 280X Gaming Edition/HD 5670/HD6570 - Venomous X Black + G1238B12BBZP-00 - TX850V2 - CM 690 II Advanced
Join the "Benching Team" - We have secret sauce! - OptyTrooper: GPUs are for burning not playing games anyway
Kona on League of Legends: This game sits about as well with me as a gallon of prune juice does, and the results are just as nasty.
I done got Pinked...

Be sure to pre-tin everything (even soldered stuff!) with leaded solder. None of the RoHS junk. You want good old fashioned toxic heavy metals. ~ Bobnova
Seebs is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-11, 02:50 PM   #8
psionic98
Member


 
psionic98's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: 4th Floor office, East Coast

 
Even though I don't suspect the temps being the reason, download coretemp and enable the logging feature. It should keep a text log file of all temps recorded which should overlap your bsod failures. Also see below to turn off auto rebooting, so you can get the BSOD error codes, which sometimes can help point us in the right direction.

Follow these steps to disable auto-rebooting:

Click on the Start button and then on Control Panel.

Click on the System and Security link.

Click on the System link.

In the task pane on the left, click the Advanced system settings link.

Locate the Startup and Recovery section near the bottom of the window and click on the Settings button.

In the Startup and Recovery window, locate and uncheck the check box next to Automatically restart.

Click OK in the Startup and Recovery window.

Click OK in the System Properties window.

Close the window.

From now on you will see the BSOD screen instead of having your system reboot.

__________________
EVGA x58 Micro (756) / i7 D0 @ 4.0, 1.278v w/HT (Air)
2x 300GB V-rap raid0, WD Caviar Black 640GB & 1TB
HIS 6950 @ 840/1450
Mushkin 6GB @ 6-7-6-18
/ Enermax 720 Modular
HAF 922 / Noctua D14Win7 Pro x64 / Mint 10
HEAT
i7(x58) OC'ing/Info
/ AMD Oc'ing/Info / C2D/C2Q OC'ing/Info
Recommended Power Supply Listing
psionic98 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-11, 09:03 PM Thread Starter   #9
Acuradude
Member

 
Acuradude's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: VA usa

 
ok done all now next time the systems dies how can i veiw the core temp logging file?

__________________
AMD 8120 @ 4.0 at 1.25v and turbo @5.0 212+ cooler
asus sabertooth 990fx
TT Tough power 1350 watt
16gigs of kingston hyper x 1600mhz oc1666mhz
Samsung f3 1 tb
boot drive 256gb samsung 830 ssd
MSI 6970 Lightning oc gpu 1040mhz mem 1450mhz
Antec lanboy air blue
windows 8 64
HEATWARE
Acuradude is online now   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-11, 09:42 PM Thread Starter   #10
Acuradude
Member

 
Acuradude's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: VA usa

 
ok see all the differant temps which one is right i have very good venting and a sunbeam 120 heatsink and fan my ambient temps are 23c or 72f
Attached Images
 

__________________
AMD 8120 @ 4.0 at 1.25v and turbo @5.0 212+ cooler
asus sabertooth 990fx
TT Tough power 1350 watt
16gigs of kingston hyper x 1600mhz oc1666mhz
Samsung f3 1 tb
boot drive 256gb samsung 830 ssd
MSI 6970 Lightning oc gpu 1040mhz mem 1450mhz
Antec lanboy air blue
windows 8 64
HEATWARE
Acuradude is online now   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-21-11, 12:51 AM   #11
trents
Senior Member

 
trents's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Centralia, WA

 
Focus on the HWMonitor "CPU" Temperature and the HWMonitor "Core" temps, 0-4. The CPU temp is actually the socket area temp whereas the core temp is taken from the processor die itself. The latter is the most important.

__________________
Custom built desktop #1:
FX-6300 4.5 ghz/Noctua D14 CPU cooler/16 gb Team Elite 2400 mhz ram, 4x4gb/Asus M5A99X Evo motherboard/Coolermaster HAF 912 case/OCZ 750W PSU/AMD 6850 GPU/2xCorsair 120gb SDD RAID 0
Toshiba SatelliteL775 laptop/17.3" display, AMD 3400M APU, 8 gb of 1333

Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6
trents is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-21-11, 06:20 AM Thread Starter   #12
Acuradude
Member

 
Acuradude's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: VA usa

 
thanks trents and congrats on the blue!


so is it the Core temps that should not go above 55C or the cpu temps

__________________
AMD 8120 @ 4.0 at 1.25v and turbo @5.0 212+ cooler
asus sabertooth 990fx
TT Tough power 1350 watt
16gigs of kingston hyper x 1600mhz oc1666mhz
Samsung f3 1 tb
boot drive 256gb samsung 830 ssd
MSI 6970 Lightning oc gpu 1040mhz mem 1450mhz
Antec lanboy air blue
windows 8 64
HEATWARE

Last edited by Acuradude; 01-21-11 at 06:58 AM.
Acuradude is online now   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-24-11, 09:38 PM Thread Starter   #13
Acuradude
Member

 
Acuradude's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: VA usa

 
i am still wondering my previous ? is it the core temp or the cpu temp that should not go able 55c

__________________
AMD 8120 @ 4.0 at 1.25v and turbo @5.0 212+ cooler
asus sabertooth 990fx
TT Tough power 1350 watt
16gigs of kingston hyper x 1600mhz oc1666mhz
Samsung f3 1 tb
boot drive 256gb samsung 830 ssd
MSI 6970 Lightning oc gpu 1040mhz mem 1450mhz
Antec lanboy air blue
windows 8 64
HEATWARE
Acuradude is online now   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-24-11, 10:06 PM   #14
k88
Member

 
k88's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Guatemala

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by psionic98 View Post
Check your event logs and see if anything shows up in there around the times it happens. It could be your C-states. If you didn't disable them for overclocking it could be dropping the volts too low during idle and forcing a crash due to inadequate power.. Just a first thought!

C1E etc.
when is recommended disabled/enabled C1E or why should I have disabled?

__________________
Phenom II 955 BE w/ CM H212+
Asus M4a89GTD PRO/USB3
4Gb DDR3 Corsair XMS3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20
Seagate 500gb SataII 7200.12 rpm
Corsair 650TX
Mk300
TT V3 BE
k88 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-24-11, 10:19 PM Thread Starter   #15
Acuradude
Member

 
Acuradude's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: VA usa

 
disable it if you overclock at all i would only have it enabled if i was trying to save power other wise i would disable it

__________________
AMD 8120 @ 4.0 at 1.25v and turbo @5.0 212+ cooler
asus sabertooth 990fx
TT Tough power 1350 watt
16gigs of kingston hyper x 1600mhz oc1666mhz
Samsung f3 1 tb
boot drive 256gb samsung 830 ssd
MSI 6970 Lightning oc gpu 1040mhz mem 1450mhz
Antec lanboy air blue
windows 8 64
HEATWARE
Acuradude is online now   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-24-11, 11:45 PM   #16
QuietIce
Disabled



Join Date: May 2006
Location: Anywhere but there

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Acuradude View Post
i am still wondering my previous ? is it the core temp or the cpu temp that should not go able 55c
Load core temp should be no more than 55 and preferably 50 or less.
QuietIce is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-25-11, 06:37 AM Thread Starter   #17
Acuradude
Member

 
Acuradude's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: VA usa

 
ok cool thanks QueitIce your the best and if was making more money id just pay you to be my computer mentor if have helped on just about every ? i have ever had on here! lol thank you so very much!

__________________
AMD 8120 @ 4.0 at 1.25v and turbo @5.0 212+ cooler
asus sabertooth 990fx
TT Tough power 1350 watt
16gigs of kingston hyper x 1600mhz oc1666mhz
Samsung f3 1 tb
boot drive 256gb samsung 830 ssd
MSI 6970 Lightning oc gpu 1040mhz mem 1450mhz
Antec lanboy air blue
windows 8 64
HEATWARE
Acuradude is online now   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?