Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Sapphire 6850 BIOS Flash

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-20-11, 06:19 PM Thread Starter   #1
byrdawg
Member



Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Tx

 
Sapphire 6850 BIOS Flash


I have never messed with a GPU Bios before or GPU OC'ing and was hoping to get some info from someone with hands on experience.
I saw in a post on [Hard]Forum that you can get a 6870 Sapphire BIOS and flash it on 6850's from techpowerup.com. From what I have gathered researching this is that 6850's are capable of some pretty good OC'ing, and that CCC isn't exactly the "Bees Knees". I have not had much success with even a minor boost of an OC to these cards with CCC without BSODS.
My questions....
1) Are these BONAFIDE ATi BIOS, or some hack.
2) Where did they get them from, and why can I not download updated BIOS from ATi directly.
3) I know the whole "unlock the extra shaders" doesn't work, but the 6850 will run at stock 6870 speeds. Will I need aftermarket GPU cooling?
4) Will flashing my TWO 6850's with a 6870 BIOS make my Crossfire setup unstable?
5) Is it possible that this "BIOS OC" will be much more stable than CCC tweaking?

Thx, and feel free to add any suggestions/info as I am treading new waters here.

__________________
Desktop: i5-2500k @ 4.7 // Mobo : Asrock P67 Fatal1ty Professional // RAM : 2x4gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1600, 99924
Main GPU : 2x Sapphire 6850 Xfire // 3rd Monitor GPU : Xfx 8500GT // PSU : Corsair TX 750
Cooling : Swiftech H20-220, Apogee XT CPU Block // Sys. Drive : 2x Seagate 7200rpm 320gb in raid 0
byrdawg is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-20-11, 09:07 PM   #2
jstutman

 
jstutman's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: MOOissouri

10 Year Badge
 
You are thinking of the 6950 to 6970 flash. The same cannot be done on the 6850. However, you can overclock it to achieve performance close to the 6870 in some games. Still the 6850 is not the 6870 underclocked.

__________________
Folding User Stats

Heatware
jstutman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-20-11, 09:39 PM Thread Starter   #3
byrdawg
Member



Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Tx

 
I am not expecting to unlock it into a 6870 - just trick it so that the 6850's think they are 6870's. Therefore OC'ing them to stock 6870 speeds as the guy in the post I linked above did. As you said...
Quote:
Originally Posted by jstutman View Post
However, you can overclock it to achieve performance close to the 6870 in some games.
When I use the latest version of CCC to OC even a little (no where close to a 6870) I get BSODs as soon as I hit "APPLY". I was hoping that it may be issues with CCC software OC, and by going the other route would be much more effiecient and stable.

__________________
Desktop: i5-2500k @ 4.7 // Mobo : Asrock P67 Fatal1ty Professional // RAM : 2x4gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1600, 99924
Main GPU : 2x Sapphire 6850 Xfire // 3rd Monitor GPU : Xfx 8500GT // PSU : Corsair TX 750
Cooling : Swiftech H20-220, Apogee XT CPU Block // Sys. Drive : 2x Seagate 7200rpm 320gb in raid 0
byrdawg is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-20-11, 11:26 PM   #4
jstutman

 
jstutman's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: MOOissouri

10 Year Badge
 
Well I do not know. I have the Asus and as the second post said I have had 1000/1250 with my Asus, It obviously must be the vendor's bios. IS your Sapphire locked to 850/1200 like the Gigabyte one?

__________________
Folding User Stats

Heatware
jstutman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-20-11, 11:37 PM Thread Starter   #5
byrdawg
Member



Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Tx

 
I tried a different search query and found why I can't OC. It's a registry value that is - as I am understanding it - like a hibernate/sleep mode for GPU's that are in Xfire. When disabling this both GPU's are active all the time. After I have disabled this I have been having a lot better luck OC'ing these cards through CCC. The post I came across is here if anyone else is have problems OC'ing multiple linked GPU's. The thread is a bit lengthy. I just paid attention to the first post.

Thank you for your attention, jstutman.

__________________
Desktop: i5-2500k @ 4.7 // Mobo : Asrock P67 Fatal1ty Professional // RAM : 2x4gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1600, 99924
Main GPU : 2x Sapphire 6850 Xfire // 3rd Monitor GPU : Xfx 8500GT // PSU : Corsair TX 750
Cooling : Swiftech H20-220, Apogee XT CPU Block // Sys. Drive : 2x Seagate 7200rpm 320gb in raid 0
byrdawg is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?