Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

power mod for a board,is it possible?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-12-11, 06:51 PM Thread Starter   #1
shant
Member

 
shant's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lebanon

 
power mod for a board,is it possible?


was wondering if its possible removing the 4 pin power and adding an 8 pin one to the board, will i benefit? will i get better oc? does it take the load? does it need more power phases? if it needs extra chips, is it possible adding them?

basically what im trying to do is
do a power mod on this GA-EP45T-UD3LR and make it like this GA-EP45-UD3R

__________________
3770k l 4.5Ghz l 1.26vcore
Maximus V Extreme
2x2GB Patriot Sector 5 2133Mhz+2x2 2400mhz,all running @ 1866mhz
2x WD Caviar Black 64mb/1TB(raid 0) + 32GB intel 520 msata ssd caching
Evga Gtx 460 ee
Xfx 650W psu Black Edition
Hafx
shant is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 02-14-11, 06:57 AM   #2
Mario1
Grammer, its my favoriate thing


 
Mario1's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pleven, Bulgaria

 
I'm pretty sure you won't need more voltage, thus won't need to do this complicated and virtually impossible thing.
Actually all them powerful PCs on the market never need more than 400w of total power, unless you're stressing CPU & GPU at the same time.
So yeah, I'm quite not sure why do you want to do such a thing.
The effort and the cost of it (probably making a new PCB for the motherboard, unsoldering & soldering back the components, chipset reball and etc) will be waaay more than a new motherboard.
Oh well, that's what I think, I may be wrong, but from my point of view its pointless.

__________________
Dis is mai Pee-Cee;
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-D3 (rev 1.x)
CPU: Phenom II X4 850 (stock clocks, undervolted @ 1,3v)
CPU Cooler; Box AM2 cooler
RAM: 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance & 1x2GB Corsair XMS3 @ 804mhz 9-9-9-24 1T CR
Graphics card: HD3650 1GB DDR2 (400/400, runs at x4 for some weird reason)
HDD: WesternDigital Caviar Black 1TB, SATA III, 64MB Cache
PSU:Corsair CX430
Case: CoolerMaster Elite 430 (3x 120mm Thermaltake intake fans; 1 front, 1 side, 1 bot. 3x 120mm Thermaltake exhaust fans; 2 top, 1 back)
Mario1 is offline Benching Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-14-11, 08:19 AM Thread Starter   #3
shant
Member

 
shant's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lebanon

 
im trying to get more oc, if its something easy like adding a few stuff why not, but f i have to unsolder lots of thing and resolder new ones then it is truly a waste of time, though is it possible?

__________________
3770k l 4.5Ghz l 1.26vcore
Maximus V Extreme
2x2GB Patriot Sector 5 2133Mhz+2x2 2400mhz,all running @ 1866mhz
2x WD Caviar Black 64mb/1TB(raid 0) + 32GB intel 520 msata ssd caching
Evga Gtx 460 ee
Xfx 650W psu Black Edition
Hafx
shant is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-14-11, 04:40 PM   #4
Mario1
Grammer, its my favoriate thing


 
Mario1's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pleven, Bulgaria

 
Well the motherboard got designed and made that way in 1st place, so I'm pretty sure that if you have the skills and the gear you need you can do it.
But yes -it isn't worth it, waste of time and money.
For a better OC you could always do a BSEL & VID mod.
You won't benefit from an 8 pin CPU power connector as far as oc goes.

__________________
Dis is mai Pee-Cee;
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-D3 (rev 1.x)
CPU: Phenom II X4 850 (stock clocks, undervolted @ 1,3v)
CPU Cooler; Box AM2 cooler
RAM: 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance & 1x2GB Corsair XMS3 @ 804mhz 9-9-9-24 1T CR
Graphics card: HD3650 1GB DDR2 (400/400, runs at x4 for some weird reason)
HDD: WesternDigital Caviar Black 1TB, SATA III, 64MB Cache
PSU:Corsair CX430
Case: CoolerMaster Elite 430 (3x 120mm Thermaltake intake fans; 1 front, 1 side, 1 bot. 3x 120mm Thermaltake exhaust fans; 2 top, 1 back)
Mario1 is offline Benching Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-15-11, 04:22 PM   #5
4GHZ_or_bust
Now 6GHz or Bust!

 
4GHZ_or_bust's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Michigan

 
Putting an 8 pin plug won't make much of a difference on mobo that already have 4 pin connector. You'd only be redistributing the current across 8 wires instead of 4 from PSU and be less likely to get warm under heavy load with extreme overclocking but the power bottleneck would still be the 4 pin connector on the mobo itself and some of the power regulator chips.

IMO not worth it.

__________________
space for rent
4GHZ_or_bust is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-06-11, 11:47 AM Thread Starter   #6
shant
Member

 
shant's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lebanon

 
sorry for the noobness what wahts a BSEL & VID mod?

__________________
3770k l 4.5Ghz l 1.26vcore
Maximus V Extreme
2x2GB Patriot Sector 5 2133Mhz+2x2 2400mhz,all running @ 1866mhz
2x WD Caviar Black 64mb/1TB(raid 0) + 32GB intel 520 msata ssd caching
Evga Gtx 460 ee
Xfx 650W psu Black Edition
Hafx
shant is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-06-11, 03:23 PM   #7
hank123
Member

 
hank123's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: With Yahweh in Colorado

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by shant View Post
sorry for the noobness what wahts a BSEL & VID mod?
http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s...d.php?t=499340

__________________
GIGABYTE P35-DS3L PENCIL VOLT MOD FOUND HERE!
Mobo:ASROCK Z77 Extreme4
Ram: Gskill 2133
CPU:3570K @ 3.6 Load 1.224V
Video: Diamond 7970 White box
PSU: Antec quattro 850
Storage: 2 velociraptor 150 raid 0, 2 WD 640 RAID 0, Deskstar HDS721010CLA332 back up.
Water Cooling: Dtec on CPU, 120X3 push pull system
23782 3dmark 06
P4542 3DMarks 11
My Heat
hank123 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-07-11, 07:10 PM Thread Starter   #8
shant
Member

 
shant's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lebanon

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by hank123 View Post
ive seen this before
which one is this? the vid mod? or the other one?

__________________
3770k l 4.5Ghz l 1.26vcore
Maximus V Extreme
2x2GB Patriot Sector 5 2133Mhz+2x2 2400mhz,all running @ 1866mhz
2x WD Caviar Black 64mb/1TB(raid 0) + 32GB intel 520 msata ssd caching
Evga Gtx 460 ee
Xfx 650W psu Black Edition
Hafx
shant is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-07-11, 07:20 PM   #9
arcanise

 
arcanise's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2010

 
thats the BSEL mod, the VID mod in my opinion is a bit trickier

__________________
Join the OCF Starcraft Clan
mobo ASUS P6X58D Premium
CPU Intel i7 965 bloomfield xe OC'd 3.6Ghz
ram OCZ gold edition 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
video GTX 465 OC'd 770//1540//1700 CSM X2!!!
HDD's 1X kingston 60GB SSD
HDD's 1X velociraptor 600GB 10,000 RPM
HDD's 1X WD 1TB 7200 RPM
Case Cooler master sniper
Folding User Stats
arcanise is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-08-11, 11:12 AM Thread Starter   #10
shant
Member

 
shant's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lebanon

 
is the vid mod is the one where you have to short out something on the motherboard with a pencil right?
and whats the advantage of the vid?

__________________
3770k l 4.5Ghz l 1.26vcore
Maximus V Extreme
2x2GB Patriot Sector 5 2133Mhz+2x2 2400mhz,all running @ 1866mhz
2x WD Caviar Black 64mb/1TB(raid 0) + 32GB intel 520 msata ssd caching
Evga Gtx 460 ee
Xfx 650W psu Black Edition
Hafx
shant is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-08-11, 08:22 PM   #11
arcanise

 
arcanise's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2010

 
IIRC VID mod is more of a stability thing than a clock boost

__________________
Join the OCF Starcraft Clan
mobo ASUS P6X58D Premium
CPU Intel i7 965 bloomfield xe OC'd 3.6Ghz
ram OCZ gold edition 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
video GTX 465 OC'd 770//1540//1700 CSM X2!!!
HDD's 1X kingston 60GB SSD
HDD's 1X velociraptor 600GB 10,000 RPM
HDD's 1X WD 1TB 7200 RPM
Case Cooler master sniper
Folding User Stats
arcanise is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-09-11, 09:08 AM Thread Starter   #12
shant
Member

 
shant's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lebanon

 
ill google it, thanks

__________________
3770k l 4.5Ghz l 1.26vcore
Maximus V Extreme
2x2GB Patriot Sector 5 2133Mhz+2x2 2400mhz,all running @ 1866mhz
2x WD Caviar Black 64mb/1TB(raid 0) + 32GB intel 520 msata ssd caching
Evga Gtx 460 ee
Xfx 650W psu Black Edition
Hafx
shant is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?