• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New Sys Build... thoughts? discuss?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

dicemoon

Hi all... First a bit of background, I'm building this as a carpc... ok, a big rig truck pc. I'm a trucker with a techy side.
This is my idea, please any thoughts are welcomed.

Case:
Thermaltake Lanbox Lite (Already have from last build)

Power Supply:
Antec BP550

Motherboard:
Biostar ta880gb+

Processor:
AMD Phenom ii x6 1055t hex core (non black edition)

Ram:
Kingston HyperX 8gb cas7

Vid Card:
ASUS ENGTS450

sound onboard, nic Linksys wifi (have laying around)

Optical:
Plextor Sata DVD Burner (have laying around)

Hard Drives:
(have a 250 gig and a 1tb laying around... could be better quality, but they are sata and functional)

Keyboard:
Logitech g15 (have laying around)

Mouse:
Microsoft Intellimouse Wireless (have this laying around too)

Monitors:
Dynex 32" Lcd tv/monitor for the sleeper of my truck
The piece de resistance 7" lcd touchscreen/car(truck)pc monitor for the cab of my truck

Any thoughts again are appreciated, the components I have laying around are pretty much set in stone, all others are changeable though

Several things come to mind-

You'll want additional batter(ies) to power this thing, as well as an inverter.

Where you live will be a concern, as you wouldn't want to start the system when it literally had a bit of frost in it, for example

You'll want to check the safe operating and non operating temperature ranges for every component you choose, then take into consideration how hot and cold your truck gets in the hot summer sun/winter cold and make sure it doesn't exceed those limits.

In a vehicle mounted PC, I would personally go for a track pad and low profile, attractive lighted keyboard, and mount them in the dash. You can lose a mouse.