Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Help with 6850 and BC2

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-29-11, 11:05 AM Thread Starter   #1
greenchevy33
New Member



Join Date: Jan 2011

 
Help with 6850 and BC2


Hello everyone, I recently purchased an MSI Radeon 6850 it runs flawlessly on everything except Battlefield Bad Company 2 (the main game I got this for), I'm only getting 15-20 fps and real bad stutters, I was wondering if you guys could help me out with this, any info would be appreciated, oh, and I'm using the latest catalyst driver

System Specs:
650w CoolerMaster PSU
Pentium Dual Core 1.8
2 gigs Ram
6850 Radeon
Vista 32 bit
greenchevy33 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-29-11, 11:09 AM   #2
bda1967
Member

 
bda1967's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ohio

 
I think your CPU is choking your GPU. BC2 is more of a CPU dependant game optimized for quad core CPU's. What resolution are you playing at? EDIT: Oh sorry for being rude. 2EDIT: You could benefit from more RAM too. 4 gigs should be your target even though you have a 32 bit OS, meaning you will only see up to 4GB max of system RAM including video memory.

__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.3GHz - Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 - 8GB DDR3-1600 G. Skill PC3-12800
Diamond HD 7970 - OCZ Agility 3 240 GB SSD / (2) 500GB HDD's storage - HAF X - Hyper 212 Plus
Fatality Pro X-FI - Cooler Master 850 watt psu - Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Athlon II X4 635 Propus @ 3.6GHz - MA770T-UD3P - 4GB G. Skill DDR3-1600 PC3-12800
Sapphire HD 4870 - 320 GB HDD - Modified HP case - Nirvana NV120
BFG GS 550 watt psu - Windows 7 Ultimate 64
FX-4100 @ 4.2GHz - Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3 - 8GB Kingston DDR3 1600
XFX HD6870 - 320 GB HDD - Antec 900 - Hyper 212 Plus
Corsair CX500 - Windows 7 Pro 64

Last edited by bda1967; 01-29-11 at 11:15 AM.
bda1967 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-29-11, 11:22 AM Thread Starter   #3
greenchevy33
New Member



Join Date: Jan 2011

 
Yes I agree on the cpu, it's killing me, and an upgrade is coming soon; but the card I had before this was a gt 220 and it would run the game at 25-30 fps and was playable, it's not even playable with the 6850

1280x1024 is the resolution

Last edited by greenchevy33; 01-29-11 at 11:29 AM.
greenchevy33 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-29-11, 11:35 AM   #4
bda1967
Member

 
bda1967's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ohio

 
What drivers are you using? Try 11.1 and turn all settings to low in the game.

__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.3GHz - Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 - 8GB DDR3-1600 G. Skill PC3-12800
Diamond HD 7970 - OCZ Agility 3 240 GB SSD / (2) 500GB HDD's storage - HAF X - Hyper 212 Plus
Fatality Pro X-FI - Cooler Master 850 watt psu - Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Athlon II X4 635 Propus @ 3.6GHz - MA770T-UD3P - 4GB G. Skill DDR3-1600 PC3-12800
Sapphire HD 4870 - 320 GB HDD - Modified HP case - Nirvana NV120
BFG GS 550 watt psu - Windows 7 Ultimate 64
FX-4100 @ 4.2GHz - Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3 - 8GB Kingston DDR3 1600
XFX HD6870 - 320 GB HDD - Antec 900 - Hyper 212 Plus
Corsair CX500 - Windows 7 Pro 64
bda1967 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-29-11, 11:37 AM Thread Starter   #5
greenchevy33
New Member



Join Date: Jan 2011

 
Yea I'm using the 11.1 drivers and all the settings are on low with bloom and hsao both off, no aa, no af; and it still performs as if it's epileptic
greenchevy33 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-29-11, 11:48 AM   #6
bda1967
Member

 
bda1967's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ohio

 
Is 1280x1024 your highest resolution? Try changing resolution. Did you completely uninstall the nvidia drivers and run Driver Sweeper in the safe mode before you installed 11.1 drivers?

__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.3GHz - Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 - 8GB DDR3-1600 G. Skill PC3-12800
Diamond HD 7970 - OCZ Agility 3 240 GB SSD / (2) 500GB HDD's storage - HAF X - Hyper 212 Plus
Fatality Pro X-FI - Cooler Master 850 watt psu - Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Athlon II X4 635 Propus @ 3.6GHz - MA770T-UD3P - 4GB G. Skill DDR3-1600 PC3-12800
Sapphire HD 4870 - 320 GB HDD - Modified HP case - Nirvana NV120
BFG GS 550 watt psu - Windows 7 Ultimate 64
FX-4100 @ 4.2GHz - Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3 - 8GB Kingston DDR3 1600
XFX HD6870 - 320 GB HDD - Antec 900 - Hyper 212 Plus
Corsair CX500 - Windows 7 Pro 64
bda1967 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-29-11, 11:50 AM   #7
Theocnoob
Hates Trashcans
LOVES GRAMMER

 
Theocnoob's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Canada. Eh?

 
Pentium D overclocks really well. Might want to put it to the wall before you upgrade and see if it is satisfactory. Even then you could get away with a cheap upgrade- find a Q6600 for 40 bucks or something.. Assuming that your motherboard is a good overclocker and natively or through a bios update will support four core.
Theocnoob is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-29-11, 12:04 PM Thread Starter   #8
greenchevy33
New Member



Join Date: Jan 2011

 
Yes 1280x1024 is the highest res I can choose from, ran driversweep, cleaned out all the old nvidia stuff I had before i installed the new drivers;
I've tried to OC the cpu but my bios is locked
greenchevy33 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-29-11, 12:12 PM   #9
bda1967
Member

 
bda1967's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ohio

 
I'm afraid that you are a candidate for an immediate upgrade ASAP. What is your budget?

__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.3GHz - Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 - 8GB DDR3-1600 G. Skill PC3-12800
Diamond HD 7970 - OCZ Agility 3 240 GB SSD / (2) 500GB HDD's storage - HAF X - Hyper 212 Plus
Fatality Pro X-FI - Cooler Master 850 watt psu - Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Athlon II X4 635 Propus @ 3.6GHz - MA770T-UD3P - 4GB G. Skill DDR3-1600 PC3-12800
Sapphire HD 4870 - 320 GB HDD - Modified HP case - Nirvana NV120
BFG GS 550 watt psu - Windows 7 Ultimate 64
FX-4100 @ 4.2GHz - Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3 - 8GB Kingston DDR3 1600
XFX HD6870 - 320 GB HDD - Antec 900 - Hyper 212 Plus
Corsair CX500 - Windows 7 Pro 64
bda1967 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-29-11, 12:15 PM Thread Starter   #10
greenchevy33
New Member



Join Date: Jan 2011

 
*sigh* Well I was planning to upgrade anyway, probably around 500-600$ budget; been looking at the AMD 6 core cpu, any thoughts on that? or should I get one of the new i series cpus? give me some input guys it would be greatly apprieciated

*edit* Hey at least I already have a brand new psu and video card :S
greenchevy33 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-29-11, 12:22 PM   #11
bda1967
Member

 
bda1967's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ohio

 
Well 6 cores are nice for certain things but gaming isn't one of them. With a $600 budget and you already have the psu and video card, I can throw someting together. Are you reusing Vista 32 bit?

__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.3GHz - Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 - 8GB DDR3-1600 G. Skill PC3-12800
Diamond HD 7970 - OCZ Agility 3 240 GB SSD / (2) 500GB HDD's storage - HAF X - Hyper 212 Plus
Fatality Pro X-FI - Cooler Master 850 watt psu - Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Athlon II X4 635 Propus @ 3.6GHz - MA770T-UD3P - 4GB G. Skill DDR3-1600 PC3-12800
Sapphire HD 4870 - 320 GB HDD - Modified HP case - Nirvana NV120
BFG GS 550 watt psu - Windows 7 Ultimate 64
FX-4100 @ 4.2GHz - Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3 - 8GB Kingston DDR3 1600
XFX HD6870 - 320 GB HDD - Antec 900 - Hyper 212 Plus
Corsair CX500 - Windows 7 Pro 64
bda1967 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-29-11, 12:28 PM Thread Starter   #12
greenchevy33
New Member



Join Date: Jan 2011

 
No I won't be reusing Vista 32-bit, and I would like to get a board with 2 pci-e slots for future(possible) crossfiring
greenchevy33 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-29-11, 12:50 PM   #13
bda1967
Member

 
bda1967's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ohio

 
Try this setup:

MB: $135 GIGABYTE GA-H67A-UD3H

CPU: $225 Intel Core i5-2500K

RAM: $65 G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB

CASE: $100 COOLER MASTER HAF 922

CPU COOLER: $30 COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus

So far what I have listed is about $555 and you could reuse your HDD or get a newer one for about $60. You can also upgrade to a SSD say a 30GB for your OS and use your HDD for storage. You are reusing your GPU and PSU so that about covers it I think.

EDIT: Oh I calculated with no OS so you'll need to add another $110 or so for Win 7 64 bit.

EDIT2: I just noticed that the MB I picked has CrossfireX at 16x and 4x which isn't that great so you would have to spend more for one at (8x, 8x) in Crossfire. It's hard to get all of the goodies with a lower budget so you would really have to do your research.

__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.3GHz - Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 - 8GB DDR3-1600 G. Skill PC3-12800
Diamond HD 7970 - OCZ Agility 3 240 GB SSD / (2) 500GB HDD's storage - HAF X - Hyper 212 Plus
Fatality Pro X-FI - Cooler Master 850 watt psu - Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Athlon II X4 635 Propus @ 3.6GHz - MA770T-UD3P - 4GB G. Skill DDR3-1600 PC3-12800
Sapphire HD 4870 - 320 GB HDD - Modified HP case - Nirvana NV120
BFG GS 550 watt psu - Windows 7 Ultimate 64
FX-4100 @ 4.2GHz - Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3 - 8GB Kingston DDR3 1600
XFX HD6870 - 320 GB HDD - Antec 900 - Hyper 212 Plus
Corsair CX500 - Windows 7 Pro 64

Last edited by bda1967; 01-29-11 at 12:59 PM.
bda1967 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-29-11, 02:36 PM Thread Starter   #14
greenchevy33
New Member



Join Date: Jan 2011

 
Well after some research and pricing, I ended up getting this
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...563&CatId=4910

Can't wait til it gets here
greenchevy33 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?