Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

GTX 570 DCII on P8P67, too big?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-19-11, 03:05 PM Thread Starter   #1
Lucas2903
New Member



Join Date: Mar 2011

 
GTX 570 DCII on P8P67, too big?


Hi, I just bought but don't have it until next week a GTX 570 DirectCU II and i 'm worry about the thickness of it (2,5'') if I decide to go SLI in 1 year or so.

On the spec Nvidia says to check whith my MB spec but I can't find anything about it.
Cause when you look at it it's very big.

ASUS ENGTX570 DCII/2DIS/1280MD5

Thanks for your help.
Lucas2903 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-19-11, 09:42 PM   #2
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Honestly, in a year, that card is going to be so outdated that running them in SLi is not going to be worth it. Sorry I can't answer your question directly.

EDIT: Now that I look at it, it would probably fit. But, it still isn't worth it. Not only would the card be outdated, the lower card would restrict the top card's intake as well as raiding in intake temperature.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Coming soon
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-19-11, 11:01 PM Thread Starter   #3
Lucas2903
New Member



Join Date: Mar 2011

 
First, i don't think the card is gonna be outdated, and in a year or so, the card will be half priced. Many people on these forums still use a gtx460 to play most of the games.
For the space between the two cards, i know that's gonna be tight but when I look at people using 4 cards like gtx580 in SLI , i don't think it's gonna be worst. Thank's anyway
Lucas2903 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-19-11, 11:29 PM   #4
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
I mean outdated as in it would be better to sell the card and get a single better one. SLi is only good if you are running the fastest single card out there and want more performance. Anything other than that is pretty much a waste.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Coming soon
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-21-11, 04:22 PM   #5
Xstatic
Member



Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rochester, Michigan

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
I mean outdated as in it would be better to sell the card and get a single better one. SLi is only good if you are running the fastest single card out there and want more performance. Anything other than that is pretty much a waste.
In your opinion. Most people on this forum and others would not agree with you. In fact most say its best to get what you can afford now and then get a second card when the price drops in half.

In your situation OP, It might not be such a awesome idea to sli this card as the top card might get hot cause of the reduced airflow. I seen either a thread or review on this card being sli'd but I can't find it at the moment.

__________________
OLD Rig/Too lazy to update newer rig
Intel I7 920 @4.0ghz | Prolimatech Megahalems | Asus P6T | 12 gigs OCZ GOLD DDR3 1600 | ATI Saphire 4870 X2 2gig
60gig OCZ Vertex SSD, 1Tb WD BE | Audigy 2 ZS Plat | Klipsch promedia ultra 5.1 speakers | Cooler Master CM-830 Stacker

Backup Rig
Intel C2Q Q6600 | Asus P5W-DH Deluxe | 4 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 | Nvidia 8800 GTX
750gig

My Heat
Xstatic is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-21-11, 04:40 PM   #6
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
I definately agree with thiddy. Though I agree more towards MIDRANGE cards like a 460 1GB.

HOWEVER in a 'year OR SO' I would still NOT go SLI with a 570, but would sell the 570 and buy a better single card (less hassle, less power consumption, less heat in the case, etc). SLI is really only for those with 2560x1600 res or multi monitor setups or that benchmark.

As far as if it will fit. Measure the distance between PCIe slots.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-21-11, 05:30 PM Thread Starter   #7
Lucas2903
New Member



Join Date: Mar 2011

 
Ok thanks for the answers. Yes the gtx570 would fit in Sli but very close from the other one. The thing is, when i look at games like Crysis2, it seems like you need to have powerful graphic card to run it smoothly. So, the games that will be release in the next months are gonna be even harder to play.
Do you think i'll be able to play it with good fps with the gtx570 ?
I just bought this new build and come from far with my P4, radeon 9000.

I7 2600k
Asus P8P67 Evo
G.Skill RipjawsX 2x4G 1600Mhz ddr3
Intel SSD x25-m 80G Sata2
WD CaviarBlack 1T 7200rpm 64M Sata3
Asus GTX570 DirectCUII
NZXT Phantom Black
Corsair 850W TX
Noctua-Nh-D14
MS Win 7 64bits
Lucas2903 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?