Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Asus P6X58D-E / noctua problem

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-19-11, 08:05 PM Thread Starter   #1
Mattuvu
New Member



Join Date: Feb 2011

 
Asus P6X58D-E / noctua problem


hi guys,
i just built a new machine with this motherboard P6X58D-E and a Noctua NH-UP12 SE2 for the cpu cooling, the fans are running full speed all the time.
The noctua is connected to 4-pin CPU_Fan connector of the motherboard via a Y cable (3-pin connector like all Noctua). I know the 4th pin of the cpu fan PWN is not used, but the speed would just have to be regulated according the temperature of the CPU.
Ofcourse this problem occurs all the time, Qfan control enabled or not via the bios, Asus fan xpert cant help...
any idea why the CPU connector on the Asus MB doesn't allow fan speed adjustment? the CHA_Fan 1 is a 4-pin connection and works with a 3-pin fan speed regulated..

not sure if i post it in the right section of the forum, but i hope someone can help me to fix it...

anybody with a P6X58D-E got a 3-pin fan working fine at various speeds ???

bios is 3030, updating the bios could solve it ?

Last edited by Mattuvu; 02-19-11 at 08:10 PM.
Mattuvu is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 02-19-11, 08:24 PM   #2
arcanise

 
arcanise's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2010

 
i have the premium version of that board which is more or less the same and i just dont use the MOBO fan pins i got a fan controller and plugged all my fans in with that, saves you all the hassle

__________________
Join the OCF Starcraft Clan
mobo ASUS P6X58D Premium
CPU Intel i7 965 bloomfield xe OC'd 3.6Ghz
ram OCZ gold edition 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
video GTX 465 OC'd 770//1540//1700 CSM X2!!!
HDD's 1X kingston 60GB SSD
HDD's 1X velociraptor 600GB 10,000 RPM
HDD's 1X WD 1TB 7200 RPM
Case Cooler master sniper
Folding User Stats
arcanise is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-19-11, 08:41 PM   #3
Randyman...
Member

 
Randyman...'s Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Houston, TX

 
I believe most MoBo's with 4-pin PWM fan headers will NOT control the speed of a 3-pin fan. PWM is used to regulate the speed on these 4-pin headers (they don't use variable voltage to the fan like a 3-pin header would).

You'll likely need to use a true 4-pin PWM fan, or use one of the 3-pin headers (but then you'll get the "NO CPU FAN" warning on POST - which is ignorable by setting "Ignore all errors" or whatever in the BIOS).

I was big on Fan Controllers and switches covering the front of my PC's when I first started building PC's, but now the onboard fan speed controls are plenty useable for me, and allow me to retain a sleek clean front panel...

PS - Speedfan seems to work well on most newer ASUS boards - I run it on my main desktop and my HTPC - I let the BIOS handle the 4-pin CPU fan, and Speed Fan basically handles the rest...


__________________
Randy V - Audio-Dude/Musician/PC Guru/Crazy Guy

PC#1 (Main Rig) : Lian Li PC-V1010 / P8Z68-V-GEN3 / 3750K @ 4.5GHz + Ven-X / 16GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 / HD5770 "XXX" 1GB / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / (6x) 2TB 5K3000 on Areca ARC1222 in RAID-6 / Seasonic X660 PSU / 2407WFP-HC / RME "Multiface" 38 Ch. Audio I/O / Dynaudio AIR-15 + AIR-BASE-2 Studio Monitors
PC#2 (Realtime DAW) : Lian-Li PC-K65B / Sabertooth X79 / i7-3820 @ 4.8GHz + TRUE / 8GB RipJaws DDR3-2133 / HD6570 / 120GB Intel 520 / 4x 1TB on Areca ARC-1210 in RAID-5 / RME "HDSPe MADI" 128 Channel Audio I/O / 2x SSL AlphaLink MADI AX / 48 Mic Inputs + Fully-discrete Mic Preamps + 4260Watt PA System with 5x 18" JBL Subs :-)
NAS#1: NSC-800 ITX Case / Asus P8H61-ITX / i3-2120 / (8x) 1TB 7200.12's in RAID-6 on Areca ARC-1220 Card
NAS#2: 12TB ReadyNAS Ultra-4+ / (4x) 3TB 5K3000's
And 7 other i7/i5/C2D/C2Q PC's
Randyman... is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-19-11, 09:34 PM Thread Starter   #4
Mattuvu
New Member



Join Date: Feb 2011

 
theres is 3 CHA_FAN connectors on that motherboard, one is 4-pin connector, the 3-pin fan connected on it is regulated via chassis QFAN controle option in bios just as the other fan connected to 3-pin CHA_FAN connectors...

and most of the mobos looks to be able to regulate 3-pin fan via 4-pin PWN connectors, at least peoples with other asus mobos seems to get it working after reading some other forums...

From Noctua FAQ :

""Can I run Noctua fans on 4-pin PWM connectors and use my mainboard’s automatic fan controller?
You can simply connect our fan's 3-pin connector to the 4-pin PWM sockets of today's mainboards so that the fourth pin that transmits the PWM signal is left blank (due to the shape of the connector, there's no danger of reversing polarity). Some mainboards (e.g. current Gigabyte models) are capable of controlling fans not only via PWM, but also by adjusting the supplied voltage. In some cases, this may require you to change BIOS options like "Fan Control Mode" from "PWM" to "Voltage" or "Analog". Please consult your mainboard's manual in this regard. However, some mainboards use an "auto" setting by default that automatically chooses PWM or voltage based regulation according to the connected fan. Automatically controlling the fan speed may not possible on mainboards that pulse the power rather than lowering the fan voltage. ""

i would just want to have some feedback from peoples that have exactly the p6x58d-e and can confirm it's not working for them, or on the other side that it works and that i may have a problem like few other peoples with that retail (i found other threads with the same problem, but without solution).

and ofcourse i would prefer to dont have to use a fan control, but just the bios/software features that would have to work just fine.
Mattuvu is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-19-11, 09:56 PM   #5
Randyman...
Member

 
Randyman...'s Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Houston, TX

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattuvu View Post
Some mainboards (e.g. current Gigabyte models) are capable of controlling fans not only via PWM, but also by adjusting the supplied voltage. In some cases, this may require you to change BIOS options like "Fan Control Mode" from "PWM" to "Voltage" or "Analog". Please consult your mainboard's manual in this regard. However, some mainboards use an "auto" setting by default that automatically chooses PWM or voltage based regulation according to the connected fan. Automatically controlling the fan speed may not possible on mainboards that pulse the power rather than lowering the fan voltage. ""
I'm pretty sure the P6X58D-E doesn't do this (the OP's board). I specifically used a lower speed (but high-pressure) 3-pin fan on my P6X58D-E because the higher speed 3-pin fan I had would always run at full tilt, and I didn't see any PWM/Voltage settings in my BIOS. There are a few descent 4-pin 120mm fans out there - but none that are "fantastic" IMO.


__________________
Randy V - Audio-Dude/Musician/PC Guru/Crazy Guy

PC#1 (Main Rig) : Lian Li PC-V1010 / P8Z68-V-GEN3 / 3750K @ 4.5GHz + Ven-X / 16GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 / HD5770 "XXX" 1GB / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / (6x) 2TB 5K3000 on Areca ARC1222 in RAID-6 / Seasonic X660 PSU / 2407WFP-HC / RME "Multiface" 38 Ch. Audio I/O / Dynaudio AIR-15 + AIR-BASE-2 Studio Monitors
PC#2 (Realtime DAW) : Lian-Li PC-K65B / Sabertooth X79 / i7-3820 @ 4.8GHz + TRUE / 8GB RipJaws DDR3-2133 / HD6570 / 120GB Intel 520 / 4x 1TB on Areca ARC-1210 in RAID-5 / RME "HDSPe MADI" 128 Channel Audio I/O / 2x SSL AlphaLink MADI AX / 48 Mic Inputs + Fully-discrete Mic Preamps + 4260Watt PA System with 5x 18" JBL Subs :-)
NAS#1: NSC-800 ITX Case / Asus P8H61-ITX / i3-2120 / (8x) 1TB 7200.12's in RAID-6 on Areca ARC-1220 Card
NAS#2: 12TB ReadyNAS Ultra-4+ / (4x) 3TB 5K3000's
And 7 other i7/i5/C2D/C2Q PC's
Randyman... is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-19-11, 10:01 PM   #6
CgS Drone
Member

 
CgS Drone's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SLC, UT.

 
I have the prem. version of that motherboard as well, but leave my fans running at full speed all the time. I haven't checked it on that board but on other boards I have owned in the bios you could tell it if the cpu fan was a pwm fan or a 3 pin fan and this would let you control the cpu fan if you used a 3 pin fan. Have you looked in the bios to see if that is an option?

__________________
C2D E8500, Gigabyte EP45-UD3P-------------955BE, TA890FXE, Cooler Master GX 750
Cooler Master 212+, Corsair 750TX----------HAF 932, Noctua D-14
HyperX T1 1066 5-5-5-15 (2x2GB)----------Geil Black Dragon (2x2GB)
MSI GTX 260, Raptor 75gb.------------------Gigabyte GTX 460, Seagate 500gb

>>>>>>>HeatWare<<<<<<<
CgS Drone is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?