• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

i7 - 930 - OC 4.01 GHz

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

RussJ

Just a quick question. This is my first time Overclocking so just a question about Prime 95..

First the issue. When running the torture test it raises my heat fairly quickly. with in 5 minutes I am seeing 96 - 97 C. Of course this is running 100% that whole time like prime does. I did a bench testing test and it was fine doing this.

I also did a Intel Burn test for about 20 minutes with no issues except high temps highest being 96 C. But completed the test on maximum with no issues..

Idle is 41 - 52 C regular load/gaming brings it to about 60 C maybe mid 60's

Should I worry about the torture test if i never take my pc to that kind of stress? I only run my pc for gaming and really nothing else. I dont take anything to the extreme as ing using my cores at 100% for long times if ever.

My bios Changes:

CPU ratio setting : 21
intel speedstep : disabled
Xtreme Phase full power : enabled
BCLK : 191
PCIE : 100
Dram Freq : DDR3-1531Hmz
UCLK : 3063Mhz

Volts

CPU : 1.25
CPU PLL : 1.8
QPI/Dram core : 1.21875
IOH : 1.12
IOH PCIE : 1.5
ICH : 1.2
ICH PCIE : 1.5
DRAM Bus : 1.64

CPU Differential Amp 800mV
CPU Clock Skew Delay 300ps

Hardware :

Asus P6X58D-E
i7-930
Corsair A70
6 gb DDR3 - OCZ Gold

I have been running with no issues for 24 hours with normal activity and no heat issues.

What cooler are you using? It shouldnt get that hot with those volts at only 4Ghz...

IBT is usually 10C higher than P95 so they way you listed it is a bit backwards to me...

using a corsair A70 dual fan push pull cooling. I stopped the prime due to the rising temps it may has stayed at 97 but i just stopped it anyway