Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Gpu Load 100%, Lots of memory used on idle.

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-26-11, 02:06 PM Thread Starter   #1
APhamX
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2010

 
Gpu Load 100%, Lots of memory used on idle.


Okay, I used to be able to play starcraft on medium settings with the Nvidia 8600GT (can't find a cheap ati graphics card >:L) but now I lag like crazy. I don't know what's wrong. Even when I play League of Legends on 1600 x 1050 all low settings I barely get 10 fps. I used to be able to get 60 fps in 1080p but now I lag like crazy?! I scanned my computer with malwarebytes and bitdefender, no viruses and I even turned game mode on.

When I turn on the computer and check the gpu memory usage it was using 100 MB, and I only have 256 MB. Is this normal for windows to use 100mb of ram when no apps are running?

GPU is 55C on idle. 80C Full load. 90~100C overclocked (yeah.. I'm not ganna overclock it anymore, just leaving default..)
APhamX is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-26-11, 03:42 PM   #2
shant
Member

 
shant's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lebanon

 
see if there is any background programs/processes running thats using the gpu

__________________
3770k l 4.5Ghz l 1.26vcore
Maximus V Extreme
2x2GB Patriot Sector 5 2133Mhz+2x2 2400mhz,all running @ 1866mhz
2x WD Caviar Black 64mb/1TB(raid 0) + 32GB intel 520 msata ssd caching
Evga Gtx 460 ee
Xfx 650W psu Black Edition
Hafx
shant is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-26-11, 05:30 PM Thread Starter   #3
APhamX
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2010

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by shant View Post
see if there is any background programs/processes running thats using the gpu
Like I said, its on idle. And nothing is using the gpu. I'm not folding @ home or anything either.

Asus Sabertooth x58
Intel i7 950
Corsair XMS3 8gb 1600 Mhz DDR3
Western Digital Sata 3 1TB Caviar black 7200 rpm
Corsair 750 watt certified CPU
Antec 900 case
Cool Master Hyper 212+ cooler

IThe thing is.. after I updated windows this started to happen. And I have the latest update for the GPU.
APhamX is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-26-11, 05:42 PM   #4
shant
Member

 
shant's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lebanon

 
i would say try safe mode but then games won't load,
try installing the latest drivers

EDIT
oops, you already have latest update

EDIT #2
yeahi think 100mb video ram usage is normal
im using 1366x760 and using 70mb, if your using 1080p then yeah its normal
also diehrd is right i suggest you try what he suggested

__________________
3770k l 4.5Ghz l 1.26vcore
Maximus V Extreme
2x2GB Patriot Sector 5 2133Mhz+2x2 2400mhz,all running @ 1866mhz
2x WD Caviar Black 64mb/1TB(raid 0) + 32GB intel 520 msata ssd caching
Evga Gtx 460 ee
Xfx 650W psu Black Edition
Hafx

Last edited by shant; 01-26-11 at 05:48 PM.
shant is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-26-11, 05:46 PM   #5
diehrd
Senior SMP Gawd

 
diehrd's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: NY

10 Year Badge
 
I would suggest you pull the heat sink of your GPU , clean heat sink and fan and apply a good thermal paste. Then see how it runs , it sorta sounds like it could be a heat issue !
diehrd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-26-11, 07:56 PM Thread Starter   #6
APhamX
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2010

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by diehrd View Post
I would suggest you pull the heat sink of your GPU , clean heat sink and fan and apply a good thermal paste. Then see how it runs , it sorta sounds like it could be a heat issue !
I reapplied thermal paste (arctic Silver 5) took out the dust and screwed it in. Only dropped by about 3-5 C. Hmm...
APhamX is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-26-11, 08:51 PM   #7
diehrd
Senior SMP Gawd

 
diehrd's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: NY

10 Year Badge
 
You have a different card you can toss in to see how it works ? My sister never dusted her computer out as i told her to and her video card overheated and caused lots of issues and died shortly after i cleaned it up and applied new paste to it ..

Heat will for sure cause serious problems
diehrd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-26-11, 08:56 PM Thread Starter   #8
APhamX
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2010

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by diehrd View Post
You have a different card you can toss in to see how it works ? My sister never dusted her computer out as i told her to and her video card overheated and caused lots of issues and died shortly after i cleaned it up and applied new paste to it ..

Heat will for sure cause serious problems
I want to get a new one was about to get the radeon 5870 but decided I could wait. I regret it D:. Sadly I don't have an extra .
APhamX is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-27-11, 04:46 AM   #9
shant
Member

 
shant's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lebanon

 
see how the fan is working for your card, also do you have enough ventilation in your case?

__________________
3770k l 4.5Ghz l 1.26vcore
Maximus V Extreme
2x2GB Patriot Sector 5 2133Mhz+2x2 2400mhz,all running @ 1866mhz
2x WD Caviar Black 64mb/1TB(raid 0) + 32GB intel 520 msata ssd caching
Evga Gtx 460 ee
Xfx 650W psu Black Edition
Hafx
shant is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-27-11, 06:52 AM Thread Starter   #10
APhamX
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2010

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by shant View Post
see how the fan is working for your card, also do you have enough ventilation in your case?
Antec 900. Yea I'm pretty sure there is enough. However the PSU fan is blowing AT the gpu...
APhamX is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-27-11, 06:56 AM   #11
shant
Member

 
shant's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lebanon

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by APhamX View Post
Antec 900. Yea I'm pretty sure there is enough. However the PSU fan is blowing AT the gpu...
great, check the gpu fan, what if its dead? that happened to me once
btw the psu sucks air, unless you changed the direction (which isn't a good idea)

__________________
3770k l 4.5Ghz l 1.26vcore
Maximus V Extreme
2x2GB Patriot Sector 5 2133Mhz+2x2 2400mhz,all running @ 1866mhz
2x WD Caviar Black 64mb/1TB(raid 0) + 32GB intel 520 msata ssd caching
Evga Gtx 460 ee
Xfx 650W psu Black Edition
Hafx
shant is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-27-11, 08:23 AM   #12
diehrd
Senior SMP Gawd

 
diehrd's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: NY

10 Year Badge
 
Set PSU in such a way as to have it exhaust out of case .. No wonder your card was hitting 100c
diehrd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-27-11, 10:05 AM Thread Starter   #13
APhamX
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2010

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by diehrd View Post
Set PSU in such a way as to have it exhaust out of case .. No wonder your card was hitting 100c
uhhh... If I flip the psu... There isn't anything to blow air out to. I would have to cut a pretty big hole in the case.. but the thing is. If I don't overclock the card, it is only at 80C max load. But heres the thing, I lag in games playing League of legends (its like warcraft 3, low demanding games) 720p with everything on low and I only get 10fps. I used to be able to hit 60 fps on max.. Something went wrong.
APhamX is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-27-11, 10:12 AM   #14
madhatter256
Special Member ★

 
madhatter256's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: CFL

 
Sounds like the video card has some sort of voltage problem.... the VRM on it might be going bad and giving your GPU high voltages as a result causing it to overheat when idle and then lag when playing games....

Given that it's an 8600GT... look for swollen or bulging caps on the video card. THe capacitors should be flat on top.

__________________
Folding User Stats
Heatware
madhatter256 is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-27-11, 10:57 AM   #15
diehrd
Senior SMP Gawd

 
diehrd's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: NY

10 Year Badge
 
It is over heating at the very least . Cant you take case side off and set psu out of case to see if card cool off any better the 80c
diehrd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-27-11, 12:44 PM   #16
RADIO_ACTIVE
Member

 
RADIO_ACTIVE's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sacramento, CA

 
I don't see any problem with 80 degrees, but you may have damaged the card when you overclocked it you said it reached 100, now thats pushing it a bit. Might be time for an RMA if possible or replacment.

__________________
CPU: i7 960 @ 3.8ghz
MOBO: EVGA x58 SLI
RAM: gSkill - 6gigs DDR3 1600
GPU: GALAXY 2x GTX 480 SLI @ 780/1560/2012
SSD: OCZ Vertex 2 120gig
PSU: Kingwin 1000w
CHASIS: Antec 900 two
RADIO_ACTIVE is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-27-11, 04:04 PM Thread Starter   #17
APhamX
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2010

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by RADIO_ACTIVE View Post
I don't see any problem with 80 degrees, but you may have damaged the card when you overclocked it you said it reached 100, now thats pushing it a bit. Might be time for an RMA if possible or replacment.
Rma a 4 year card? :P I have to find a new current gen card. But unfortunately I can't find a cheap 5870
APhamX is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-27-11, 04:27 PM   #18
RADIO_ACTIVE
Member

 
RADIO_ACTIVE's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sacramento, CA

 
Some companys offer lifetime warranties... Check this thread out
http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s...d.php?t=666232

__________________
CPU: i7 960 @ 3.8ghz
MOBO: EVGA x58 SLI
RAM: gSkill - 6gigs DDR3 1600
GPU: GALAXY 2x GTX 480 SLI @ 780/1560/2012
SSD: OCZ Vertex 2 120gig
PSU: Kingwin 1000w
CHASIS: Antec 900 two
RADIO_ACTIVE is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-27-11, 06:20 PM   #19
shant
Member

 
shant's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lebanon

 
yes radio active may be right, i did damage my 9800GT from oc ing once then it died

__________________
3770k l 4.5Ghz l 1.26vcore
Maximus V Extreme
2x2GB Patriot Sector 5 2133Mhz+2x2 2400mhz,all running @ 1866mhz
2x WD Caviar Black 64mb/1TB(raid 0) + 32GB intel 520 msata ssd caching
Evga Gtx 460 ee
Xfx 650W psu Black Edition
Hafx
shant is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-27-11, 07:15 PM Thread Starter   #20
APhamX
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2010

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by shant View Post
yes radio active may be right, i did damage my 9800GT from oc ing once then it died
I reseated the card, and I reinstalled drivers. It.. worked.
APhamX is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?