Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

3040b383 = 'Meh' i7 950 batch?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-26-11, 06:15 AM Thread Starter   #1
Theocnoob
Hates Trashcans
LOVES GRAMMER

 
Theocnoob's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Canada. Eh?

 
3040b383 = 'Meh' i7 950 batch?




I'd heard of 950's doing 200x20 on 1.27v bios setting so I'm a little disappointed that mine isn't guaranteed uberstable below 1.31v. Even at 1.30 after priming for a couple of hours it goes kerplunk. That's been my latest tweaking, getting voltages to the minimum happy number and that's as low as it'll go.

I got a really good bin conroe E6550 3 years ago. But this guy not so much.

Anybody have one of those mythical 950's that'll run 4Ghz @ 1.27? Or less? Any idea what the 'e4' after the batch means?
Theocnoob is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-26-11, 02:37 PM   #2
doz
Member



Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Las Vegas, NV

10 Year Badge
 
1.31v @ 4ghz isnt bad really. i7-950's dont seem to clock as well as the i7-920s did. Even the 930s dont clock like the 920s. I was 4ghz stable @ 1.25v if I remember right on my 920, and 4.5ghz stable at 1.42v.

You gotta realize that all chips are different. You are achieving 4ghz @ 1.31v, which is nothing to be ashamed of. You may be able to get a 4ghz overclock w/ slightly less voltage with a lower bclock and higher multi. Sometimes it works although it never has really helped me out (some people do this).

Also, what are your other voltages? You may be unstable on the QPI rather than core and you might need more voltage elsewhere, allowing you to lower your vcore.

__________________
Asus P8P67
Intel i7-2600k @ 4.9ghz
GSkill Ripjaws 8gb 1600mhz c8
EVGA GTX780 ACX 1228//1650
OCZ Agility 2 240gb, Corsair Force 3 180gb, (2)WD 1tb Black
HAF 932w/ Corsair HX750
Heat
doz is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-26-11, 02:47 PM   #3
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by doz View Post
1.31v @ 4ghz isnt bad really. i7-950's dont seem to clock as well as the i7-920s did. Even the 930s dont clock like the 920s. I was 4ghz stable @ 1.25v if I remember right on my 920, and 4.5ghz stable at 1.42v.

You gotta realize that all chips are different. You are achieving 4ghz @ 1.31v, which is nothing to be ashamed of. You may be able to get a 4ghz overclock w/ slightly less voltage with a lower bclock and higher multi. Sometimes it works although it never has really helped me out (some people do this).

Also, what are your other voltages? You may be unstable on the QPI rather than core and you might need more voltage elsewhere, allowing you to lower your vcore.
+1

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-26-11, 11:35 PM Thread Starter   #4
Theocnoob
Hates Trashcans
LOVES GRAMMER

 
Theocnoob's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Canada. Eh?

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by doz View Post
1.31v @ 4ghz isnt bad really. i7-950's dont seem to clock as well as the i7-920s did. Even the 930s dont clock like the 920s. I was 4ghz stable @ 1.25v if I remember right on my 920, and 4.5ghz stable at 1.42v.

You gotta realize that all chips are different. You are achieving 4ghz @ 1.31v, which is nothing to be ashamed of. You may be able to get a 4ghz overclock w/ slightly less voltage with a lower bclock and higher multi. Sometimes it works although it never has really helped me out (some people do this).

Also, what are your other voltages? You may be unstable on the QPI rather than core and you might need more voltage elsewhere, allowing you to lower your vcore.
Will report back after next reset. Going to play Starcraft. And lose Starcraft.
Theocnoob is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?